We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I returned this morning from 8 days at the resort. I guess I would break it down into 3 section...I think the previous reviews have generally been very accurate.

THE GOOD
The management support is great, very switched on, speak to you remembering your name when you have questions. The food is pretty good on the whole but limited in variety and always seemed to be lukewarm when a la carte.
Dinner on the beach at the Sunset restaurant is great, relaxing and charming with a lovely view. The staff generally are lovely possibly with the exception of some of the reception staff.
The grounds are well kept and enjoyable; colourful and very clean. The pool is clean and inviting.
The beaches to either side of the hotel are lovely and the snorkelling was great in front of the hotel. Do take water shoes though as there are a lot of sea urchins.
The spa is fab, great Swedish massage and pedicure and very reasonable.
The best bit is no children under 16!

THE BAD
The first room we were allocated was shocking, small, dark, old, mouldy and with a broken shutter in the bathroom allowing a great deal of traffic noise in. The one we were moved to was adequate but dated and the bathroom was very basic and the shower without hot water on occasions. At times it feels like you need to escalate any requests to get things actioned but once you do, it gets sorted.
The entertainment is pretty dull but adequate, would be nice if it was more Caribbean in nature.

THE UGLY
The jet skiers touting their boats!!! They are down right dangerous and show little regard for the people swimming and snorkelling. Please sort this out before there is a tragedy. I know all beaches are public but a roped off swimming area is a MUST such as the one at Sandy Lane.
The sewage outlet just next to the water-sport office (even they advise not to swim near it)

Having said all that I was there with my son and we had 8 fabulous days. The island of Barbados and it's people is pure magic. We explored the island, top to bottom and east to west. It is just stunning and The Club was a good base, I would return but with a B&B option as it us such a waste not to go out exploring. Hire a car, grab a map and go! It is safe, fun and stunning.
We went on a catamaran day to the turtles with Seacluded, they were amazing and it was a special day indeed. Lunch at The Fish Pot is a must too.
A bit of TLC at The Club would make a huge difference. I would give the hotel a 3* rating but Barbados a 5*

Room Tip: Upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cteataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at The Club Barbados. We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback with us as a way to continusouly improve our guests' vacation experience. . We thank you for your very positive remarks especially those about our exceptionally gracious and attentive staff.

Since Elite Island Resorts took over management two years ago ago the Club has enjoyed myriad upgrades ranging from lobby, restaurant and lounge renovations, new gift shop, all new sports equipment, new sun loungers, new awnings and patios on courtyard ground floor rooms for further enjoyment of the outside environment as well as fresh paint on all exteriors and inside guest rooms. We are also in the process installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look.

The Club, Barbados provides a terrific all-inclusive Caribbean holiday, which hosts hundreds of very happy guests each week. We consistently earn excellent reviews among our guests for great dining, activities, and a wonderfully hospitable and gracious staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    562
    206
    57
    52
See reviews for
117
1,216
68
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I spent the first two weeks of June at this hotel which had been recommended by friends, we had a ground floor garden view room which we had requested which hadn't been modernised as some of the rooms have but was perfectly adequate and very clean. We did have a few problems while we were there but they were dealt with effectively and efficiently by the staff and one of the assistant managers who liked to be called "Mr Everything".

Despite the above incidents we had a lovely time at the Club mainly due to the good quality of the food and the excellent staff who were always very helpful and continually singing laughing and dancing and who are definitely the hotel's greatest asset, a special mention here for Cathy-Ann and Patricia in the restaurant who always managed to find my husband a table under a fan and Odwin, Keisha, Paulette and many others who waited on us so well.

The property is an adult only one which makes it very relaxing it is a compact hotel with lovely gardens which are kept beautifully and three swimming pools the biggest negative we felt was the distinct lack of umbrellas around the pool, if you did want one and you were up after 6-6.30 then you were out of luck this problem could easily be rectified with very little expense if the hotel invested in a lot more of these umbrellas.

The food is very good and there is a buffet on a Monday and Saturday the rest of the week it is waiter service with a good choice, lunch and breakfast are buffet with plenty of choice and if you needed anything special I'm sure if you asked you could get it. There is a Caribbean style restaurant upstairs called Enids which is also very good. The cocktails are very good and you could get Gordons gin as part of the all inclusive drinks but you had to ask for it.

The nearest town is Holetown which is a pleasant 10 minute walk and you can get the bus almost anywhere for 2 barbadian dollars and there is a bus stop outside the hotel. There is also a centre with a few shops opposite the hotel. We did a trip to the Caves, St Nicholas Abbey rum plantation and Bathsheba on the east coast and felt it was very interesting and only took half a day so you were back for lunch, Bathsheba was particularly lovely with it's rough Atlantic coast.

Would I recommend this hotel yes just make sure you know what to expect this is the Caribbean so expect just that, will I return most definitely.

Room Tip: If you book a sea view room don't automatically expect a balcony as some of the rooms don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel, our 1st visit to Barbados. Hotel was great, a beautiful location on the west coast, needs a little updating in places but our room looked recently painted, comfortable bed, good shower and hot water always plentiful. The pool area was lovely, kept beautifully clean all day by the pool staff, plenty of loungers, pools not very big but never more than 4 people in them. The beach area was nice, loads of trees for shade if you needed it. There were about 10 steps down to the sea which was fine for us but could be a problem for a less mobile guest. The food was excellent both in the buffet restaurant and in Enid's. All the staff are absolutely amazing people, so friendly and helpful, Rhea in the sunset restaurant always looked out for us, a lovely girl!! We went on an island tour with Amir the hotel's guide, very enjoyable morning. Overall a fab holiday, brilliant value for money, will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony overlooking the pool, nice and central but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Yet another great holiday!. This is about the 18th time at this hotel and 3rd with Elite, they have made a lot of small improvements and lots more to come.All the staff are good at their jobs and are very friendly and helpful. The food is amazing and lots of options. Rooms are good size. Gardens very well kept. Pools clean and lots of sun beds. The trips from the Hotel are great, Amir is a great tour guide, lots of fun!.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view, either garden, pool or sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbados16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Barbados 16,

Thank you so very much for your positive comments about your recent stay with us at The Club Barbados. We are thrilled that you are such loyal fans and we look forward to once again hosting you for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at The Club for only 3 nights and it was great. You couldn't ask for better staff. They were always willing to go above and beyond, even when I did miss my dinner reservations and decided to eat at 2200.....There was always a great selection of food even for the pickiest of eaters like myself.

Our room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom could use a makeover. With the beautiful weather, beaches, and the great people we meet, who needs to be inside anyway!

The pool area definitely needs music. That probably would be my only complaint. In the beach pool bar area, the speakers for the music was staticy so we played our own music and the people around us seemed to like it as well.

If you are looking for a resort with adults only, then The Club is it. We made memories and new friends that will last a lifetime. It was my first time to Barbados but it won't be my last!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floteeflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from Almond Beach Resort. we went on lots of free trips, swimming with turtles was grt. The people are so friendly and can not do enough for you. Food was great im a fussy eater but I had no problem finding something to eat. We used Barbados dollars but u can use usa dollars. check what dollars you r paying in as there is a difference. Lots to do on the beach snorkling, kayaks etc all free. For a small fee you can hire a jet ski. Sun beds on beach as well as around the pool. the only slight fault not enough sun umbrellas around pool. Entertainment every evening. cant wait to go back

Room Tip: we were in a sea view apartment but only had a Juliet balcony. you can get rooms with balcony so mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just had two weeks at the club and can recommend this hotel most highly. Wonderful location, excellent food, exceptionally friendly staff. Hotel and grounds well kept. Only slight criticism was that our room had not been modernised but was very clean and everything worked well. Would definitely return. The hotel was recommended to us by Virgin Holiday staff at lakeside who had visited it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms probably were the best but more expensive. Other rooms overlook pool and gardens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
9.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
14.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Property: The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing