We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The House by Elegant Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I have only one day remaining of our two week holiday at The House.
Much has been written extolling the virtues of this wonderful hotel and we would support all of the previous, highly praiseworthy comments.
We were allocated room 374 which is on the second floor overlooking the pool and deck area onto the ocean beyond. The views from the balcony are truly spectacular with the occasional sunset completely awe inspiring.
Everything about this hotel is carefully done to create the perfect ambiance of tranquility and quality and it is the staff who deliver this on a completely consistent basis.
Every single member of staff we encountered was warm, friendly and totally professional, a real credit to the hotel and its training operation.
Thanks to them all for making this holiday so pleasurable, we will return!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms would be my choice and on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Phil265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

After reading the reviews of The House we were very excited about our stay but unfortunately left disappointed. Not surprising with such high expectations but I think we would have still been disappointed if it was a poorly reviewed 3 star hotel. FIrstly, we were given the room next door to the bar/restaurant so that the breakfast buffet was right outside our door and we were woken before 7am with the breakfast being laid. We complained and were reluctantly given another room but I don't think this space should have been a room at all as every guest would have the same problem. We spoke to the couple next door and they were also awoken before 7am every day by the breakfast service - not exactly something you come to the Caribbean for. Unfortunately our problems only started there. Items were lost on the room change by housekeeping and were only located after many calls, and this became a pattern, it just seemed to take many calls/talks with staff before action was taken on anything. Our room was not serviced until after 4pm so it was 5pm before it was clean - I haven't experienced this in any other hotel - I find spending the whole day in the day before's mess unacceptable. The hotel did not seem to think this was a problem and indicated that this was normal so I had to ask for an 'early' service, which predictably resulted in the 8.30am knock at the door. The restaurant was extraordinarily slow, especially with drinks and it was always impossible to catch anybody's attention. I think the issues stems from this Ambassador service they have, which was never explained to us, but they are locked in a room rather than having a reception or concierge desk so whenever you can pin one down they are always walking through busy with other matters. The Manager was no help whatsoever, she seemed excellent at gliding through the lounge while not making eye contact. On one occasion we had an issue with our lunch, she was talking to the next table and saw the issue, but simply walked away leaving her staff to deal with it. We spoke to other couples who said the service had been better the week before but that something was obviously wrong that week, I don't care, service should never be that bad. I would like to make the exception of Christopher, who was the only truly professional staff member we encountered.

Room Tip: Do not get room 168 or 169 as they are next to the restaurant/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank ChristenDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaRoterberg, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear ChristenDubai

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to learn that your holiday experience was not an enjoyable one and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been noted and will help us to remain focus as we strive to maintain the high level of service we are known for.

We are extremely dedicated to providing our guests with excellent service and an amazing holiday experience so any feedback that helps us to improve is greatly appreciated.

With regards to your accommodation, we are pleased we were able to find you an alternative accommodation for the duration of your stay. Importantly, our objective is to remedy any issue or inconvenience while our guest are with us and it seems obvious that we weren’t able to address all your concerns, hence we sincerely hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Joanna Roterberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived by private transfer from the airport, about 30 minutes drive away. The house has the appearance of a Castle at the front, taxis drive over a wooden structure, surrounded by a Lilly pond with koi carp.

The room was beautiful, spacious and fully equipped. We had an ocean suite opening out the pool area. We had concerns about noise but they were unfounded, it is a quiet resort

The house is next to Dafnys Restaurant, which supplies all of the food. The Italian chef, Marco, is really talented, breakfast is first class, and includes champagne (Piper, no cheap rubbish either).

Don't miss out on the glass bottomed boat snorkelling trip. Swim with turtles, or watch from the boat...

Room Tip: 168 is nearest the bar and pool, probably not the best location, but we enjoyed it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank andypear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here in June for ten nights,when you arrive you get a nice rum cocktail, then taken to your room to do check in as they do not have a reception area.
The staff here are very friendly big shout out to Andrew ,Kerri, Charles Shai and Diana just to name a few they were all fab.
Ice cold towels are great when its very hot along with the ice cream and fruit bowels ….
also not forgetting Kerri who came round every day cleaning everyones sun glasses that was fab loved everything about the house except the beds, they had big dips in each side so once you were in bed you couldn't move, didn't complain about it because what they gonna do ,give a knew bed !!!! A must do on the Island is Harrisons cave and a local bar, not a touristy one (just outside the house turn left and cross over its like a little shack) Great little bar but without all the trimmings you get a stool and a drink its fab

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank josiep65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I finally took the time for a real vacation after 15 years. We decided on two destinations. The House was our second stop and it did not disappoint! Everything is done to perfection. Staff, beach, food and vibe. Huge value. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My partner and I booked The House after reading other good reviews online and we were attracted by the adult only environment. We wanted a week away of pure relaxation and without the bother of screaming kids...

Upon arrival at The House you notice there is no reception desk. Instead, there is an open space with comfortable sofas and coffee tables and the first thing you see is the gorgeous sand and sea. It's like an open plan indoor/outdoor space which is so unique. The idea of this is to make you feel 'at home' straight away without the sometimes awkward front desk check in procedure. We were greeted straight away by the amazingly friendly ambassadors and invited to take a seat with a complimentary cocktail. We were shown straight to our room by one of the managers where she did out check in sat in our room, answered any questions we had and generally made us feel relaxed and like an honoured house guest from the moment we got there. Our room was on the ground floor with direct access to the pool/beach area from the back door of our room.

We ate at the hotel on our first night, food from Daphne's restaurant which is part of the hotel. A bit expensive but worth it. You cannot fault the service at The House. You are made to feel so special. Breakfast is very varied and delicious with an egg chef on standby to cook your eggs however you like.

Complimentary water sports is a huge bonus and great fun. These include boat trips, canoeing, snorkelling. The beach is lovely and the hotel's ambassadors provide cold towels, bottles of water all day.

Didn't want to leave. Felt so relaxed and special. Staff were outstanding, have never experienced such amazing service. 10/10

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own mini plunge pool but we had a ground floor room which was literally a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We really enjoyed the cozy feeling of this medium hotel, it felt luxurious without effort. Beautiful grounds, awesome entryway, and fantastic staff. Perfection in the Caribbean!
Staff - from the moment you arrive the staff is attentive but not over bearing. They always have a smile and a helpful answer, towel, cold drink, or suggestion at the ready.
Hotel - Wow, what a great find! Excellent location for jumping around the island, a few nearby spots to eat, a quiet beachfront and fabulously groomed grounds. While the hotel isn't a big brand name you get the feeling that it easily could give the big boys a run for their money.
Food - breakfast included daily, with Champaign was a treat every day. The cook knew exactly how to cook eggs (too often the eggs are overcooked) but the professional level of service extends to the chef and wait staff. Dinner - ask the Ambassadors for suggestions, every spot they recommended was great!
Room - garden / ocean / pool view from the ground floor was perfect. We got the best of all worlds room 175!
The lobby is a great meeting area for guests, the pool and beach front are perfectly nestled together. Plenty of room for everyone on the beach. Shade and direct sunshine mixtures, with umbrellas, and amazing sunset views!!! I wish I had never left.
We really enjoyed the cozy feeling of this medium hotel, it felt luxurious without effort. Beautiful grounds, awesome entryway, and fantastic staff.
Lunch, could use some improvement. The menu options are trying to play to the westerns so pizza, fries, etc are listed but I would steer clear...soggy
Better than BIG name Luxury Hotels

Room Tip: Room - garden / ocean / pool view from the ground floor was perfect. We got the best of all worlds r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaileyHandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
2.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,080 reviews
9.7 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House by Elegant Hotels

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: £391 - £1,419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The House by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados
Saint James The House
House Barbados
The House By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing