We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to go back in 2011”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Great find on the Weast Coast,beats the 5 hotels we have stayed in, even the 5 star ones.The Management Team really know how to make guests feel special,how many others would invite you to their home for cocktails!. Standards are rigoursly maintained (quite rightly),leave towels hanging over the balcony and you will, politely, be asked to use the racks provided. Carrie, in Reception, is a delight to speak to and will do her utmost to provide answers to any questions you may have,even at the Cocktail Party as its her home. The grounds are immaculate and are constantly being attended to. We moved to Palm Island for our second week ,which was great, but both agreed that we should have stayed at Beach View.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kenholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

Just back from Beach View, and what a place it is. Our apartment was on the ground floor just in front of the glorious pool (no overbearing chlorine), which was perfect for us hopping in and out of the sun. The apartment was of an outstanding standard with all the home comforts you could need. Sadly for me I am incredibly picky and like thing to be of a perfect quality, I got it at Beach View. Housekeeping is on the ball. The staff are very friendly and very helpful, openly willing to be of any assistance. Having arrived the night of hurricane Tomas and waking next day to no electric or water the staff where immediately waiting with food and water. Thankfully amenities arrived later that day; we were very lucky indeed as other people we spoke to days later where still without electric and water. Carrie was unbelievable; she seemed to have every restaurant and taxi company on speed dial, amazing lovely friendly girl.
Breakfast at the hut is a must; Atticus and Joanne lovely friendly helpful people and breakfast saw me through until dinner.
The road is a little noisy but not that it bothered us so much, indeed the bus stops are on this road so no long walks, about 2 minutes from the hotel
The beach is situated over the road from the hotel but is easy to access and is a lovely stroll to all the water sports. Be sure to get the best prices on the beach, as the guys seem to just pick a price and hope for the best. We where offered various prices for a half hour jet ski, cheapest 25 US dollars and the most expensive was 100US dollars so be prepared to barter.
Barbados is unbelievably expensive, both eating out and supermarket shopping. Average meal prices for 2 people for 1 starter and 2 mains with 2 drinks each varied from 200GBP to 500GBP. Thankfully the apartment kitchen is fully equipped and I was more than happy to cook for my husband and I.
The best way to get about is the yellow and blue ‘reggae’ buses. They stop anywhere and are cheap to use.
Cariba Restaurant a short walk up the hill was the best meal we had the whole of the trip (apart from when I cooked obviously!). The House was over expensive and the food basic. The Roti hut was a nice cheap lunch.
The hotel is situated in front of a traditional shanty area, but having traveled around Barbados this appears normal. We passed a home made of entirely of doors and a tin roof and next door was an enormous mansion with huge gates!
Holetown is the nearest place to shop and has all you would need. Bit dated but nice enough. Bridgetown on the other hand was like walking back in time, to say it is dated would be an understatement, I also found it a little suppressive. And once again very expensive, 2 coffees cost 13 GBP. Also I ended up swinging my car keys as every 2 minutes you are asked ‘do you need a taxi’.
My husband loved Barbados and would happily go again, me on the other had prefers the 21st century way of life.
Note; a taxi from the airport costs no more than 60 Barbados dollars.
PS. If you get an invite to Robin and his lovely wife Hazel’s ‘shack’ GO!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k200xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I have just recently returned from a short stay in Barbados which I have visited several times before but this was my first time staying at Beachview - these apartments are wonderful, we stayed in a 3 bedroom overlooking the pool and couldn't fault them at all. Barbados is not a cheap island especially to eat out but these apartments have fully equiped kitchens which will help keep costs down, they will even let you pre-order some groceries for your arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OASIS.GAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We've just returned from 10 days at Beach View. Located in Paynes Bay you'd expect to pay top dollar, but in comparison to others in the vicinity Beach View prices are realistic. Buy this isn't to say this is a cheap and cheerful option. Beach View offers an affordable way to stay on the west coast with high quality, well appointed accomodation and all mod cons. Downsides are no beach frontage (oh dear, a 2 minute walk to the beach) and proximity to the main road and associated noise. Another downside relates to Barbados as a whole and the high cost of dining out. Here Beach View scores by providing full self catering facilities - very useful indeed. All the Beach View staff are friendly and nothing is too much bother. Barbados is a beautiful island and Beach View provided us with an ideal base durimg our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1963_MAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Exclusively class hotel. A convenient arrangement. I not the first time arrive on the Caribbean islands and have been pleasantly surprised by class hotel. Affable employees. Very much and very convenient appartments. Some sleeping rooms, a drawing room, kitchen. The good Internet and a beautiful kind on ocean. Quite good pool. It is a little noisy, and to ocean it is necessary to pass road - but so on barbados everywhere. All I recommend to stop in this hotel, especially if you as well as I eat small company.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We have just returned after an 8-day stay at this wonderful property. First, the apartments are very spacious and beautifully furnished. We were 6 persons staying in a three bedroom apartment with large terass and beautiful view over the blue ocean and the swimmingpool.The garden is very exotic with palm trees, banana trees, beautiful birds and one morning a monkey! However, the best of all - the Walcott family! The service was fantastic, they helped us with many things - always with a smile! It is easy to be a good host when the weather is nice and eveything works..However during our stay - Barbados was hit by the hurricane "Tomas" but we felt very safe at this property with adequate information etc! So, I recommend this place - you will not be dissapointed.
Comments: yes it is a road between the hotel and the beach - we did not regard this as a problem. Regarding the noise - well, we were more disturned by the singing tree frogs :-) No, restaurant - BUT - a cute HUT with continental breakfast and nice lunches and a charming chef! Thank you the Beach View Team! Your the best!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaLejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

My girlfriend and I just returned from our stay at Beach View and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The accommodations were quite spacious. The kitchen had everything we needed. The pool was right outside our door and inspite of being near the road, it was quite peaceful. The hotel grounds are impeccible and the staff is the best I have ever experienced. Any need we had was met immediately.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emale73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
630 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
782 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,773 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: £141 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing