We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonished at guides behaviour...”

West Side Scuba Centre
Ranked #8 of 74 Tours in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Side Scuba Centre established in 1993 is situated by the Historical Garrison Savannah. Located close to some of the most beautiful reefs on the South and West Coast of Barbados, this makes for ideal diving and exciting adventures. With high safety standards, our attention to detail, and small dive groups, you are sure to enjoy our underwater world. All dives are led either by a P.A.D.I Instructor or a P.A.D.I. certified dive master. Our staff is trained in E.F.R and are there to assist should the need arise. Associations represented are PADI/NAUI/BSAC. We are open year round for diving with some of the best conditions from November through September with daily trips offered seven days a week. You are sure to enjoy or varying water temperatures from 78 degrees to 84 degrees Farenheight. There are in excess of 20 prime dive sights, which can be reached within a 10-20 minute boat ride from the dive centre with depths ranging from 30-130 feet (10-40 meters). Barbados’ reefs offer some of the richest variety of fish and colourful coral found in the Caribbean. Shallow reefs and wrecks are ideal for the novice, while deeper reefs and wrecks will be sure to tantalize and challenge the experienced diver. Unforgettable night dives are available with 24hrs notice. West Side Scuba Centre is equipped with some of the most modern Sherwood equipment, BCD’s (with inflator hose) and regulators (with depth gauges and octopus). Torches, masks, snorkels, fins, weight belts and wet suits (3mm) are also available. Should you wish to take home a lasting memory of your dive, we have under water cameras for rent. For those wishing something a little less challenging, but is still mesmerized by the underwater world, we take snorkeling trips (complete with rental gear) to Carlisle Bay by a sunken ship wreck where there is a beautiful reef abundant with marine life including schools of fish which are friendly enough to be fed by hand. A unique snorkel and dive trip that features a close up look at sea turtles which can be fed by hand with sprats (small fish) is yours for the asking.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Astonished at guides behaviour...”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

After reading reviews i chose this company... the first dive was rushed, lasted 20-30 mins, and during my safety stop the guide told me not to ascend, even after I had completed it.

During the second dive, the guides behaved outrageously with the female divers, kicked sand from the sea bed as one danced around, they left other divers behind, dug up the sea bed to find marine life, did not guide us around the designated sites, one guide ran out of air and had to surface, leaving the divers behind.

Divers were watched picking at coral, chasing marine life, pulling coral off wrecks and taking it onto the dive boat, to then be advised to hide it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCentre, Owner at West Side Scuba Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We don't usually respond to any reviews on trip advisor however they are
read on a regular basis. I usually always follow the rule that the customer
is always right but in this incident, I would have to disagree. I take
professionalism and safety very seriously and would like to respond to your
points made from the way the dive was carried out from our side.



'The first dive was rushed, lasted 20-30 mins'



The dive site chosen on that day was the SS Stavonnikita. This is the
deepest dive site on the island and actually is a 20 -30 minute dive. This
was mentioned in your safety briefing before the dive.

'During my safety stop the guide told me not to ascend, even after I had
completed it'.

The dive leader at that point felt it necessary for you to do a five minute
safety stop bearing in mind that all divers were briefed for a maximum Depth
of 100 feet with a 3-5 minute safety stop. included in that time. If you can
recall sir you were called up from 120 feet. The extra time on your stop was
done for your safety granted that the max depth as stated by the dive leader
was exceeded by you.

'During the second dive, the guides behaved outrageously with the female
divers''

Although not entirely sure what "outrageously" may mean in this case allow
me to make mention that all female divers on the dive that day were with
their partners and in no way was there any "outrageous" activity or behavior
reported to me at the end of the dive. I will however apologize for the way
in which we build a rapport with our divers if it offended you.

'Kicked sand from the sea bed as one danced around'

During your safety briefing for the second dive it was mentioned by the
instructor that we will try to find a sea horse and in the event that we do
he will do a bit of a dance.......... sea horse was found and the dance was
executed much to the amusement of the other divers. As for the kicking up of
sand by the divers sir, that I am afraid is beyond our control.

  'They left other divers behind'

Entirely untrue sir since there were two instructors on the dive one leading
and the other flanking.

'Dug up the sea bed to find marine life'

For the safety of the divers they were alerted to the red heart sea urchins
that bury themselves 1/2 a cm in the sand, one was uncovered to show since
divers were kneeling on the sand various points during the dive.

'Did not guide us around the designated sites'

Divers were briefed that we will see 5 shipwrecks and we will try to find
"IT" (seahorse, called 'it' prior to dive so if not found there is no
disappointment) Dive was executed as briefed, all wrecks visited and sea
horse was found.

'One guide ran out of air and had to surface, leaving the divers behind'.

Toward the end of the dive a CESA (controlled emergency swimming ascent) was
done with two of the divers (students on open water course) one by one. It
is is a low/out of air exercise. Easily mistaken for an emergency situation
to an untrained eye.

'Divers were watched picking at coral, chasing marine life'

Once again sir, buoyancy control exercises carried out by the instructor.
Student divers were asked to "hover" over coral heads laden with sea
anemones and were asked to reach for them one by one. No coral was touch at
all. Anemones retract into their tubes before any contact is made. As for
chasing marine life, we do not encourage any form of chasing marine life, if
however, this happens they are alerted to stop.

'pulling coral off wrecks and taking it onto the dive boat, to then be
advised to hide it'

One Husband wife buddy team picked up the dead shell of a red heart sea
urchin. A very common site on that dive. She brought it to the boat and put
it in the midst of all the equipment. The dive leader suggested to her that
she moves it and puts it somewhere safe since it is very fragile. This was
explained at length on the boat including how to bleach and treat it. I
honestly fail to see how you could possibly get the impression she was told
to hide it sir.



I do hope that this clears the air for you sir. I do apologize for not
meeting your expectations on your dives and encourage you to keep diving
even if it may not be with us. I also hope that you enjoy the rest of your
stay here on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    25
    8
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great first dive!!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Decided to brave my first discover scuba dive with WSSC a few days ago. I went along with three of my friends who have all done professional dives before. Being quiet an anxious person, G the dive master put me completely at ease, even when I panicked a bit on my initial descent- he was both professional and extremely likeable, and put me completely at ease! Would 100% recommend!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alysha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Dive Centre so far..”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having dived with a couple of other dive centres in Barbados, and a lot more elsewhere, I can't recommend West Side enough. Absolutely brilliant all round, lovely super helpful people, great diving and cake!! Had some fantastic dives and lots of fun and will definitely be diving with WSSC when I am next in Barbados:) I'd also be more than happy to send friends or family to learn with them having seen them working with new divers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank diver_nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Professional guys, outstanding dive.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I've never been diving before and with the help of Peter arranging it for us and G taking us out it was simple.

We filled the paperwork out at the dive centre and it was to the water. The instructions didn't feel dragged out or long yet everything felt covered and I was more confident about it. We saw some amazing reef life. The staff were great and fun and I'd definitely go back! Thank you!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dive and Crew!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Came in on a cruise ship on Nov 15th 2013.

We booked beforehand and came in on the cruise. Peter was professional and had excellent communication beforehand. He was there to pick us up at the pier. His team was fantastic and made us feel very comfortable on only our 5th dive.

Highlights:
1. communication - professional and proactive
2. price - affordable
3. Location - very close to the pier and quickly out diving
4. Feel - didn't feel rushed or worried, took care of everything.
5. Guide - Awesome, got pictures with turtles, crabs, etc. Did a great job making us feel comfortable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pwizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Side Scuba Centre also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 

Been to West Side Scuba Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing