We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very disappointed😔 Mosquitoville....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I was very excited about going to Barbados for my birthday celebration, August 2014. If it wasn't for the few ppl we met, and some great staff, this trip would have been worse.
For the amount we paid for an all adult, all-inclusive trip, this was way way overpriced.
The hotel is old and way way overpriced: the room consisted of old and outdated furniture, the jacuzzi tub didn't work, the refrigerator didn't work, the mattress was old and lumpy, the bedding was scratchy, towels and face towels were hard and scratchy, the air conditioner was noisy as hell, the bathroom had mildew on sink and tub, and always felt unclean, even after taking a shower,
Restaurant: there was only two restaurants and they served the same menu each day,, the alcoholic beverages was 95% non-alcoholic, no entertainment, no night life other than the same two women singing the same songs each night.
Pool and Beach: two pools consisted of unkept water, a whirlpool that was supposed to be hot and relaxing, but it was COLD. There was no beach, and the MOSQUITOS was the absolute worst. We couldn't get away from them. We spent seven days spraying the most unpleasant bug repellant and it never worked. We sprayed our room non stop with repellant, and some staff members suggested wiping our arms and legs daily with Rum, yes Rum.
Staff: Thank goodness some ppl we met and some staff, made the trip bearable for the most part.
I would never go back here unless it was a free ticket, the hotel had a MAJOR renovation, and the MOSQUITOS go North, way NORTH.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Vetto3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

We wish to thank this reviewer for taking the time to submit their comments regarding their recent stay at The Club and also appreciate you taking the time to read our response.

We value when our guests share their opinions and concerns with us as we take all guest feedback seriously. We are disheartened to know that this reviewer was left underwhelmed with their experience, disappointed that we were not able to match expectations, and apologize if felt we did not deliver a memorable birthday celebration as anticipated.

Our resort management carefully reviews all guest feedback and suggestions, and will take appropriate measures to improve future guest's experience, however, we encourage all of our guests to contact resort management with any issues or comments while on property so that we may address them swiftly so that a comfortable experience can be achieved.

We wish to accurately state that since Elite Island Resorts took over management almost two years ago, The Club has enjoyed myriad upgrades ranging from lobby, restaurant and lounge renovations, new gift shop, all new sports equipment, new sun loungers, new awnings and patios on courtyard ground floor rooms for further enjoyment of the outside environment as well as fresh paint on all exteriors and inside guest rooms. We are also in the process installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look.

Regarding mosquitos, we are in the Caribbean region which is prone to seasonal rains, humidity and an increase in mosquitos, however, like every hotel and commercial company in tropical paradises, we do take proactive measures to avoid any nuisance to guests and to make our guests completely comfortable. This includes professionals who regularly maintain the grounds as well having insect repellant readily available at our gift shop for guests since we are aware that individuals react differently to these situations.

We are thankful that our staff was highly recognized in this review and pleased to report that the overwhelmingly majority of our guests love The Club, especially the gracious, hospitable and engaging staff. Our staff is our greatest asset and is highlighted as being outstanding in almost all reviews, and they are often recognized for their hard work ensuring that all our guests enjoy a wonderful Caribbean holiday.

We hope that you will consider staying with us at The Club, Barbados when looking for a terrific adults-only, all-inclusive Caribbean getaway.

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

stayed here in may 2014 where we decided on a last minute wedding lol, Paulette did an excellent job in organizing everything for us, we had a lovely day to remember and a wonderful honeymoon afterwards. The hotel, restaurants, bars and facilities were top notch and would recommend it to anyone.The food was all excellent quality from breakfast to dinner, far too much choice, you would need a month here to try everything on the menus. For us the rum cocktails were the best and i did manage to try all of the rums they had to offer, very delicious. All the staff from the management , waitresses,cooks, bar, gardeners, cleaners, maintenance, and sports guys and girls were all fantastic and friendly giving us an enjoyable holiday to remember.
We will return sometime in the near future, thanks to you all, Paul and Samantha Cozens

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank paulandsamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

A great little resort. Not a huge resort with lots to do. A good place to relax. The resort has no beach but as all beaches are public you can walk 300 metres to a deserted beach. It does have a beach terrace and access to the sea so i would find it hard to find a fault. The pools are leisure pools so dont book if you are in Olympic training. The food is good. Breakfast is the same most days but evening meals are nice. Staff were all very friendly. Room was always cleaned to a great standard. Free water sports was great. If you want a relaxing holiday then this is for you. I have been to many of the islands and resorts. I would say this was as chilled as you can get in this part of the world

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for choosing The Club, Barbados as your vacation getaway with friends, and for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our resort, dining options, and activities, and that overall, you found it to be an ideal place to relax.

We are pleased to report that the overwhelmingly majority of our guests love The Club, its dining options, activities and most especially the gracious, hospitable and engaging staff. Our staff is our greatest asset and is highlighted as being outstanding in almost all reviews, and they are often recognized for their hard work ensuring that all our guests enjoy a wonderful Caribbean holiday.

Again, thank you for your review, and hope that we may once again host you and your friends in the near future!

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have been three years running to The Club. It has everything we want, from the welcome when you check in to the excellent service up to the time you depart. The all inclusive package gives you all the benefits without going out. The Sunset lounge and Restaurant has a calm and us rushed feeling to it. Carmel, Sophia and Cathy-Ann offer a warm welcome to the restaurant, and their waiting staff are eager please. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The pool area is fantastic. The sun terrace and bar are our favourite place, especially when Cheryl is behind the bar!! The access to Sandy Lane beach can be difficult but worth the wade through the sea to get there. The beach to the right is easy to access through the garden, and is well worth the walk. The water sports team are great, especially if you like to water ski...Rosko is the man to see. We will go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are just that, as are the garden rooms. The mini suites, (our choice) are lovely. Sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Barbados and we chose to stay at the club, and we were delighted with our choice. Such a beautiful location and although no beach of its own, there's plenty places very close by. They have areas you can lounge just out the front overlooking the ocean, which is just breathtaking. The menu at the sunset lounge was great, a good selection each night and was great value and the good was of quality. Lots of water activities such as paddle boarding, kayaking and snorkelling including in all inclusive which I think was really great. Lots of fun activities such as swimming with the turtles, which is a must do!! Would come back to this resort as we found them so friendly and helpful :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JMStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks in August and had a fab time! The staff were lovely, room great and guests wonderful! First time in Caribbean and we would return. Although no beach to put sunbeds on (you can swim from waterfront), you can walk to sandy lane beach to left and a lovely deserted beach to right. Pool area great although we spent time on beach. In the evening we would chill out with a glass of wine at the seafront while Mike the security guard would throw bread into the water to attract the fish-wonderful! Go on the local reggae reggae buses to see the island great experience. We got home and found websites that said it was unsafe and we were gobsmacked as the locals were so friendly and helpful. Although we found the evenings quiet as they just had singers rather than entertainment eg dancing shows.fire eaters, and the pool bar closed early (we were off season) as it was adults only we met so many people and always ended up in the piano bar which was a very sociable place! We have met friends and passed on emails. Go to Oistens fish fry on a Friday and Harbour Lights on Wednesday-again bad and good reports - for the tourists thou we had a great time. Dont hire a car its expensive either do buses like we did or hire out a taxi man who will take you wherever you want. Enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My wife and I travelled to the club resort for our honeymoon. We stayed for two weeks and had a garden view room.

We arrived at around 9pm and greeted by a cocktail on arrival, and promptly checked in to our room by the receptionist. We were asked if we were celebrating anything special as to which I responded by saying it's our honeymoon, and my wife's birthday. We witnessed other couples being greeted with complimentary champaign at dinner for special occasions. We weren't.

The room itself was ok. Very spacious but tired looking, although it was spotless. The cleaners do a good job.

The food and drink was fantastic. Plenty of variety with BBQ night on a Saturday being the standout. The steak and fish is to die for. A special mention has to go to Odesa the waitress and Elvis in the bar.

The pools are fantastic with plenty of beds to go round. The adults only aspect is fantastic and very relaxing at the pool due to this, although the daytime activities are non existent. A special mention has to go to Jade for his humour and constantly brightening up everyone's day at the poolside. A real asset to the hotel.

The sea views are fantastic with lots of chairs lining the sea front allowing you to witness sunset. I can't understand why people are moaning about there being no hotel beach. There are beaches either side of the hotel and are only a short walk away.

The water sports are fantastic with the speedboat trips and kayaking being favourites. You are able to hire jet skis from an independent vender at the beach for around $50.

All in all I had a fantastic visit to Barbados.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Scott,

Thank you for choosing The Club, Barbados as your honeymoon destination, and for taking the moment to submit your review. Congratulations again on your recent nuptials.

It pleases us to know that you enjoyed our dining and bar options, water sports, activities, pool and beaches, and overall had a fantastic time.

Since Elite Island Resorts took over management almost two years ago, The Club has enjoyed various upgrades ranging from lobby, restaurant and lounge renovations, new gift shop, all new sports equipment, and we are also in the process installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look.

We appreciate the insights you have shared with our potential guests reading this review, and we do hope when considering a fun-filled Caribbean vacation, we look forward to welcoming you again soon, hopefully for your first year anniversary!

Kind regards,
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,811 reviews
1.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: £263 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, West Indies, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing