We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stavanger
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Appartements, cleaning and service is great. Exeeded expectations. the problems we had with this complex was:

1. You had to cross a very busy road to get to the beach. Unsafe for children to cross alone. Once at the beach there was a big problem with traffic noise and exhaust smell from buses and trucks. if you like the beach this is not the place for you.

2. The layout of the pool was such that if you were in the pool you felt like being on a stage. especially the children pool was like this. We travel a lot and it is not the first time we visit children pools - this was special. Otherwise the pool and outside area was OK.

3. We were placed in the northernmost building (paw paw) witch is close to the road with traffic noice and the balconies are built in to reduce the noice. This makes the appartments way to hot. The AC is regulated by motion sensors so you have to be in the room and move for them to work. Cannot cool down the bedroom prior to going to bed. You actually have to stay there and move for an hour or so prior to going to bed if you want to go to bed in a cool room. I think the rate we paid should be enough for a workable AC system.

4. The appartements on this complex all had individual owners, and the appartements where then rented out when owners did not use them. Many of the other guests at the complex were the owners themselves and this made the population on the complex a little unusual for us. The owners with their network, and then the "outsiders".

If you are not so interested in the beach i recommend this complex, otherwise - Stay away.

Room Tip: Stay away from the northern block (Paw Paw) for reasons mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KjellStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvbarbados, General Manager at Beach View, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as it is always disheartening when guests don’t leave satisfied. We wish that you had expressed your dissatisfaction while you were here as we would have been more than willing to assist in finding a different apartment or alternative accommodation.

We are also sorry that you did not get to experience the beach to its full potential. The beach stretches on for a long way and many of our guests enjoy taking long strolls. At low tide you can get all the way to Holetown, which is about 3 km to the north. Approximately 15 minutes walk will get you to the area where the catamarans dock to feed the turtles which is always something our guests enjoy.

It is true that all of our air-conditioners work on sensors. This is part of our environmental policy which some guests appreciate and others don’t. You do not have to ‘move for an hour’ to get them to work & we would have been more than happy to explain again how they worked if you told us that you didn’t understand the system.

Beach View consists of 36 apartments & all were occupied at the time you were here, however, only 3 were occupied by owners and their families, definitely not the majority. These 3 owners actually met each other on this trip and also socialised with other guests who they met at the pool and also at the BBQ & Cocktail Party (neither of which you attended).

We are a small family-run hotel & we don’t pretend to be anything we are not, location or otherwise. We continually strive to provide excellent customer service and in your case, despite our efforts, you did not seem to want or need any of our concierge services while on property.
We hope that you still enjoyed your vacation in Barbados as it is a beautiful island.

All the best,
Beach View Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    132
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
312
526
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for four nights in the Beach View before going on a cruise. After reading the trip advisor reviews I expected it to be good but was still very pleasantly surprised. There were just two of us in a two bedroom apartment which was a really decent size, one bedroom and bathroom were locked. We overlooked the sea and pool - one piece of advice if you get the choice don't stay on the ground floor as the privacy isn't as good as I would have liked. The apartment was spotlessly clean and coffee and tea replaced every day, even a couple of bagels were put there for our first breakfast. Lots of places close on Sunday so think ahead for shopping and dining out on that day. Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful, I would definitely recommend staying there - do understand the there are a few children about so again think ahead if you are only a couple and avoid school holidays. That being said the pool was closed between 7pm to 7 am so it wasn't a problem and the beach is only across the road if you want a lovely swim.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor in the middle don't have as much privacy as ones on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattynewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I booked Beach View based solely on reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. Our apartment was wonderful and every member of staff, without exception, works really hard to make your stay exactly what you want. They are always ready with help and advice if you need it but if you prefer privacy that is totally respected. I won’t repeat everything else that has already been said here other than to recommend it extremely highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We chose to stay at the Beach View because of the good reviews, but after staying we can say that it exceeded expectations by a long way.

To be brief, four things are especially noteworthy. First, the accommodation is fantastic and always kept spotlessly clean. Our apartment had a large lounge; a fully equipped kitchen; plenty of storage/wardrobe space; a bath as well as shower; and a spacious bedroom. An unexpected treat came from being on the end of the block, overlooking the neighbouring Methodist Chapel, which treated us to such beautiful singing on the Sunday morning, that we decided to go down and join in!

Second, the in-house amenities are very good. The poolside was never overcrowded; there's a really first rate cafe on site which is also used to cater for a fun, optional evening meal during the week (watch out for the home made rum punch); and each Thursday the proprietor, Robin, hosts an evening of food and drink in his own home which is open to all. You can, of course, also choose to completely do your own thing and that's easily done by jumping on a reggae bus (conveniently there's a bus stop opposite); or Robin or his assistant Ash will give advice and/or sort out a tour or car hire for you.

The location is very good (unlike hotels in Holetown that are surrounded by shops and too much hubbub), being near enough to a few simple, very friendly local bars, a fish shop, some high quality restaurants and beautiful beach walks and snorkelling.

Finally and importantly, the hotel is extremely well run and it is this, I think, that is the key to all of the well-deserved reviews. Robin gave everyone personal attention; and his staff were calm, polite and very effective in taking care of individual needs. I can see why half the people we met said they'd stayed before. To be honest, after staying there ourselves, it would now be very hard to stay anywhere else in Barbados.

Room Tip: Some people noticed road noise from their room. It never troubled us, but if that's a potential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HertfordPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

When you are a poor pensioner on a limited budget like myself, this is the place for you! Instead of one hotel room, you get a lounge, kitchen dining area, washing machine, drier, separate bedroom and bathroom. With a Super Center (supermarket) nearby, why spend money at expensive restaurants?
Our room had a large terrace overlooking Paynes Bay on the leeward side of Barbados and you can watch the sunset and the moon go down depending on the time of month. There are many cruise ships that come and go as well as all the other sailboats and things.
For disabled persons like myself, there is an elevator just outside the room which takes you straight down to the parking deck where our Courtesy Rental car is. The Hut (outdoor restaurant) is just ten metres south and they serve breakfast and lunch there. Breakfast is included. Aticus at the Hut runs the place and he is South Afrikaans and if you are feeling a little punchy you can go down and spar with him. He has sign, "No shirt no shoes no problem." My wife was putting on her carefully designed topless swimsuit and he said "No way man!" I suspect he was concerned that all the other ladies would get envious.
The chef at The Hut also makes great barbecue but it is only available on Mondays.
Robin and his daughter Carie run the Beach View and they took great care of us. Robin needs to slow down a bit or he might have a heart attack!
The swimming pool area is nice but they are strict; babies have to wear those waterproof nappy things. They don't have any specific rules about geriatrics with prostate swimming in the pool.
Barbados is not that large. Today we drove from Bay View to the windward side in our Courtesy Rental car and it took half an hour. On the way there is: Hunte's Gardens, that silly cave thing, the orchid farm etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at the Beach View apartments last October and decided to return to get married and have our honeymoon there this March. Ok,where to start? The apartment we had was on the ground floor overlooking the sea, gardens & swimming pool. It was very spacious and clean and had all the amenities you could ever need. Yes, there is a road between the beach and the apartment block but was not noticeable from our room, we could hear the waves more! There's a bus stop right outside and you can get a bus to anywhere on the island from there at a fixed cost of $2 BBD, get on one of the yellow reggae buses for a fun experience! We definitely recommend the Beach View, it's a great base to explore Barbados without being tied to a hotel. It's also located by one of the best beaches in Barbados and you can even snorkel with the turtles close to the shore :-) Finally a big thanks to Robin, Carrie and the rest of the team for looking after us so well...we'll be back!
Olga & Simon

PS, the wedding guests we brought with us stayed there too and they all thoroughly loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superdjsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just returned from ten nights at Beach View. The apartments are large and well equipped. We were on first floor with lovely views. We were next to the road and could hear it on the balcony but not from the room or pool. As you can't see the road it does not disturb the beautiful view and we got used to the traffic noise from the balcony. It did not bother us,but at times the noise can disturb the peaceful feeling Barbados can give.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and Atticus at the food hut was really pleasant too He puts on an excellent barbecue one night a week. Also the Managers cocktail party at his house was a lovely experience and much appreciated
As others have said the beach is beautiful and a few minutes walk away. Beach View does miss out from not being on the beach and having loungers etc that you can relax on. They do provide chairs and brollies for you to take to the beach but it is hot and i did not see many take advantage of this. You can also hire them on the beach farther along The guests we saw, including us,just sat on the sand.
All this being said, it needs to be remembered that if Beach View wasn't next to the road and was on the beach it would be much much more expensive where it is situated on the West coast. That is its beauty, it allows you to stay in beautiful accommodation in a beautiful expensive part of the island for a price that for the area is very reasonable
I have made these observations to help prospective guests but must end by saying we had a wonderful holiday and would certainly return to Beach View and hope to next year, it is so well run.
Lastly we found hiring a car whilst not essential because of the buses,gave us the freedom to go all over the island any time we wanted. Joan and Harry

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing