We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing....We'll be back...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The House by Elegant Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing....We'll be back...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at 'The House' from June 6th until June 16th 2014. We booked a one bedroom, ocean view suite through Virgin HIP Holidays.

On arrival in Barbados we were fast tracked through security and escorted outside the airport to kerbside where we were met by a car to take us to the hotel. Once inside the car, the driver welcomed us to Barbados and offered us both ice cold bottles of water - a nice welcome touch!

After approximately 20 minutes, we arrived at The House and whilst we sat down to enjoy the first of many Rum Punches, our bags were whisked away to our room. Checkin was quick and informal and we were soon shown to our room - WOW! We stayed in a one bedroom, ocean view suite.

Highlights of the room : two separate bathrooms both with amazing body jet showers and a very generous selection of Elemis product. A small 'bar' area containing a Nespresso coffee machine, a fridge, kettle and a wide selection of tea. (Great for us Brits). Two separate balconies both providing an amazing 180 degree view of the ocean.

The House is a beautiful place, calling it a hotel doesn't really do it justice - it feels so much more special than that. The staff are absolutely amazing and without a doubt make your stay! They're always on hand should you need something and go above and beyond to ensure you're being looked after. Special mention to Andrew - a huge Liverpool supporter - if you're planning to stay at the House, bring him a LFC souvenir - he'll thank you forever :-) Special thanks also to Kerri who helped planned some of our activities including recommending the awesome Good Times, catamaran tour. Agnes, Christopher, Anthony, Teddie...the list is endless - all the staff here including Joanna are wonderful. A shout out too, to the masseuses - we received a free 1 hour anti-jet lag massage each as part of our package and my wife swears, it was the best massage she's ever had!

A champagne breakfast every morning, free afternoon tea (scones & sandwiches) and complimentary ice cream, fruit, bottled water and cold towels served throughout the day. The most comfortable sun loungers we've ever experienced, beautiful sandy beaches and crystal clear, aqua water - what's not to love...?

On the final night of our stay, a turtle came out of the sea, crawled up the beach and chose a spot next to one of the hotel's sun lounger's to lay her eggs! An amazing, unforgettable experience and clearly a turtle with taste! :)

We absolutely loved our time at The House. If you're considering a holiday in Barbados - stay here, you won't regret it. Like us, I suspect from the moment you leave, you'll be thinking about returning! :)

Very small niggles:
The gym is small and poorly air conditioned - use the gym at the Tamarind (The House' sister hotel next door) instead. It's bigger with better equipment, double air con units and is free to use throughout your stay.

Beach sellers can be a pain but just be friendly and they'll leave you alone.

Room Tip: The one bedroom, ocean view suite on the 3rd floor is amazing! Two bathrooms, two balconies and an m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PhilMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    63
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
513
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We just returned from a wonderful week at The House and can honestly say that all of the glowing comments provided previously to Trip Advisor are accurate. The property was everything we had hoped for and more. The property is small enough that it never felt crowded (even at gathering times such as breakfast and afternoon tea) and the no children policy meant it was always quiet and relaxing. Also, there is no “front desk.” For check-in we sat our travel-weary selves down on sofas on the main deck and while we were served cold beverages and chilled towels, Vanita checked us in. We loved our gorgeous suite and my wife was happy to find Elemis bath products, a high tech multi-jetted shower and an espresso machine. She also enjoyed the complimentary (jet lag) massage given under a canopy next to the beach and later in the week had a facial at the spa at Tamarind right next door. (Both services could have been provided in our room.)

Every day we enjoyed a delicious champagne buffet breakfast with an ample variety of fresh fruits, breads, cereals, hot sides, smoked salmon, eggs cooked to order and a selection of local dishes as well. Since this trip was for a much needed relaxation experience, we developed a daily routine (not uncommon among the guests) of settling in our lounge chairs next to the pool (preferring that to the beach since local merchants come by selling their wares, which we found annoying) and enjoyed the assortment of treats served to us at a relaxed pace throughout the day: chilled, scented towels, chilled water, fresh fruits and ice-cream. At tea time, we were served the tea of our choice, sandwiches, scones and cakes on the main deck. And, in the evening it was nice to have canapés before going out to dinner. We enjoyed wonderful meals at Daphnes (next door), Lone Star and The Tides (both a short taxi ride away) and also had meals prepared by Daphnes and served to us at The House.

Absolutely everything and everyone was wonderful (with a special word for Ambassador Agnes who could not have been nicer and went the extra mile to take care of us. We had such a good time relaxing that we never got around to renting a car and touring the island as we had originally planned. Instead, we opted to go snorkeling with the turtles and highly recommend the boat excursion given by Rod (of Unda D Hat Snorkelling Tours); the turtles and fish were amazing and the boat picked us up from the beach in front of The House. One item you should be aware of: the beach bottom in front of the property has rocks that need to be considered and navigated when heading into the water and beach/water shoes are helpful.

We have only been home a few days but we are ready to go back to Barbados and will be staying at The House. It is our new favorite place! This is a significant change for us since for over 25 years we have been loyal repeat visitors to The Reefs (Bermuda). We enjoyed its small size and that feeling of family with the staff. However, over the last 5 years their management style has changed completely and they are more of a business than a favored destination. So, from now on our new favorite place is The House!

Room Tip: High Floor Beach Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel (it had been strongly recommended by family members) and we were not disappointed. The hotel was beautiful, the atmosphere very conducive to relaxation, and the staff absolutely delightful, helpful and friendly. Three people spring to mind in particular - Andrew, who was absolutely wonderful and looked after us with the utmost care, attention to detail, friendliness and humour (we would be so sad if he was not there when we return - he really added something to the place), and Diana who served us every evening at the bar (and was an absolute joy to talk to), and Joanna (manager) who was so friendly, genuine, concerned and helpful. What an absolutely wonderful place. Our only regret is that we have been meaning to write this for months - I've finally done it! WE WILL BE BACK!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Spent time at The House April 2014. Great place, cool environment, good staff. More like a club than hotel. Can't comment on all accommodation however the ocean view suite we stayed in was excellent. Two bathrooms, two balcony's, pleasant decor and plenty of space. Restaurant facilities minimal, however if you want dinner by the sea, great service, good quality food, peace and an environment to die for, have dinner on the deck. If not, go to a busy restaurant, which there are many and extremely nice even though you are sharing it with others.

We will return - Thank you The House

Room Tip: If you can, take a suite - first floor, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

10 days at the house:not everyone are so lucky. yes, now that i know i will never book a transfer in advance anymore. a local taxi is fine and much cheaper but is the same everywhere in the world. in dubai transfers are ten times a taxy. and they all drive limos anyway. something to remember next time will be the meet and greet service. that would avoided us a 20' queue at arrival.

location is very nice. the house sits on the busiest st james road, one that crosses the whole island from south to north. very busy but from our suite nothing was heard.


staff are superlative. some more than others, some less. they are called ambassadors...

i agree with other reviews, pool space is limited but truly who cares. i woke up every morning and went straight into the ocean. priceless.

chaise longue are huge and very comfy. lots of towels and more if needed. a tiny detail but great is the fact their covers have a folding side that hugs the bed and does not move. bliss!

water, ice-creams, fruits, tea at four with scones and delicious sandwiches, more canapes at 6!!

i mean...yeahhhhhhh!

i don't drink and therefore never had champagne at BF but my wife had and it was much appreciated. that people could have booze at 7:30 am is a bit worrisome but not everybody has my problems. yet.

we had a problem with a very noisey fridge and it got sorted out very quickly.

honestly, finding something wrong here is a struggle.

my only real grievance is the food delivered by daphne's. i am italian. i met and spoke with the very nice italian chef there, marco. the quality is seriously below standards or maybe my standards. my wife feels even worse than me but maybe she is blinded by love.

st james is littered with restaurants, holetown is few bus stops away. head there and you will find better food.

the clincher is the adult only theme. i might sound like 'erode' but truly what a joy having some silence.

Room Tip: room 175. great, with birds chirpingin the morning and sound of waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in mid May to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We looked online for months to find the perfect place to celebrate this special event. Our expectations were high, and that always worries me because it's easy to be disappointed when we set the bar so high. We had never been to Barbados before and decided to take the leap of faith based on the research we had done online and chose The House, a new destination for us, passing up several other known options that we knew would deliver what we were looking for. We weren't able to find a direct flight to Barbados from Charlotte, NC so we almost bailed for a closer destination that we could get to in one easy flight. As I said, our expectations were very high. The House delivered...and then some. This beautiful, small boutique hotel was EXACTLY what we were looking for. The service was excellent-efficient, friendly, knowledgable, caring....but never intrusive. With only 34 rooms, the overall feeling was relaxed and personal. The open-air breakfast area and bar are chic, with a simple beauty that compliment the real show-piece, the stunning Caribbean waters that are just steps away.
Upon arrival, our bags were immediately taken to our room while we were given a full tour of the property and then escorted to our room by Venita, who kindly showed us everything in the room. The room.....wow... We reserved an ocean front one bedroom suite and it WAS everything we had hoped....lovely furnishings, two beautiful balconies, two fully appointed bathrooms (together with multi-function shower, robes, slippers, and every possible toiletry you can imagine...even SPF 15 lip moisturizer and cooling under-eye gel!!) There was a welcome bottle of rum punch as well as full ice bucket, still water, espresso maker with a variety of flavors, hot water pot and a variety of teas--all complimentary and all replenished daily. In addition, the mini bar was well stocked with munchies, sodas, wines and beers if you want to enjoy a snack or cocktail in-room.
The beach and pool.....again...wow....look closely at the pictures online and compare the beach chairs and pool chairs and furniture to ANY other property and I challenge you to find anything better. Each has a THICK, comfortable, clean cushion on sturdy, beautiful frames. I'd like to have these at my house!! Each morning, the chairs had two towels neatly placed upon the cushions for the use of guests. If someone left the beach for the day, the used towels were wisked away, cushions cleaned of sand, and fresh towels were placed out for the next guests. There was NEVER a time when we walked out to the beach or pool and could not find chairs, towels and umbrella. I have now become a compete beach chair snob as I doubt anything could ever beat what we experienced at The House.
Beach service was impeccable. We were offered waters, chilled towels and ice pops periodically throughout the day...never intrusive, but you always knew if you needed something it was a simple request away. We especially enjoyed afternoon cocktails on the beach, which were served with a smile and never failed to delight (we recommend the rum punch!)
We did not make an effort to enjoy afternoon tea until the last day we were there. We realized how much everyone seemed to be enjoying it and decided we needed to give it a try. We are so glad we did! It was so beautifully presented, with delicious biscuits and shortbread. It ended up being one of the highlights of our trip!
Food....Breakfast was always fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. There was variety each day and service was outstanding. We enjoyed lunch one day on the patio and it was outstanding. We aren't big lunch eaters, so that was the extent of our food experience at The House. For dinners we decided to go off property each night to see what the island had to offer. Hands down, the highlight was The Cliff. It's about a 3 minute cab ride away, amazing vista, DELICIOUS food and top notch service. Maybe one of the best dining experiences I've ever had. For a less fancy dinner, we really enjoyed Scarlet, an easy walk across the street from The House and a real surprise to see the funky decor and interesting cocktail and dinner menu despite the rather nondescript exterior. Cin Cin was nice, also a beautiful view, but unfortunately we ate there the night after eating at The Cliff, so it paled in comparison.
Water sports....We enjoyed the paddle boarding and sailing very much. I tried the wake board, but have to admit I'm spoiled with a glass-like lake at home, so the conditions were not exactly perfect for a whole lot of excitement there. But who can complain about even a bumpy ride on such beautiful waters?? The service at the water sports center was attentive and pleasant and it was a nice bonus to have so much offered without the extra fees for such.
Overall I give our experience a "Ten out of Ten". We have such fond memories of our stay at The House. I rarely take the time to review places we have stayed, but this was truly exceptional and we would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Barbados.

Room Tip: Splurge and enjoy the ocean front one bedroom suite. You'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went to the house for 5 days and went for a balcony sea view junior suite. The room is very modern and has all the refinements you would expect in a top class hotel. The hotel has a lovely buffet breakfast with complimentary unlimited champagne. You also get free ice cream, fruit portions and water bottles throughout the day free of charge. Not the hotel's fault but beware of the locals who will try selling you anything during the day and stay next to you on the beach, Unfortunately beaches are public in Barbados so there is nothing the hotels can do to prevent guests being harassed by locals. But it's a pain so I recommend sitting by the pool. Food at the restaurant daphne is very good and correctly priced. However, at times the hotel might show you prices in dollars instead of barbadian dollars which when you get accustomed to barbadian dollars is a problem as you will pay twice the amount basically so for example there was a barbecue which to me was well overpriced at 70us$ but we went ahead because we thought it was 70 barbarian dollars or US35$. Nevertheless that was our fault for not reading properly... The hotel should nevertheless stick to one currency for all its services as otherwize it gets confusing. Also, service can be a bit slow at times but it's a small team. At night the place transforms into a romantic getaway with fire lamps etc. overall very good experience and hotel is highly recommended. We will go back.

Room Tip: sea view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Stephane E

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely detailed review of The House. We continuously strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and it warms our hearts to know that we were able to provide you with a wonderful and memorable holiday experience!

We thank you for highlighting our romantic and relaxing ambiance, our lovely suites and all the wonderful features of The House.

I join you in commending the House team for the continuously outstanding service they provide and I have conveyed your lovely comments to the team.

Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay, with regards to our currency information, rest assured that this has been rectified.

We are extremely dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional service hence we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to identify areas for improvement to ensure we continuously deliver the highest level of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The House very soon.

Warm regards
Joanna Roterberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.7 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
830 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House by Elegant Hotels

Property: The House by Elegant Hotels
Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The House by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados
Saint James The House
House Barbados
The House By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing