We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely House”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pear Tree House

Swimming Pool for your exclusive use
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool for your exclusive use
Shaded terrace overlooking the pool View of pool from terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Swimming Pool for your exclusive use
Shaded terrace overlooking the pool
View of pool from terrace
Paynes Bay a few minutes walk from the house
Kitchen/living room
KITCHEN
Dining area
Family room looking onto garden
Master bedroom
Master bedroom-cot available
Master en-suite bathroom
Landing and stairs
Side terrace and garden
Bedroom 3- twin beds which convert to a 6' wide Super King size bed
Bedroom 5- two single beds and a third  'roll-away' childs bed
Second dining table
Family bathroom
Pool
Fish market a few minutes away
Front of house
Front entrance
Beach by fish market
Pool Terrace
The Cliff restaurant at the end of the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ollieb701
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely House”
Reviewed 10 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a lovely holiday. The house is airy and spacious. Great salt water pool big enough to swim lengths in; big, breezy terrace that’s in shade and a deck with sun loungers for sunbathing. The housekeeper came 3 times a week which was great. Juliette the House Manager was really helpful with booking a hire car and suggestions for where to go, eat, etc. Have already booked to come back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good besides the home invasion...”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Our first impression was that The Pear Tree House was nice, had good amenities and was close to beaches, restaurants, and the resort where our friends were getting married.

Unfortunately, our perception of the house completely changed when we became victims of a home invasion. Just a half hour after going to bed, our friends woke up to a masked man in their room, going through their items. He got away with some of their most valued possessions through an exterior door in the bedroom that he unlocked from the inside after coming in through a door used only by the house keeper. This allowed him to get in even though we were extremely diligent about locking the doors we used. I have to stress that we are all homeowners ourselves who work in public safety and never at any time were lax about locking doors or safety.

The property manager was extremely responsive and came to the house immediately with her husband when the robbery occurred and stayed while the police investigated.

Unfortunately, it was only then that we learned that a break in had occurred just a few weeks earlier that the property manager failed to warn us about. She said she didn’t want to ruin our trip, but a lot more than just that was ruined by her withholding that information. Had she told us, we would have kept our wedding rings on our hands at all times and put every single valuable item in the safe. We fully realize that these things can happen anywhere, but we felt betrayed by the withholding of information. It’s worth noting that the property manager and the house keeper told us completely different stories about what happened in the previous break in, which obviously concerns us and just left us with more questions than answers.

The owner responded by having a guard outside the house overnight for the rest of our stay, which we appreciated. The owner refused to call us and would communicate only through Airbnb. She refused to compensate us at all for our stay, which boils down to us paying to get robbed the night before our good friends’ wedding. It ruined what should have been a happy, joyous day, and it’s hard to believe we paid money for it.

As we left on our last day, we knew that a new group would be arriving that evening, and we could only hope that they would warn them — a simple courtesy that was not extended to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Hi Jessica.
We are very sorry that you suffered a robbery while at the house. As you stated in your review, we came out in the night in response and arranged for a night guard for the rest of your stay.
While we are very sympathetic to your loss, it is a fact that you left the door unlocked at night. It is very difficult for us to maintain security if you do not lock the doors.
You also failed to mention that you demanded $12000 from us , presumably because your insurance would not cover items stolen when you leave a door open.
We did offer you some compensation in writing through Airbnb which you chose not to take up; it is simply not true that we refused to compensate you. We also had the manger available 24/7 on island and she responded to your call at 1am. We were, and are, always available by message online if any problem cannot be sorted out locally.
Again, we are very sorry for your experience. We have had hundreds of guests who have not experienced any security problems and if guests lock the doors they will be safe. As a precaution we have now installed additional lights and sceurity cameras to provide additonal security.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large modern villa near the Cliff”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed here for 2 weeks during December 2017 and had a wonderful stay. We were a party of 8 adults and had ample room with the 5 double bedrooms over the 2 floors.

The large living areas and the large pool deck were fantastic and the property has lots of ares for relaxing or watching tv/reading.

The large pool gave a bit of relief from the hot sun and the large deck was sheltered by the 1st floor master bedroom.

We manged to find the Cliff beach club bakery just across the road and ordered fresh bread each morning. The rum shop below the house was only noisy on 1 night and we intended to try their food but never seemed to get round to it.

The BBQ gas had run out when we arrived but the house manager was soon round to replace it with her own cyclinder.

We'd recommend this property to anyone looking for a large clean modern property for a large group of 6-10 persons.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Thanks for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome to come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
paynec320...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect villa”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

5 star holiday villa the house is much bigger than the photo's make it look. We were a party of 11 and we had so much room. nice private pool 3 minutes walk to the beech 5 min in the car to the supermarket and 5 min to the famous Sandy Lane
House manager and cleaner so nice and helpful and the owners make it so easy to book and answers can highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great House - Great Location”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have been to Barbados a number of times and this is a great place to stay. The house is large, open plan and very cool in the warm Barbadian sun. The pool at the end of the kitchen is great with lots of room to swim and then relax on the surrounding furniture.

The location is excellent with less than a 5 minute walk to beautiful golden sands or a cool drink in one of the many local bars. You are also spolit for choice if you fancy a really nice meal and cocktail at some of the best restaurants on the island, again only a small walk away.

This will hopefully not be the last holiday we have at Pear Tree House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean, great location
Liked least: We had no problems
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshirel...
cirencester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great holiday in this house”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our fourth visit to the island and pear tree house. Another great holiday. The addition of the pool is a great bonus although it is only a very short walk to the beach. The house has great facilities and Sam who takes care of the house was very generous and cooked us all a traditional Bajan meal one night. There are a few appliances that are in need of updating, but these are just down to general wear and tear and I am sure will be sorted out. The owner is very approachable and addresses any queries and questions by return and could not be more helpful. Have already booked for 2015 and counting down the days already. Have also recommended this to several friends who are looking to book it.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing