We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in the centre of Barbados”
Review of Chatters Tea Room

Chatters Tea Room
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional English Afternoon Tea Room
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in the centre of Barbados”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Full afternoon tea, sandwiches, cakes, a scone with cream and a strawberry and as much tea as you can drink. We went on a Sunday, which happened to be Mother's Day on the island, so the superior officer got a glass of wine as well - and I didn't, that is definitely a first!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PBW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

What a lovely little place! It's a bit off the beaten track but well worth a visit!

Food is yummy, a Bajan take on an English afternoon tea! We did a full afternoon tea and gots loads of food for a very reasonable price.

The setting is really pretty and you sit out on the veranda, it's all very quaint and most definitely worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find.....”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A charming English high tea experience in a beautiful colonial style building. We watched monkeys in the trees whilst we ate beautifully prepared sandwiches and home made scones. A lovely vintage style interior and lovely staff who helped us with our choices. Bliss.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Parmesan encrusted Barrcuda was the best meal I had on the trip. Great artwork thoughout the place. Great view if you can get on the balcony.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We really enjoyed afternoon tea at Chatters.
Great service and absolutely first rate scones (as good as anything I've had in England). I agree the aerosol cream is less than ideal, but I can't imagine real clotted cream is easy to come by in the Caribbean, and fresh milk and cream are non-existent in even the supermarkets, so I guess that's just one of those things.

If real clotted cream is a deal-breaker for you you can always go to Sandy Lane where I dare say they'll airfreight it in for you and you can pay through the nose for it!
If you're not quite such a stickler, then go to Chatters for a lovely English tea with a Caribbean twist.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ijh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatters Tea Room also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Chatters Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing