We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words Fail Me.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The House by Elegant Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Words Fail Me.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

My vocabulary does not contain enough superlatives to describe the experience of being a guest at The House, we have just returned from our 6th visit in 6 years and every time the experience gets better. Joanna manages with a quiet efficiency, ably assisted by all of the back room staff. The ambassadors are just that and nothing is too much trouble, service generally in the Caribbean can be relaxed but Andrew, Agnes and Rowel lead their team and show that relaxed can also be effective.
Marco's cookery demonstrations on Friday lunchtimes are not to be missed, informative but relaxed and enough food provided (along with wine) to save the cost of lunch.
Well done to you all, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Paul, Carol, James and Naomi.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank paevitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Paul, Carol , James and Naomi

Thank you so much for such a heartwarming review. We are so delighted that yet again we were able to provide a fantastic holiday experience, it was indeed a pleasure. Andrew, Rawle and Agnes send their best regards and Marco Festini continues to impress everyone with his culinary expertise.

Thank you for your loyalty, this means alot to us and we sincerely hope to have another opportunity very soon to welcome you back to your home away from home.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    63
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
492
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Staff and rooms excellent not stuffy and Daphne's next door headed up by Marco. Is without doubt the best restaurant in barbados as the food does not follow the same same as the others position on the beach second to none great to watch the sunsets you cannot stay in a better place on this beautiful island

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterandcaroline09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Peterandcaroline09

Many thanks for your very kind review.

We are very happy that you had a superb holiday experience with us and look forward to your return visit very soon.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel! It is more like a home than a hotel. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed and the ambassadors could not be more charming and courteous. They knew everyone by name and nothing was too much trouble. Joanne was ever present and should be extremely proud of her team at The House. We have stayed in many hotels around the world but this one was exceptional. It really did feel like an extension of home. We will certainly be back. THANKYOU all.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Kathryn F

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.

On behalf of the entire team, we are all very pleased that you had an amazing experience at The House and great to hear that you felt at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We went to the house a few years ago (pre-child) and had an amazing time.
The service at the hotel was amazing, and the staff were always there, but at the same time, never in your face - so just perfect.
We would happily return for a 'child-less' 2 night stay next time we went to Barbados, if we could save up some money, as it was really relaxing and romantic.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Tessa M

We are very touched that you took the time from your busy schedule as a new parent to write this review, thank you and many congratulations on your new bundle of joy.

It would be our pleasure to have you return to us soonest but in the mean time, our sister properties Tamarind, Colony Club, Crystal Cove and Turtle Beach are all fantastic family resorts and they provide an incredible kids programme, perhaps this may allow some free time to visit The House.

Again, many congratulations and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently stayed for the first time at this fabulous hotel, this was our fifth visit to the beautiful island of Barbados. Our Virgin flight was delayed nearly 4hours so we arrived late to 'The House', we were greeted with a rum punch and for my husband a much needed cold beer! Our garden view suite on the ground floor was very comfortable and spacious with every amenity, the air conditioning unit was very good set at just the right temperature. What makes this hotel very special without a doubt is the "team" all of them from the ambassadors to the hotel maintenance/house keeping staff... excellent at what they do. They work hard at making you feel you are home from home and they become, very quickly like your family. Just to mention a few by name.....Anthony, a very courteous young man whose professionalism at his job was outstanding, he attended our every need and booked all our dinner reservations at some of the best restaurants on the island, ( the Cliff, Tides, Lone star) and even managed to get us beach front dining at very short notice.....Kerri looked after us on the beach making sure we always had water, and those little extras...cold towels, ice creams, fruit and even rum punch!...Andrew (cheeky) he kept us very amused with his banter ...Richard, Christopher, Teddy, Shaun all lovely people.....would I stay at the house again?... in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DebbyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear DebbyYorkshire

Sincere greetings from all at The House and thank you for your lovely detailed review.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday experience and pleased to see that the names of so many have stayed with you, they are all thrilled to bits to be mentioned.

It also lovely to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and beautifully equipped One Bedroom Garden Suite.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another wonderful House experience.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from The House and really wish we were still there!
Credit to Joanna and her outstanding team of ambassador s who run this exceptional Bed and Breakfast, meeting and greeting, and making sure everything ran smoothly.
The breakfasts with champagne a great way to start the day, ice cold face towels on the beach to cool you down, complimentary bottled water,rum punch, ice-creams whilst lounging in the sun all great little touches.
Daphne's next door a lovely restaurant to eat at or have your lunch/dinner brought through to The House.
A really relaxing holiday and hopefully we will return one day soon!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bloomies1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Bloomies 1234

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of The House.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the outstanding service you received from our team of Ambassadors, as well as The House famous rum punch and the many complimentary treats we provide. We are also delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience at Daphne's.

Look forward to your return visit very soon as it would be our pleasure to provide another awesome House experience.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our fourth visit in two years to the wonderful island of Barbados. Our third visit to the House was everything we had expected and more. The service of the whole team is of the highest standard you will receive anywhere, I do not want to name names in case I forget someone and whether it be the ambassadors, management or housekeeping.
It appears every time we visit the House some upgrades have been made, the rooms are now of a very high quality and I know the pool area is about to have a facelift.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing adult only break.
We have already booked for a return in November and we look forward to seeing all of our wonderful friends at The House.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlincoln55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear John L

Warm greetings and thank you for sharing this lovely review. We are truly delighted to hear that we continue to exceed your expectations, this is our ultimate goal.

On behalf of the entire team at The House, we sincerely appreciate your comments as it relates to our service standards and our continued focus on improving our product. Since your visit, we have just upgraded our pool furniture, I am sure you will enjoy on your return.

We look forward to welcoming you back in November.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.7 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House by Elegant Hotels

Property: The House by Elegant Hotels
Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The House by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados
Saint James The House
House Barbados
The House By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing