We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimate relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ultimate relaxation”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Club Barbados was a wonderfully relaxing trip. It is the perfect choice for people looking to quiet down their lives for a couple days, get away from young kids and obligations to relax at the three sectioned pool or small beach. The property is quiet with free water sports. I would definitely recommend swimming with the turtles. There are some activities but not many, as the resort is more focused on your individual relaxation than doing lots of different things during the day.
One thing the website fails to really mention is all the tours the club Barbados offers through the resort! There is an additional cost, but the tours through the hotel are much better than traveling around the island with a separate company. The tours aren't over crowded making it hard to hear information and take you back for lunch. They even offer their driver/vehicle to you after normal hours to hit anything you might have missed.
The staff was super friendly and fun, knowing our names after the second day and happily laughing at all our odd requests and half glazed looks after long nights.The food was absolutely amazing with so many different options. We planned our days around our meals. The gym was a little small but well equipped. My one complaint would be in the water pressure in my room. I was all excited about the tub that even had a seat inside it until I went to turn on the faucet and realized it would take an hour for it to fill. The shower pressure was fine and always piping hot which was odd since the sink water wouldn't get hot. But besides those small anomalies the rooms were spotless and gave you a beautiful bajan view over the pool or ocean depending on your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at The Club, Barbados. We are glad that you had the ultimate relaxation at our resort.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission and our staff gets extremely high marks, especially from loyal guests like you, for their genuine warmth and attentiveness. We truly appreciate you for taking the moment to submit your review, for sending us some observations to improve on and for providing recommendations to our future guests.

We hope we have the pleasure to host you again soon!

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    548
    203
    56
    52
See reviews for
113
1,186
67
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

+ All water-sports free, including use of snorkelling equipment and unlimited water-skiing lessons.
+ Couldn't ever go hungry, food and snacks around the clock.
+ Bar staff very friendly and excellent selection of drinks and cocktails.
+ The food in Enid's restaurant was exceptional.
+ Beautiful scenery
+ Staff were very helpful

- Normal restaurant wasn't really to our liking - every lunch and 2 dinners a week were a buffet (breakfast too but that is expected). Buffet consisted of a lot of pizzas, pasta, chips and burgers. Whenever there was a local dish however it was excellent (West Indian curry or grilled fish for example)
- There isn't really much of a beach at the resort but 100m either side there are very nice beaches so this isn't a problem (for us at least).

Wherever you stay in Barbados make sure you make a trip to Oistins and go swimming with the turtles!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank rhiannonruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this property at the end of June for two weeks via BA holidays. Before we arrived and after reading a few negative reports on TA, my wife was a little worried. She needn't have been. Yes the room we were given was looking a little tired, but was adequate for our needs.
The food that is served in both restaurants was very nice, if not a tad repetitive after two weeks.

The staff were always very nice and helpful, evening entertainment is low key but pleasant. We were taught how to play a local board game, featuring some beans, outside Enid's restaurant. The on site security chap was a great teacher.!

Please remember to book your free boat trip that goes along the coast, we almost missed out on it.! Snorkelling is very good at this property and gets better if you venture to the beach to the right of the hotel. There is a sunken wreck just off shore where lots of fish congregate when the tour boats turn up.!!

The three swimming pools are nice, it was just a pity that the jacuzzi was broken while we were there, but just as we were leaving a new pump arrived so hopefully it is now working correctly.

Would we return here for another holiday? yes we would, but had we have paid top prices then that's a different story.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to The Club Barbados. We are delighted that you and your wife were pleased with our resort, activities, dining options and services. We appreciate your comments as it serves a way for us to continuously improve the vacation experience for all our guests.

Since Elite Island Resorts took over management almost two years ago, The Club has had a myriad of upgrades and renovations throughout the resort, and is also in the process of installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look. Although the issue has been resolved, we do apologize for the inconvenience of not having a functioning jacuzzi during your stay.

We host hundreds of guests every week who overwhelmingly enjoy all aspects of the resort especially our gracious and hospitable staff, so it makes us happy that you and your enjoyed it as well.

We do hope when considering a sun and fun-filled Caribbean vacation we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I had read some of the poor reviews of this hotel and was a little worried, but having spent a very pleasant and relaxing week at The Club in July, I definitely plan to return. My room was lovely, and not tired at all. Perhaps the bathroom could use a little updating, but it was perfectly functional and clean. I had a very comfortable bed, great aircon, and a ceiling fan too. Plenty of wardrobe space, drawers and hangers. I had a pool view room and it was very quiet indeed. My room had clearly been refurbished - perhaps some of the complaints were about un-refurbished rooms, or from people who prefer modern, minimalist decor to the comfortable, colonial style you'll find here.

The pools are kept very clean and there were plenty of sunloungers around them, including some in a pleasant garden area just behind the pools. But we spent most of our time on the 'beach' - actually a sandy area just above the ocean which they fill with sunloungers each morning. There is shade available from trees if you want it, and you can swim in the sea if you go down some steps. But there's a fabulous and almost deserted beach with great swimming if you walk past the bar and watersports hut and then a couple of villas. Or at low tide you can walk the other way and swim at Sandy Lane next door. Best of all is the peace and quiet you get at the beach. Admittedly the hotel was only half-full when we stayed, but I loved the fact I could lie in peace and quiet, reading a book or listening to the waves, without being disturbed by music or silly games or the entertainment crew as you are at some all-inclusives. No swim-up pool bars to attract the noisy, party crowd here! The Club is the antithesis of a Sandals resort in Jamaica really.

The food was very good. A little more choice on the a la carte menu at the main Sunset restaurant would be good, and I found some of the buffets a little short on choice sometimes, but I think that's because they were cutting back on wastage as the hotel was so quiet. I liked Enids restaurant very much too. The only disappointment was the awful wine - only one white and one red was available all inclusive. The white was undrinkable and if you complained the staff just tried to sell you the expensive stuff from the wine list. We ended up buying wine from the supermarket nearby and returning to our room to refill our glasses! Great cocktails and other drinks though - we had no complaints about those.

All the staff were wonderful - really friendly and helpful and definitely gave the impression they were enjoying their jobs. The whole resort has a really friendly and relaxed atmosphere. It's easy to walk into Holetown if you want shops or a wider choice of restaurants and bars. Another nice surprise was the free wifi which worked seamlessly both in my room and all around the resort, even on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was extremely disappointed in this resort. I don't know if it is I'm used to staying in really nice upscale resorts and hotels or if The Club was just that bad. I think both!

First, the rooms were outdated and basic. The food was terrible. The service was nonexistent and the staff rude--in fact one staff member told us that he quit another local resort because they expected the staff to provide better service there! It was the worse experience ever. Not to mention it was unbelievably quiet with a huge senior citizen population who prefer the quiet as indicated by all the signs posted in trees that said "Quiet Please." I mean who goes to an island and doesn't expect to or want to hear island music as you float in the pool or relax on the beach. AND THE FLIES WERE RELENTLESS!!!!

Please stay away from this resort and don't be fooled by the pics and these weird reviews rating it excellent. There was nothing excellent about this resort except the ride away from it to a catamaran or other off premise excursion.

I hope this helps!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at The Club Barbados. We sincerely appreciate our guests’ feedback as an opportunity for us to consistently improve and exceed guests' expectations, however, we feel that this review is inaccurate and unfair.

We carefully review our guest surveys on online forums and are pleased to report that the overwhelmingly majority of our guests love The Club, its dining options, activities and most especially the gracious, hospitable and engaging staff. Our staff is our greatest asset and is highlighted as being outstanding in almost all reviews, and they are often recognized for their hard work ensuring that all our guests enjoy a wonderful Caribbean holiday.

Since Elite Island Resorts took over management almost two years ago, The Club has enjoyed a myriad of upgrades and renovations throughout the resort, and is also in the process of installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look.

The Club, Barbados provides a terrific all-inclusive Caribbean holiday, which hosts hundreds of very happy guests each week.

We look forward to hosting you soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent a very relaxing 12 days here at the end of May and can echo all the generally favourable comments in the reviews. The hotel does require some TLC to the fabric of the place but this is just a minor point compared to the many positives.

We stayed in a fourth floor ocean-view superior room that didn’t have a balcony terrace but did have sliding French windows that gave a similar effect. If a sit-out balcony is important then it’s best to clarify this on making the booking. We couldn’t fault the cleanliness although the bathroom could have benefited from a renovation. The only slight negative was the chorus of whistling frogs throughout the night which took some getting used to.

The guests were mostly of an older age group but there was a wide range from early twenties upwards and it certainly didn’t feel like a retirement home for the sun-worshiper. During our stay I’d say that the mix was 80% British with more North Americans appearing for a weekend break. Overall the resort had a good buzz but with a polite and relaxed feel.

We chose to spend our time down on the sandy terrace area that overlooks the shore line. As people say, there is not much of a sandy beach but you can still go in for a dip and also snorkel around the man-made “reef”. The Beach Bar opened at 10am and we felt that the service here had the edge over the main bar near the pool area.

In general we found the hotel staff to be helpful and friendly although we got the feeling that the front-line workers behind the bars and serving in the restaurant were over-worked at times. Also, we saw some instances where the management team were getting onto some of the staff for trivial matters.

The food was consistently as good as everyone else has said and the table service for evening meals was a nice touch. We visited Enid’s once but were more happier with the selection down in the Sunset Restaurant. The evening dress code was in no-way excessive but do be aware that the management will enforce their rules when required. As an example, a youngish crowd appeared during our stay and made the front of the Beach Bar their own. They had a small but loud sound system and made sure that everyone else in the vicinity got the “benefit” of their taste in music. To our delight they were gone by the next day, presumably to a resort that catered more for their type.

Some people have mentioned that they felt unduly hassled by the beach vendors. Although they do walk through the beach area plying their wares, they are not allowed into the main hotel grounds and have to stick to the edge of the beach area. If you do not want to be bothered then simply sit a few rows away from the front and you will be fine. In fact, we ended up arranging a private island tour via Jason who comes through selling the Turtle Boat trips. If you are interested then he is the guy with the highly distinctive hair all bunched up. Ask for Rocky and you will enjoy a relaxed half day with a friendly and knowledgeable local driver. Rocky asked us what things we wanted to see and arranged the route to take-in everything, even a last minute stop at Orchid World when we saw it sign-posted.

We chose to spend our time down on the sandy terrace area that overlooks the shore line. As people say, there is not much of a sandy beach but you can still go in for a dip and also snorkel around the man-made “reef”. The Beach Bar opened at 10am and we felt that the service here had the edge over the main bar near the pool area.

The hotel does have its own quirks which may come as a surprise to some but you soon get used to them. You have to make your reservation for the evening meal in the morning but this is understandable because of the table service arrangement. (Self-service buffet is on Mondays and Fridays while we were there) There is a “lock” of 300BD$ put on your credit card when you arrive but this is similar to having to provide a credit card when checking it at other hotels. On a plus note, they do not issue wrist straps which is unusual for an All Inclusive resort.

We would definitely go back again and the fact there were so many repeat visitors during our stay speaks volumes for this hotel.

Room Tip: If a balcony is important then confirm this at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barbara_and_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our 1st visit to Barbados and what a great stay we had...this is an adult only resort...lovely clean hotel with very friendly staff couldn't fought then...nothing was to much trouble, whatever you asks for you got...the only problem was Steve on the beach best to steer clear.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaandmark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
14.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Property: The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, West Indies, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing