We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shades Holiday Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Royal Pavilion(Porters)(Great Value!)
US$817
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa All Inclusive(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach View(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The House by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$856
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$670
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$484
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$785
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$670
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels(Paynes Bay)(Great Value!)
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Bay All Inclusive(Holetown)(Great Value!)
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sandpiper(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$505
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
111
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaynes bay beacha couple of minutes walklocal supermarketlaundry roomgrocery deliverybig fridgethe fully equipped kitcheniron ironing boardbus stopesso garageother guestscoleslawbed apartmenton arrivalcar hireeasy accessroti hut
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent 3 nights staycation in Apt #1. 2 bedroom ground floor. pool view, surrounded by lush tropical garden. The bed was so comfortable that I would say "if you didn't have a good night sleep, I will guarantee your money back." :) me and the boys enjoyed our stay so much. I have plans on returning in summer. Thank you Shades!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in Apt 6 for 2 weeks. The setting is like being in a tropical paradise and the apartment was large and spacious and offered everything you needed. The pool area is beautiful and the beach is a short walk. We took our snorkeling gear and were looking at tropical fish just A few yards off-shore.
Jacqui and Errol make this place even more special! Jacqui goes above and beyond for all her guests making sure that they feel special, attending to your every need whether it be a catamaran ride for snorkeling and turtle, taxis, restaurant recommendations/reservations, or arranging a driver to show you the island. Errol and his Dad are very special and make you feel their home is yours! Don't miss out on these special accommodations! VeryHighly recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 1LoveItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

As with so many others we booked this holiday because of the reviews. We stayed in Appt 1 which was great because there were two rooms but only the two of us so the spare room was good storage for suitcases etc. It might be a bit cramped if there were four adults as there is only one bathroom / wc. The apartment was great, the pool was nice but did get busy so the only reason that this review is excellent rather than just good is because of Jacqui. She is available whenever you call; she is always happy and smiling; she gets great deals on eveything from jet skis to taxis to sunbeds on the beach etc; she is just awesome. I would certainly go back again and for four adults try out the penthouse, Jacqui showed us round it and it would be fantastic for two groups of two. Shades really is only a gentle five minutes stroll from Paynes Bay beach which is beautiful.

Room Tip: Trust Jacqui - ring her and believe what she says.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfrintonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our family of three was happy to stay in Apt #3 for the week February 16-23rd. We chose the upper floor so as to have a view of our oasis of trees, flowers & pool and to benefit from the daily breezes. There's plenty of space on the balcony for breakfast and dining on "Connie's" Thursday, Friday and Saturday night take-away food. It is private from your building-mates, but a pleasant hello does not go amiss though on this friendly isle.

Apt - The unit is furnished with comfortable island decor. The kitchen is adequate for simple meals. Rooms are clean & spacious with ample closet space so that you are not tripping on suitcases. There is a/c in both bedrooms, but open windows, ceiling fans and breezes kept us comfortable in the evenings & overnight. Most outlets are the standard North-American voltage 2 pronged style, but the bathroom has a 115/230v shaver outlet. A hair blow dryer is supplied in your room also.

Location - Shades is well situated for driving to tourist sites (St Nicholas Abbey/Harrison's Cave/ most Gullys and Gardens) since it's close to the Sandy Lane Golf Course Road which takes you to the good "red road" on the driving map and then signs direct you onwards. The church with the reddish roof on the corner of Laynes Rd is especially helpful at night to find your way into your on-site, safe & gated six spot car park.

Host - Jacqui truly enjoys your company and is like having an onsite local friend to help you make the most of your holiday whether you want to horseback ride, do a segway tour, zip-line, visit a local mahogany wood craftsman at Medford Craft World, or find the right beach for your tastes!

We hope this helps you plan your holiday and maybe choose to stay at Shades to enjoy this wonderful bit of Barbados. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just-us-Canadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is such a fantastic place. Owners Jacqui and Errol say they aim to make this a 'home from home' for their guests and they definitely succeed.

Our apartment was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. We had everything we needed: laundry room, pool, Wi-Fi etc. And it's only a couple of minutes walk from the beach.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews