We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks in the Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Almoradi, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2 weeks in the Caribbean”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our second week after a week in St Lucia. The hotel staff were very friendly. There was lots of delicious food which was changing while we were there to a waitress/waiter service. Just a buffet breakfast. The entertainment was poor and the entertainment reps needed a bit of get up and go. Daily activities were on a board but I never saw any of them take place. The room was comfortable but needed a bit of updating. It missed the little touches to it that we had in St Lucia like different flowers on the bed. Wifi is free all over the hotel. There of plenty of free wáter sport activities. There is a duty free shopping centre in Holetown just a 10 minute walk and there are duty free designer shops across the road as well but you will need plenty of money. Given a choice I would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stokielynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Club, Barbados for your second week in the Caribbean. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on our resort as we find that to be an insightful way to continuously improve our guests' experience. Although we are glad that you enjoyed several aspects of our resort, it's disconcerting that we were not able to meet your expectations with our entertainment and accommodations.

Since Elite Island Resorts took over management almost two years ago, The Club has had a myriad of upgrades and renovations throughout the resort, and is also in the process of installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look.

The Club, Barbados provides a terrific all-inclusive Caribbean holiday, which hosts hundreds of very happy guests each week. We consistently earn excellent reviews among our guests for great dining, activities, and a wonderfully hospitable and gracious staff.

We welcome the opportunity to host you again soon with hopes to meet your expectations moving forward.

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    566
    207
    59
    52
See reviews for
119
1,223
68
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Club was great! there is ALWAYS a bar open so you can always get something to drink, they serve food from like 7am till 9:30pm (when dinner ends) so no worries there. Its located next to a great duty free store. That was awesome for souvenirs, and my wife and I didn't know about the dress code for dinners, so we got her a pair of shoes for dining. THE RESORT DOES NOT HAVE A 'NORMAL' BEACH. The water front is rocky and has a raised terrace with sand and plenty of chairs for sun bathing. To get into the water you needed to take stairs down into the ocean. But a cool part of the resort's beach is that after about 30 yds your swimming over a reef! with all kinds of colorful fish! so definitely take advantage of the free snorkeling that the resort provides, I literally was out over that reef for 3 hours over two days just looking around by myself :-)

Ok back to the beach, it is important to say that ALL beaches on Barbados are public, so pick any beach on the island you want to visit and you can go there for free! Also Sandy Lane is right next door (to the left if your facing the ocean), so you can always go onto 'their' beach (the beach in front of the resort) and live it up with the rich people! :-D

Also, don't skip out on the resort sponsored day events, they are all great! my favorite was a tour of the northern part of island. Our tour guide was great, we saw some amazing sights, learned some very cool history, like the origins of rum :-) and by far was worth every penny spent.

Lastly when I went (remember my first time) there was a sign at the airport, giving suggested taxi fairs for different places (The Club is just short of Holetown) my suggested fair was $58 Barbados, and was charged twice $80 Barbados (when I found out I was unpleased) so check the fairs and agree to a price before you get in.

Room Tip: The first floor ocean view rooms are awkward because random people laying on the beach can look righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting your feedback regarding your stay. We are so happy that you chose The Club, Barbados, marking it as your first-time Caribbean resort! It pleases us to know that you were enjoyed our resort, activities, dining options, services and the snorkeling!

We host hundreds of guests every week who overwhelmingly enjoy all aspects of the resort, especially our gracious and hospitable staff, so it makes us happy that you had a memorable time.

We do hope when considering a fun-filled Caribbean vacation we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I would go back every year for my wedding anniversary. As I said 'Jade' made our honeymoon perfect, he took the time out just to ask us everyday how we were and if we needed anything. Everyone was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Club Barbados was a wonderfully relaxing trip. It is the perfect choice for people looking to quiet down their lives for a couple days, get away from young kids and obligations to relax at the three sectioned pool or small beach. The property is quiet with free water sports. I would definitely recommend swimming with the turtles. There are some activities but not many, as the resort is more focused on your individual relaxation than doing lots of different things during the day.
One thing the website fails to really mention is all the tours the club Barbados offers through the resort! There is an additional cost, but the tours through the hotel are much better than traveling around the island with a separate company. The tours aren't over crowded making it hard to hear information and take you back for lunch. They even offer their driver/vehicle to you after normal hours to hit anything you might have missed.
The staff was super friendly and fun, knowing our names after the second day and happily laughing at all our odd requests and half glazed looks after long nights.The food was absolutely amazing with so many different options. We planned our days around our meals. The gym was a little small but well equipped. My one complaint would be in the water pressure in my room. I was all excited about the tub that even had a seat inside it until I went to turn on the faucet and realized it would take an hour for it to fill. The shower pressure was fine and always piping hot which was odd since the sink water wouldn't get hot. But besides those small anomalies the rooms were spotless and gave you a beautiful bajan view over the pool or ocean depending on your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at The Club, Barbados. We are glad that you had the ultimate relaxation at our resort.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission and our staff gets extremely high marks, especially from loyal guests like you, for their genuine warmth and attentiveness. We truly appreciate you for taking the moment to submit your review, for sending us some observations to improve on and for providing recommendations to our future guests.

We hope we have the pleasure to host you again soon!

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

+ All water-sports free, including use of snorkelling equipment and unlimited water-skiing lessons.
+ Couldn't ever go hungry, food and snacks around the clock.
+ Bar staff very friendly and excellent selection of drinks and cocktails.
+ The food in Enid's restaurant was exceptional.
+ Beautiful scenery
+ Staff were very helpful

- Normal restaurant wasn't really to our liking - every lunch and 2 dinners a week were a buffet (breakfast too but that is expected). Buffet consisted of a lot of pizzas, pasta, chips and burgers. Whenever there was a local dish however it was excellent (West Indian curry or grilled fish for example)
- There isn't really much of a beach at the resort but 100m either side there are very nice beaches so this isn't a problem (for us at least).

Wherever you stay in Barbados make sure you make a trip to Oistins and go swimming with the turtles!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank rhiannonruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this property at the end of June for two weeks via BA holidays. Before we arrived and after reading a few negative reports on TA, my wife was a little worried. She needn't have been. Yes the room we were given was looking a little tired, but was adequate for our needs.
The food that is served in both restaurants was very nice, if not a tad repetitive after two weeks.

The staff were always very nice and helpful, evening entertainment is low key but pleasant. We were taught how to play a local board game, featuring some beans, outside Enid's restaurant. The on site security chap was a great teacher.!

Please remember to book your free boat trip that goes along the coast, we almost missed out on it.! Snorkelling is very good at this property and gets better if you venture to the beach to the right of the hotel. There is a sunken wreck just off shore where lots of fish congregate when the tour boats turn up.!!

The three swimming pools are nice, it was just a pity that the jacuzzi was broken while we were there, but just as we were leaving a new pump arrived so hopefully it is now working correctly.

Would we return here for another holiday? yes we would, but had we have paid top prices then that's a different story.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to The Club Barbados. We are delighted that you and your wife were pleased with our resort, activities, dining options and services. We appreciate your comments as it serves a way for us to continuously improve the vacation experience for all our guests.

Since Elite Island Resorts took over management almost two years ago, The Club has had a myriad of upgrades and renovations throughout the resort, and is also in the process of installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look. Although the issue has been resolved, we do apologize for the inconvenience of not having a functioning jacuzzi during your stay.

We host hundreds of guests every week who overwhelmingly enjoy all aspects of the resort especially our gracious and hospitable staff, so it makes us happy that you and your enjoyed it as well.

We do hope when considering a sun and fun-filled Caribbean vacation we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I had read some of the poor reviews of this hotel and was a little worried, but having spent a very pleasant and relaxing week at The Club in July, I definitely plan to return. My room was lovely, and not tired at all. Perhaps the bathroom could use a little updating, but it was perfectly functional and clean. I had a very comfortable bed, great aircon, and a ceiling fan too. Plenty of wardrobe space, drawers and hangers. I had a pool view room and it was very quiet indeed. My room had clearly been refurbished - perhaps some of the complaints were about un-refurbished rooms, or from people who prefer modern, minimalist decor to the comfortable, colonial style you'll find here.

The pools are kept very clean and there were plenty of sunloungers around them, including some in a pleasant garden area just behind the pools. But we spent most of our time on the 'beach' - actually a sandy area just above the ocean which they fill with sunloungers each morning. There is shade available from trees if you want it, and you can swim in the sea if you go down some steps. But there's a fabulous and almost deserted beach with great swimming if you walk past the bar and watersports hut and then a couple of villas. Or at low tide you can walk the other way and swim at Sandy Lane next door. Best of all is the peace and quiet you get at the beach. Admittedly the hotel was only half-full when we stayed, but I loved the fact I could lie in peace and quiet, reading a book or listening to the waves, without being disturbed by music or silly games or the entertainment crew as you are at some all-inclusives. No swim-up pool bars to attract the noisy, party crowd here! The Club is the antithesis of a Sandals resort in Jamaica really.

The food was very good. A little more choice on the a la carte menu at the main Sunset restaurant would be good, and I found some of the buffets a little short on choice sometimes, but I think that's because they were cutting back on wastage as the hotel was so quiet. I liked Enids restaurant very much too. The only disappointment was the awful wine - only one white and one red was available all inclusive. The white was undrinkable and if you complained the staff just tried to sell you the expensive stuff from the wine list. We ended up buying wine from the supermarket nearby and returning to our room to refill our glasses! Great cocktails and other drinks though - we had no complaints about those.

All the staff were wonderful - really friendly and helpful and definitely gave the impression they were enjoying their jobs. The whole resort has a really friendly and relaxed atmosphere. It's easy to walk into Holetown if you want shops or a wider choice of restaurants and bars. Another nice surprise was the free wifi which worked seamlessly both in my room and all around the resort, even on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,650 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
14.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,515 reviews
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Property: The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, West Indies, Travelbag, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing