We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a romantic hotel with 5 stars service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The House by Elegant Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Sidcup, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a romantic hotel with 5 stars service”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went to the house for 5 days and went for a balcony sea view junior suite. The room is very modern and has all the refinements you would expect in a top class hotel. The hotel has a lovely buffet breakfast with complimentary unlimited champagne. You also get free ice cream, fruit portions and water bottles throughout the day free of charge. Not the hotel's fault but beware of the locals who will try selling you anything during the day and stay next to you on the beach, Unfortunately beaches are public in Barbados so there is nothing the hotels can do to prevent guests being harassed by locals. But it's a pain so I recommend sitting by the pool. Food at the restaurant daphne is very good and correctly priced. However, at times the hotel might show you prices in dollars instead of barbadian dollars which when you get accustomed to barbadian dollars is a problem as you will pay twice the amount basically so for example there was a barbecue which to me was well overpriced at 70us$ but we went ahead because we thought it was 70 barbarian dollars or US35$. Nevertheless that was our fault for not reading properly... The hotel should nevertheless stick to one currency for all its services as otherwize it gets confusing. Also, service can be a bit slow at times but it's a small team. At night the place transforms into a romantic getaway with fire lamps etc. overall very good experience and hotel is highly recommended. We will go back.

Room Tip: sea view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Stephane E

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely detailed review of The House. We continuously strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and it warms our hearts to know that we were able to provide you with a wonderful and memorable holiday experience!

We thank you for highlighting our romantic and relaxing ambiance, our lovely suites and all the wonderful features of The House.

I join you in commending the House team for the continuously outstanding service they provide and I have conveyed your lovely comments to the team.

Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay, with regards to our currency information, rest assured that this has been rectified.

We are extremely dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional service hence we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to identify areas for improvement to ensure we continuously deliver the highest level of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The House very soon.

Warm regards
Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    63
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
522
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

DO NOT BOOK A "LUXURY TRANSFER" WITH HOTEL! Cost is US$140 (rtn) and simply a regular taxi. Nothing luxury about the experience at all. A regualr taxi to hotel with cost US$40!!
Total rip off!! Hotel management not helpful and actually rude, saying we received exactly what we paid for....
CHAMPAGNE BREAKFAST - is available however you have to constantly ask for the champagne. Not instantly offered. Also attention at breakfast was poor, coffee wasn't free flowing and you have to ask for everything!! Not what you would expect from a luxury boutique hotel!
BBQ Night was offered at BB$120/person +tax + SC! The bill for 2 of us was BB$320 (US$160). There was a choice of 4 different meats, a small salad selection and rice/pasta. Extremely poor and didn't warrant the high price!

Overall was an average boutique hotel - nothing special!

Room Tip: We choose a Junior Suite - this was essentially a nice room - didn't feel like a Junior Suite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RCN82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear RCN82

Many thanks for sharing your feedback.

We are extremely disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay with us.

With reference to your transfer from the airport we sincerely regret that the we did not meet your expectations. Please also accept my sincere apologies if anyone reacted inappropriately to your concerns as this is not what The House is known for, we take our guests comments seriously and will review accordingly.

Your comments on our champagne breakfast and BBQ night has been addressed with the team to ensure we maintain our usual high level of service standards.

Although we did not meet all aspects of your expectations during this visit, we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to The House.

Sincerely

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stunning boutique hotel on the Platinum coast. Great location, handy for all the happening restaurants & nightlife on the west coast. Excellent decor, superb service and right on the beach, enjoy long walks along the beach, or rent a yacht and cruise the warm waters, spotting turtles along the coastal waters. Amazing. A must stay.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Franc0Sc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Franc0Sc0tt

Many thanks for sharing this great review of The House.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are truly delighted to know that you had an amazing stay with us.

Thank you for highlighting our fantastic location, superb décor and service.

We look forward very much to your return!

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was so good to be back and Vanita, Christopher, Wade, Kerrie, Teddy, Agnes and Alana welcomed us so warmly. Nothing is too much trouble for the tireless crew of Ambassadors and Joanna the manager. Great recommendations for eating from the staff as usual and this time the standout moment for me was cooking with Marco. My husband had the most fun and it really made our stay when Marco came and asked Will what he wanted for dinner.. See the review for Daphne's. Staying at The House is a relaxed easy experience. Special mention to Diana for sorting out Will's hat and to Chris and Paul on nights (for putting up with us when the partying just went on and on). Already planning the return visit.

Room Tip: Second floor sea views 271-275. Nice sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzymcbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Lizzymcbusy

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review on The House.

We are delighted to know that as a valued guests we were able to deliver another wonderful experience.

Thank you for choosing The House and we look forward very much to your return!

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at The House in late May 2014. Great rooms, awesome atmosphere with the hotel located right at the beach; wonderful terasse overlooking the beach and ocean. Excellent breakfast. The service from the "ambassador" staff was superb. All in all a wonderful experience, we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan747Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Jan747Z

Many thanks for taking the time to share this lovely review of The House.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of The House and that we were able to provide a wonderful holiday experience.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have just returned from 10 days at The House and loved every second. I would sum up the hotel by saying understated luxury, not at all pretentious and stuffy unlike other hotels in Barbados. The staff are amazing so very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a good time. Special mention to Andrew - all his recommendations were spot on and to Kerrie, Teddy,Ricardo and Wade who were all so friendly and provided excellent service. We had a wonderful day touring the island in an open top jeep and mixing with the locals which was very very special. The thing that makes Barbados special is the people, both in the hotel and out and about, everybody goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. Great holiday thanks to Joanna and all her team at The House - look forward to seeing you next year.

Room Tip: Ocean view junior suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooneys2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Rooneys2817

Warm greetings and many thanks for taking the time to share your fabulous House experience online. I share your sentiment and agree that the people of Barbados are a delight and have that natural bajan hospitality.

At The House nothing pleases us more than a happy guest, from your review it sounds like we were able to provide a fabulous holiday experience, so thank you for giving us this wonderful opportunity.

Thank you for highlighting some of our stars: Kerry, Andrew, Teddy, Ricardo and Wade, they are all thrilled to be specially mentioned and send their best.

From all of us, see you soon!

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wow what a hotel! The service was incredible and surpassed all expectations. The staff are so helpful and a lot of fun. We were made to feel so special. The location is fantastic right on the beach and with a lovely pool too. It's close to all the top restaurants on the Island. The free water sports were an added bonus and great fun. Highly recommended for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: Pool/beach view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoraexploraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DoraexploraUK

Many thanks for taking the time to share this lovely review of The House.

Thank you for highlighting our amazing team of Ambassadors and the genuine hospitality they consistently provide, we are always delighted when we can deliver that wow experience.

It was truly a pleasure to have you stayed with us and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
2.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,064 reviews
9.7 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
7.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House by Elegant Hotels

Property: The House by Elegant Hotels
Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The House by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados
Saint James The House
House Barbados
The House By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing