We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great self catering accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Settlers Beach Villa Hotel
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“great self catering accomodation”
Reviewed 17 December 2010

very spacious accomodation with well equipped kitchen. large bed and good shower.
The restaurant is good though the service can be a bit hit and miss, prices are pretty good for Barbados. Shame it wasn't open for breakfast like the brochure said. The beach was the only let down, most days it was non existent. Great place for families and great for walking into Holetown for all the restaurants. Next time we will go somewhere with more facilities like tennis and watersports.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    22
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We have just returned from a stay at Settlers and were delighted with our choice. With 2 children under 4 it was the perfect set up - really a home away from home but with daily maid service and a restaurant on site so very relaxing for everyone. The villas are a great size, well equipped and nicely located and the beach hut has a wonderful selection of beach toys for children.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

After reading the mainly positive reviews on trip advisor and looking at the hotel website, I was looking forward to my stay in Settlers Beach but I have to say, overall I was disappointed. My first impressions were that the whole place looked slightly run down and tired. It is nicely laid out and the villas are of a good, basic standard with lots of space but the pool was small and garden area was shabby. We had a look round the Sandpiper next door and it is laid out in the same style as Settlers but everything looked so much fresher and generally had a much nicer feel to it. My main disappointment was in the beach or lack of one. There was a tiny area where a maximum of 2 beach chairs could sit in low tide. Apparently, the beach has shrank recently and they are trying various methods to improve it. Again, Sandpiper had a much bigger area of beach which you could use but it is dominated by their beach chairs. And at the moment the town of Holetown is aptly named. Road works and building have made this place into a building site. Pushing a buggy along the pavements was not pleasant.

We spent 6 nights here and then moved to the south for 6 nights and it was a welcome change. We stayed in the southern palms resort in St Lawrence Gap and although there was an overusage of the colour pink -everwhere(!), we had a ground view ocean view room that looked out onto dover beach, a beach that epitomises the caribbean at its best with palm trees and a wide sandy beach area that was beautiful. Everyone seems to think that in Barbados west coast is best but I'm not so sure - for me the south was stunning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roshmccrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This is a great self catering option on the west coast. Great location only a 10 minute walk into Holetown with it's good selection of restaurants and shops and supermarket. The villa was a really good size, with two double bedrooms, an outside covered courtyard dining area, lounge and indoor dining area and fully fitted kitchen with washer, dryer, microwave, coffee machine etc. We found the restaurant, Spago, to be excellent, lovely food, reasonable wine list, not as overpriced as some of the other posher eateries on the west coast. We travelled on a package with Virgin who arranged for a small welcome pack of groceries. The beach was disappointing and it has clearly shrunk since the photos on their website were taken, but there was never a shortage of loungers in the pool area and each villa had its own garden area with loungers. Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Note that the Virgin brochure states the restaurant serves breakfast, but this was not the case while we were here. However the Sandpiper Hotel next door serves a spectacular offering, very well worth sampling during your stay. Offers free wifi, but verrrrrrry slow connection speeds making it unusable at times. Photos on their website are a pretty accurate reflection of what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poofinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We've been going to Barbados since the 1970's but have only just found Settlers Beach Villas - what were we doing! Having just returned last week, we still have withdrawal symptoms.

The resort is excellent, beautiful villa - No 1 - with the lovely maid Cheryl who was very friendly and welcoming. Great reception staff too. Gorgeous surroundings with wonderful gardens and palm fringed pool with just a stroll through the gardens to the beach.

For nature lovers there were mongooses, monkeys, humming birds and the nightly Frog & Cricket Chorus!

We will definitely be returning to Settlers Beach on our next visit to Barbados.

If the management of Settlers Beach read this, please, please don't sell out to condo capitalists.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Having read a few poor reports on Trip Advisor re the Restaurant (Spago's) at Settlers we went with an open mind - it totally exceeded our expectations - the staff very friendly especially Gina and Samantha - very helpful. We ate at The Fish Pot but Spago (certainly with the Scallops) were far far nicer at Spago's. All staff at Settler's are a dream - a real home from home - always a cheery smile - cant do enough for you - cleaning staff excellent - we enjoyed the complimenatry newspaper every day - the turn down service was a real treat with the chocolates on the pillows as was Toni the beach guy he was always around when you needed him - Gina and the team at reception were great as well - thank you Settlers for a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devereaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avalonSydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay at Settlers Beach Villa as the location was spot on. The beach the swimming and sun sets were fabulous. Our holiday was made exceptional due to the wonderful Celia and her staff. Also special thanks to the flamboyant (mustang) Sally who totally spoiled us at her wonderful Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captianmice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint James Parish hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#13 of 26 in Saint James Parish
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
129 reviews
1.8 mi away
Treasure Beach
Treasure Beach
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Beach Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Beach Villa Hotel

Property: Settlers Beach Villa Hotel
Address: Holetown | St. James Beach, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Beach Villa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Settlers Beach Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Beach Hotel
Settlers Beach Saint James
Settlers Beach Villa Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing