We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation - Ian from Ottawa, Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation - Ian from Ottawa, Canada”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a wonderful resort, rather small for an all-inclusive, 80 or so rooms, which was perfect, for my wants, far better than Sandals. No mad rush to claim your lounger first thing in the morning... there were always plenty on hand. Staff were absolutely fantastic, to a person - they truly seemed to love their jobs and not just putting on a happy face for guests... for instance, we stopped to ask a groundskeeper about some flowers, and got a 20 minute enthusiastic, unplanned guided tour. Be aware that the pools are decorative only, great for kids wading, but definitely not for swimming... they look like they are connected from Google Earth, and technically they are, but are quite small and are separated by 6 foot height elevation changes to make attractive waterfalls. Good beach and wonderful food. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in room 320, overlooking the sea, somewhat set apart from the main body of the resort. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 792ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oskeete, General Manager at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear “792ian”

Thanks for sharing your kind comments about your recent stay. It is great that you found our intimate setting to be perfect!

The hotel has 88 rooms, and this affords us the opportunity to get to know most of our guests and to ensure that everyone is looked after well.

We’re glad that you enjoyed the beach and the food here at Crystal Cove, but we also thrive on providing great service and attention to our guests’ needs as we know that these are other key ingredients to make a good holiday.

We really appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Olivia Skeete-Baptiste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    471
    121
    57
    45
See reviews for
447
991
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just returned from 10 days at Crystal Cove. Our previous visit was 5 years ago. We decided to return having been at a larger hotel up the coast last year. We remembered that despite a few small niggles the food, service and location had been excellent. This year was even better! Firstly the food is exceptional! Every dish in Reflections was correctly cooked and also correctly presented. Every meal was a pleasure. Our room (Ocean View 221) was nicely decorated with an amazing view-bathroom needs a bit of tlc but ok. Bed very comfortable and quiet functional AC. The beach loungers are a huge improvement and there are enough that no one needs to sneak out at 6.00am to take one! Service-such a feature of Barbados in general- was also first class. We were delighted at how welcome we were made and the little touches - bottle of Champagne in our room with a Welcome Back card created both a feeling of being a valued guest as well as a friend. We will certainly return. In summary this is a very well managed, restful hotel with exceptional dining. Lastly a request to Elegant Hotel Chain. It is understood that there will always be food left over from the buffet/dining services. Is there not some way you can find to allow some of this to be distributed to those on the Island who would both benefit and appreciate food they could never afford. I understand liability but if major companies like Pret a Mange can do this then perhaps you can be the first enlightened company in Barbados to help poorer people as an act of charity.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms are away from the crowd with a view to remember
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richysaysrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oskeete, General Manager at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear “Richysaysrelax”,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us yet another time. We really appreciate all of our repeat guests, and we must express our heartfelt gratitude every time that our guests choose to return.

We are happy that your experience at Crystal Cove was even better on this second visit.

Our culinary team takes great pleasure in preparing all of their dishes, so I am delighted that you expressed that each meal was a pleasure.

You would be pleased to know that The Elegant Hotels Group has a very active donation drive where it provides much needed support to numerous community charities; however, all cooked meals are distributed as soon as they are prepared as our culinary team must follow very strict food safety guidelines.

Thanks very much for your review; we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crystal Cove very soon.

Kind Regards,
Olivia Skeete-Baptiste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a very relaxing week with fine service in a quality establishment. The staff were a highlight among many good qualities and made every effort to make you feel relaxed and engage as little or as much as you wanted with the many facilities. The food was also prepared and served to a very high standard and never felt repetitive in a whole week even as an all-inclusive resort. Will be back again some time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KLGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oskeete, General Manager at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear KLGlasgow,

It is an honour to read your review.

Our staff is our most valuable treasure, so I’m glad that they made you feel relaxed and that you were able to enjoy the hotel’s facilities and the variety of meals from our highly skilled culinary team.

We can’t wait to have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

All the best!

Olivia Skeete-Baptiste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Crystal Cove between 13-24 January and had a wonderful time.We liked the resort as it wasn't too big. As requested we were allocated a second floor room with large balcony overlooking the beach . It was first time we had stayed all inclusive and we were very impressed with the food. There was a good choice at both restaurants. Crystal Cove has wonderful staff who go out of their way to make it a great holiday. We celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary whilst there and thanks to Lisa, Rhea and the activities team for remembering and surprising us with an chocolate engraved dessert which was delicious. Thanks to all the staff who looked after us, we will go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We recently stayed at Crystal Cove Hotel for 10 days.. our first visit to Barbados to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We were very impressed by the whole experience.. we booked a standard room overlooking the gardens and were perfectly pleased with it. the layout of the hotel is such that everything is close by whichever room you have... the bar, restaurants, beach, pools etc.. All the staff we came across were wonderfully warm and friendly.. The cocktails were such a treat (all inclusive) the food was terrific.... afternoon tea was fab.. and constant drinks/fruit/ice lollies were offered throughout the day on the beach - The hotel is well positioned right on a lovely beach..a short bus ride from Holetown - the buses are great especially the 'reggae bus' 2$ a ride. Bridgetown also a bus ride in the other direction. The very expensive restaurant 'The cliff" is walkable (should you want to pay £100 per head when the hotel restaurant is so good and payed for!). All in all we loved it and really hope to return - I gather most of the guests are 'returners' - I wouldnt bother looking for anywhere else.. We took the little Hobie Cat. out most afternoons.. again all included. I would recommend taking 'swim shoes' if you have them as there are a few sharp stones at the shoreline sometimes and rocks underwater too.. my only small quibble was the white house wine was Chardonnay which we are not keen on.. the house red is a very good Chilean merlot however..

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105.. a standard room.. perfectly acceptable.. if you were going to spend more tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H4HET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oskeete, General Manager at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear “H4HET”,

Thanks for choosing to celebrate your milestone wedding anniversary with us, and for sharing your experience through your detailed review.

We try to cater to each need of our guests, whether it is by ensuring that every thirst is well quenched on the beach or simply by providing our guests with a very comfortable bed that is fitting for a good night’s rest, so I am happy to learn that we met your needs in so many ways.

With regards to our wines, we are constantly reviewing our house wines to come up with the perfect choices for our customers. Additionally we also provide an array of fine wines and champagnes at a supplemental cost to allow our guests more choices to aptly satisfy their personal preferences.

Thanks again for your valuable comments; we can't wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Olivia Skeete-Baptiste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We all know the world a big place ,and we all like to feel at home and feel appreciated ,considering the money we spend getting to these places,so it's nice comming back to places
That look after there guests repeat or otherwise ,crystal is a gem ,as are the staff ,if you feel like something special to eat that's not on the menu give them time they do try and accommodate we had jerk chicken one night and honey ribs another and they we fab
Thanks chefs,rooms always clean sheets were always pressed and smelled fresh
Got a bit of OCD about that sot of thing ,all in all we had a fantastic time would go back again in a flash ,just go you will enjoy!!! Tell you all the truth we had been in oct but just feel like we had done enough so returned to crystal ,and the same goes for this time ???
Just going to have to come back
Again ha ha!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1markrogers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oskeete, General Manager at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear “1markrogers1”,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review.

We have a saying at Crystal Cove: “nothing is too much”, so we’re very thrilled that you felt this way about our service to you during your time here.

Thanks for your continued loyalty; we endeavor to keep making your stay with us better and better every time you return.

Warm Regards,
Olivia Skeete-Baptiste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a Virgin all-inclusive package to Crystal Cove and 21/1/14 stayed in room# 140 which has a very large double bed good size sitting room and en-suite bathroom with shower over bath also a large walk-in dressing room (loads of space and hangers). Also coffee and tea making facilities and in-room safe. Ground floor leading straight on to path to reception and a steep slope down to beach and restaurants.
All the travel and transfers worked really well the hotel staff are all first rate especially restaurant manager Joan.
The food quality was generally very good and all round cleanliness of the property and room fine.
Good beach facilities and plenty of good quality beach beds. Useful boat shuttle to other group nearby hotels.
Only point to make is there are many steps and this property not suitable for people with mobility issues.
Great holiday many times in Barbados but so far this is the best hotel we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Many different types of rooms and suites so choose carefully and try to look at site map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hil-Harv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
2.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.5 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
13.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels

Property: Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Address: Appleby, Barbados (Formerly Crystal Cove)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An enchanting blend of vitality and Caribbean charm."A colorful and vibrant beachfront all-inclusive property with 88 rooms offering a seductive Caribbean charm that will make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Crystal Cove's warm, relaxed ambience and friendly service which includes all-inclusive accommodation as well as a Supervised Kids Club (for children aged 3-11) appeals to families and couples of all ages, many of whom return there year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Saint James
Crystal Cove Barbados
Crystal Cove Hotel Barbados
Crystal Cove By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing