We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Lovely holiday, food wonderful, complex amazing, rooms could do with updating, staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. On the whole an experience I want to repeat, we are fairly well travelled people but nowhere is more relaxing and calming than Barbados, the people are lovely, for the ultimate chill out this is the place to be. Shuttlles are available to take you to the sister hotels, the village was an amazing place, with the complimentary water ski-ing and boat rides to see the turtles in the clear blue water you feel spoilt rotten and if you like to party then an excursion to the Friday night Oistins fish fry is a must - a street party like no other, we have to get back there sooooon !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorganBayStLucia, Owner at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for your positive comments and support!

We are pleased to announce that the former Almond Beach Club is now officially The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa, part of the Elite Island Resorts family of terrific Caribbean resorts.

Over the past few weeks, we have already begun making meaningful upgrades to the resort. On your next visit, you will enjoy new sun loungers, improved landscaping and grounds, a renewed emphasis on customer service, and of course, the excellent staff and warm hospitality that Barbados is famous for.

The Club will remain Barbados' only Adults Only, All-Inclusive resort property--focusing on excellent value for money and great customer service.

We sincerely appreciate your business, and look forward to having you as our guests at The Club, Barbados.

Sincerely,

The Staff & Management
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,788 - 1,794 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Its our 18th plus visit to this hotel, another fantastic holiday, staff, food,all great, it needs a bit of TLC but with the new owners it should be done soon. Our thanks to Kevin, Gillian, Gerry, Nello and all the staff. Roll on next June when we will be back!!!!!!!!!!!!! xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbados16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Whilst on holiday at this resort, which is very run down and in need of a massive refurbishment, we werev extremely disappointed that it changed hands with noofficial notification. We learnt that it is being rebranded as 'The Club, Barbados' but until the new owners make significant changes expect poor accomodation, repetitive food and staff that are of the opinion that they are always right and not the customer.If you ask for a rum punch expect at least six different concoctions depending on who serves you and no list of cocktails exist despite being requested. Senior managers are trying to improve matters but they face an uphill task. However give it six months so that the accomodation can be completely refitted and then I expect to see a hotel that gives good service and value for money.

Room Tip: When we got there we found many couples had been uprated because they could not find suitable rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pedr0Ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel was... OK. If it was just a holiday we had booked at a great price we would have been satisfied, but we had paid a fair bit of money, for what we were led to belive was 4* accommodation for our honeymoon and we were a bit dissappointed.

We had seen the reviews of the beach but were not expecting it to be as bad as everyone had said, with very tired and grotty looking sunbeds. We couldn't access Sandy Lane beach which was right next door and so we walked up the other way and never found a decent beach.

The accommodation was just tired and in desperate need of a re-vamp, but we heard the hotel was closing down which was why it was looking this way.

Some staff were lovely and some were quite rude. On the plus side the food was excellent, particularly the little carribean restaurant upstairs. Although we did see the occassional coachroach, but then the restuarant is quite open - we had no reason to doubt the cleanliness of the kitchen.

The entertainement is dire. Embarassing at times!

We met some people and overall had a good stay. But this was not by any stretch of the imagination, the luxury 4* accommodation we were sold for our honeymoon by Virgin.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor as rooms are small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorganBayStLucia, Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guests,

We are pleased to announce that, as mentioned in this review, the ownership of this resort changed hands as of August 2012.

The Club, Barbados (formerly Almond Beach Club) is now under new ownership and management, and we are actively making improvements and substantial investments throughout the resort.

Over the past few weeks, the resort has undergone a complete deep cleaning, and all guest rooms and common areas are being upgraded. New sunloungers line the oceanfront sunbathing area, and fresh white sand and improved landscaping enhance the overall experience.

New menu choices, and bar staff / server training, along with a renewed customer service mission statement are making a very positive impact.

We look forward to seeing you in Barbados, and thanks again for taking the time to read this review.

Best regards,

The Staff & Management
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We went in November and for the price expected first class service. The only thing number one about this is the rating. The staff was pretentious and unwilling to help. They do not tolerate loud noises, even laughter. The chain saws from the gardening crew was loud, There is no elevator and no one to help you with your bags. The air conditioner did not work in our friends room, it rained from the air conditioner and when asked if they could fix it, there response was to unplug it. I would not recommend this hotel or barbados as an island get away.

The worst was when they clean the plates off after meals, it all went into bird baths located right outside the open air restaurant. The created a haven for birds and flies, but a strong odor of decaying food for anyone there,

Room Tip: stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank eng67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorganBayStLucia, Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Please know that this guest stayed at The Club in November 2011, and their comments are no longer accurate.

We appreciate all our guest's feedback, but want you to know that the ownership of this resort changed hands in August 2012, and we have made significant improvements throughout the property.

Going forward, we look forward to providing you with an excellent Caribbean holiday experience in Barbados at The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,

The Staff & Management
The Club, Resort & Spa Barbados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador02, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank DESBrln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,090 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,778 reviews
8.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: £264 - £539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, West Indies, Travelbag, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing