We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Magic of the Island”
Review of Sandy Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Lane Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Every country has it's little piece of magic and it is Sandy Lane Hotel that takes the number one spot in Barbados. This is quite some pressure to take on. However from my short time there it had it all in place. This is my kind of hotel, it is well maintained and all in order. The hotel provides all guests with stylish pink towels for the beach with matching sun parasols (nice touch). Then you find the spa and pool area and take yourself to a state of relaxation that you craved when you were back home in your hectic life. If you really want to lock yourself into a world of luxury then a flight to Barbados Sandy Lane hotel will be the ticket worth the spend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelflow-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Unless you have stayed at this hotel you will of never experienced five star luxury ,rooms staff and service are all first class the only problem with sandy lane is that there will come a time to leave .The only thing that keeps me going is the thought of returning .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kboulton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Sandy Lane must have the best service in Barbados.

Bring used to the high level of service in Dubai and Maldives it was a pleasure to be greeted by Alpha Jackman on arrival and he continued his high level of service throughout the trip.

Breakfast Buffett is best selection I've seen and grilled artichokes on beach was a favourite.

Trees take out most of views of sea and sunsets are for the beach bar not the room terraces in room.

Great for location meetings as everyone knows Sandy Lane by reputation and always confident that the hotel will not disappoint.

Family loved the water sport activities. Will return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank wetherell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Reservations for afternoon tea are a must! Upon arrival at the gate, we gave our names and were greeted warmly. We were escorted downstairs to the lower terrace. Tables are set with beautiful Limoges china made for Sandy Lane. We were a party of six and the waitress suggested we order 4 tea set ups. I had read that 1 can feed 2-3 people so we ordered 3 thinking that we could order any extras off the menu. There was no need. At $90 BBD for each tea set, it was quite a deal at Sandy Lane! We had Earl Grey tea, coffee, hot chocolate. In addition to cold milk, warm milk was also brought out. On the standard tea there were meringue covered strawberries set in colored sugar, lox on mini bagel, tuna and egg salad sandwiches, pound cake, chocolate truffles, mini blueberry muffins, raspberry tart and others I can't remember. Simply delicious.

Service was extraordinary. Although we are not movie stars, we were treated as such. Our leftovers were packed and put in a lovely SL shopping bag.

A suggestion - order 1 tea for every 2-3 people in your party. No need to order 1 per person.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank boysrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Immaculate is how we all described Sandy Lane. Notably the service is absolutely top. The restaurant, be it for breakfast, lunch or diner, surpassed expectations (it is buffet-style, granted). Rooms are spacious, classic yet timeless and ultra-clean. Extra's such as groceries, excursions etc are dealt with right away and very efficiently. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lettherebelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

After hearing that afternoon tea is a lovely treat, my family went with great anticipation. What a disappointment. The service was so slow it ruined the treat.

We intended to order 2 teas but the waitress suggested we only order 1 tea for 2 adults and 2 kids and then add extras. It was way to little and had I known how incredibly slow it would be just to get the first one, I would have ignored her advice to order extra cakes if needed later.

It took 45mins for our food to come out despite the only thing probably made to order was the sandwiches. The extra cheese sandwiches (all of one sandwich cut up into x4 slices) for the boys took an age and when it did there was so little cheese and loads of mayo it had to be sent back. The waitress was quite grumpy about it initially but managed an apology after I said she was rude for turning her back on me while I was calling her. It them took so long to get the replacement, we started on our cakes.

These were nothing special and tiny portions of fruit/coconut cake - the latter tasted no better than the supermarket. Lemon curd specified for the scones was swapped for surgery strawberry jam with no explanation, the scones had hardly any sultanas and the amount of cream supplied pitiful.

Total plus x2 extra drinks $B270.

To add insult to injury, we tried to sit at the front bar to order cocktails and watch the sun go down and were told as we weren't guests, we had to sit at the back. This was despite the fact the bar front was nearly empty.

On the plus side, the car valet guys and lobby staff were lovely.


  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank JOA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As a frequent guest at the Hualalai Fourseasons, we decided to adventure to the Caribbean for a change. The vacation started upon landing, someone greeted you and took you through Fast track while other fellow passengers waiting in line. Check in was not ready but we booked spa treatment so we all getting a massage. I got massage once a week and the quality of the massage here is excellent. My lower back was bothering me for few month and my masseuse took the knots out. The spa facility is lovely with good steam room and sauna. A large pool with shower massaging your upper back. There is a bed with jet. We had a spa lunch which describe the nutrition and calorie, and it was delicious. I can go on a diet here. The check in was done in your room and the room is beautiful with three large screen TV. Automatic controls from your bedside make it convenient to turn on bathroom light at night. The minibar is stocked and nonalcoholic drinks, Nespresso coffee and Harney and Son tea are complimentary and unlimited. The breakfast is the best with a station to make your green juice and smoothie fresh. The best egg white omelette ever. On second day, when I approached the omelette station, the guy knew exactly how I like my omelette. Lots of selection. The beach is well kept and clean. Non motorized beach activities are complementary which is hugh. You don't have to fight for beach chairs. Every one here is making our experience the best and you don't feel like they are trying but they are genuinely want you to have a great time. This is the difference between a 5 diamond vs 5 star resort. LIfe is Good. Here is also beautiful.

Room Tip: We at the orchid wing. Did not see other room for comparison. The ocean was not easily seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 88traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.9 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
361 reviews
10.4 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
785 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lane Hotel

Address: Sandy Lane, BB24024, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: £951 - £2,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandy Lane Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and exclusive, Sandy Lane is set in an ancient mahogany grove overlooking a 1000 foot crescent of gorgeous white sand beach. Accommodations include 112 rooms and suites as well as a stunning 5-bedroom villa. With a magnificent 47,000-square-foot spa, four restaurants, six bars, nine floodlit tennis courses, beachside service, 45 holes of championship golf and The Treehouse Club facility for kids and teens, Sandy Lane will cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sandy Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Lane Resort
Sandy Lane Barbados
Hotel Sandy Lane
Sandy Lane Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing