We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This most beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The House by Elegant Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

When you drive onto the boardwalk and you walk through the gates, immediately taken to a different world. Greeted by our ambassador Vanita super-amazing-smile and personality, just a few mentions for some of the staff
Andrew charming, charismatic, polite, friendly, sarcastic
Anthony, Ricardo & Kerrie never stopped these 3 gents put in some miles for us Everything we asked for we got,
Teddy, in 1 word..."cool"
Christopher, courteous, polite, calm, witty.
So many more staff to wait on you hand an foot all equally as helpful, polite, courteous and all very well presented,

Food from breakfast to Canopy's to barbecue at the house is tremendous you ask the waiter and you get what you want even if it's not on the menu today. Nothing is ever to much trouble. Recommend checking out the chefs lunchtime tasting session where he prepares and cooks in front of you.
Rooms cleaned daily at what ever time you vacate for the day and always clean linen and towels,

Couldn't of asked for a nicer place to relax it is a holiday we will remember for ever.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank RichardM313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear RichardM313

Many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review on The House.

Thank you for recognizing our truly amazing team of Ambassadors and the exemplary service they provided to you while staying with us, they are all delighted to be mentioned and send their best.

We are also pleased you enjoyed our culinary demonstration and that our Housekeeping team exceeded your expectations.

Once again thanks for your review and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The House very soon!

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was our second stay at The House and it was even better than the first.

It's a good location and the rooms are nice but it's the staff that make the real difference. They are all very helpful and seem genuinely friendly.

The absence of children is also a big plus (it makes for a much more relaxed atmosphere), along with the champagne breakfasts and afternoon teas.

Our only minor quibble was the sunbed mattresses piled up in the garden in front of our room which rather spoiled an otherwise fantastic ocean view.

There are about 5 restaurants within walking distance and plenty more a few minutes away in Holetown by taxi or, if you are brave enough, by bus.

A wonderful place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms on 1st and 2nd floors are excellent but would avoid ground floor. These are not ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BirminghamUKTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear BirminghamUKTony

Warm greetings and many thanks for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay at The House. Importantly, thank you for your continuous loyalty.

We thank you for highlighting our fantastic team, our amazing location and suites as well as our extended breakfast and afternoon tea selection.

With regards to the location of sunbeds in the evening, rest assured that this has been addressed, we appreciate your comment and thank you for pointing this out.

Look forward to welcoming you back for another fabulous House experience.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The House is in a perfect spot on the west coast (just a little south of the world famous Sandy Lane). And because it's so small, the staff all know who you are almost immediately. It does truly feel like you're staying at someone's huge house - there's one central deck where everyone eats and hangs out to drink and watch the sunset.

However - the hotel might not have been totally worth the $700 a night it cost. $700 a night isn't that far from an over the water bungalow in many places and that's a different kind of special.

Rent a car and drive around Barbados. Go to the east coast cause it's stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BergerTime76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear BergerTime76

Many thanks for sharing your experince at The House online. We are truly delighted that you felt as comfortable as being in someones home, this is our ultimate goal.

It was truly our pleasure having you with us and look forward to your return very soon!.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at The House for 10 nights earlier this month. The whole experience was amazing. The rooms ,beach, food, location are perfect. A special mention should go to ALL the staff, as they really MAKE the holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Pam L

Many thanks for sharing your experince at The House. We are pleased that we were able to deliver a perfect holiday experience from all aspects.

Please visit us again very soon!

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The House was the perfect place for our wedding on St Valentines Day and subsequent honeymoon. Joanne and her team were so spoiling, attending to your every whim effortlessly and efficiently. All the staff were so friendly and relaxed they became our Bajan family, nothing was too much trouble to them. We cannot thank everyone enough for making our time in Barbados the most amazing time of our lives. We will definitely be back to see you all again. Fred & Sharon

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Fred & Sharon

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and for sharing your experience at The House. Many thanks for choosing The House for your special occasion and once again many congratulations!

We are always delighted to know that we have exceeded our guests expectaions and from your review it certainly sounds like we have accomplish this.

It was our pleasure having you both and look forward to your return!

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, United Kingdom
15
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Best hotel for a holiday for two elderly adults. No children under 18; superb grub at Daphne's adjoining the hotel or Scarletts across the road and the Cliff 5 minutes walk away. Staff are outstanding and most responsive to any requests. Breakfast ranged from full English with eggs cooked to order to fresh tropical fruit, croissants, toast & marmalade.
Beach adjoining dining area offers swimming and watersports plus idyllic walks - especially at low tide. Superb relaxing facilities and spa jetlag recovery treatment..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member

Warm greetings and many thanks for sharing this lovely review online.

We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed our adults haven, our superb location and all its offerings.

The team is ecstatic about your kind comments and look forward very much to welcoming you back very soon for another fantastic House experience!

Warmest Regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just back from 2 very relaxed weeks having been looked after like we were with friends.The sea view rooms are the best position but avoid room 168! The House is a small adults only hotel that provides a friendly approach to guests.The beach is excellent & the beach service is the best we have ever experienced with either fruit, ice cream, cool sprays, cold cloths & water all complimentary on the hour throughout the day.Breakfast was a good choice buffet with a selection of both hot & cold food.The afternoon tea of sandwiches & cakes (also complimentary) is a nice British touch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rplColton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear rplColton

A warm thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review on your recent experience at The House.

We are extremely pleased you can describe this experience as one of the best. It is truly wonderful to know that you enjoyed all the services we provide coupled with our beautiful and well appointed Ocean View Suite.

On behalf of the entire team at The House, we look forward to your return visit very soon.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
9.7 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
786 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
6.5 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House by Elegant Hotels

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: £382 - £1,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The House by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados
Saint James The House
House Barbados
The House By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing