We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at WSBV” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Beach Condos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Sands Beach Condos
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at WSBV”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a great stay at White Sands Beach Villa K in Feb. 2013. Condo was as described, very roomy, full of amenities, very large balcony right on the beach. Wi-Fi, cable worked fine. There were detailed instructions to everything and there was an extensive library of movies although we didn’t use them. The location was very convenient with Dover market across the street and taxis readily available nearby. We scheduled taxis and tours and were amazed by the punctuality as we were never left waiting. We didn’t feel the need to have a car. It is a 15 minute walk to the restaurants at the other end of the Gap or a $10 taxi van.
The beach was never crowded and watching the surfing school students from next door was very entertaining. The ocean bottom is rocky with coral out front but it was smooth and not sharp and didn’t cause us a problem. Dover beach which does have a sandier ocean floor was easily accessible next door. Speaking to other tourists about their accommodations confirmed what a great value WSBV is. Check-in and check-out were very smooth and the property managers are friendly and very helpful. Phil the owner was easy to work with and very responsive.
Having visited many Caribbean Islands we found the people of Barbados to be the friendliest and most helpful. We ate at Pisces, Harlequins and Southern Palms enjoying all. The Saturday night buffet at Southern Palms was a great meal upon arrival with no dinner plans. We did three tours, (1) all day taxi tour of the island, (2) powerboat snorkel adventure with the sea turtles and shipwreck snorkel with beach time and lunch, (3) zipline and 4x4 tour. All were good and well worth the time and expense. I would definitely recommend WSBV and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units are ocean front. One bedroom are side building ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OBW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
29
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay in a 2 bed apartment, very good quality with all the necessary appliances , dishwasher, washer dyer, laundering etc, side of building but fab view of the sea from balcony, very spacious rooms, spotless and maid comes every 2/3 days, towels provided, close to supermarket and bars, nice secluded beach but rocks in the sea, beach bar at tyrones who are very friendly and sociable, small pool not really for swimming more plunging, sun beds provided but you need to put them on the beach yourself which isn't a big deal but would be nice if you could be assisted with them, recommended for quality apartments, front view even better.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssh336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This place is nice, period. Spend extra for the 2 bedrooms they have the best views. Gabrielle is a nice lady and George is cool too but opinionated. That said this is not a hotel so be prepared, also where it's located is not the best, the beach is rocky and has sand traps. The street side is not great either but to be honest the gap itself is not that great. If you want resort style feel go to the crane or oceans two. But this villa is world class once your there and a nice beach is a 5 minute walk on the street in either direction. If you have to stay at the gap this is place

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bg21664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Staff – A+
I made my reservation over the phone and received an email confirmation very shortly after. On our arrival, we were given a tour of the property, and explained how to use all of the British appliances that were not familiar at all to us. Housekeeping came 2x/week during our stay, which was nice for this style of hotel.

Room – B
We stayed in a 2BR oceanfront room. It was extremely spacious, and there was plenty of furniture inside and outside to accommodate a group. There were plenty of towels provided. The kitchen had plenty of dishes and flatware. Some toiletries and cleaning supplies were provided, but you will need to either bring or procure some locally. The TV had a good variety of US channels. The view was incredible and you’re close enough to very clearly hear the ocean at night.

I imagine there is variation between the rooms, but our room was missing was some fixtures (soap dish, toilet paper rod). Also, the effect of the salt water on the metal was beginning to show in some spots. I didn’t care for the scent of the potpourri in the room.

Even with the introduction to the appliances, it took a lot of time to get used to them. There was a smoke detector in the kitchen close enough to the electric range that I was very nervous that I was going to set it off each time I cooked.

I ran a speed test on the free in-room wi-fi and saw speeds of 2Mbps down/0.5Mbps up. We did have some issues with signal strength from the router.

Amenities – B
WSB is not a resort, and in that sense the amenities are very good. There is plenty of covered parking right next to the elevator lobby. Building access is well controlled, entry is by key fob, and nighttime security patrols the exterior. The beach in front of the hotel is small and has limited shade, but there are lots of beach chairs available for you to use. It seemed to get crowded during the day. There is a small pool, though it does not have a view of the ocean. An outdoor shower is next to the pool so you can rinse off before heading back into the hotel. Bathrooms are available on the lower level so you don’t have to walk all the way from the beach to your room.

Location – A
WSB is close enough to the action, without being right in the middle of it. A much larger and busier beach is next door. There are lots of dining and nightlife options a 10-15 minute walk away at St. Lawrence Gap, as well as a few restaurants and a convenience store just outside the property. We explored all sides of the island so the location was a decent mid-point that didn’t require us spending the entire day away from the hotel.

Value – A
For the price of some of the moderate accommodations, we got a view, a kitchen, plenty of room to stretch out, and the peace of a smaller building with fewer guests.

Overall – A
If I were to return to Barbados, I would stay at WSB again without hesitation.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyMcSuperFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I went to Barbados to help my friend celebrate her birthday and choose White Sands a wonderful decision. The units are very spacious more like renting a condo than a room at a hotel. Beach was not crowded, water has moderate waves but nothing too crazy even on red flag days. Having a full kitchen was great since we went on IOU fishing tours and caught a 35-40lb king fish so that helped with the grocery bill. Store in walking distance but better one is Trimart just a 10 min drive. Definitely rent a car as there is parking available. Beds were very comfortable and unit had a combo washer/dryer so you put the clothes in and 3-4 hours later you come back to clean dry clothes. The room is not cleaned daily but you can request additional cleaning days. I will definitely be revisiting White Sands when I come back to Barbados.

Room Tip: Beach front are the best. Also, go to Sanbury plantation for Sunday brunch, really good food and gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovaScotia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Spent a few days here in the spring and I agree with the other reviewers in terms of the lovely accommodations.

Pros
- great rooms, clean surroundings, spacious
- really nice staff (and helpful)
- we liked the shaded pool - it was nice to be able to get out of the sun

Cons
-for us, the location wasn't the best since music from the gap could be clearly heard through closed windows, airconditioner and white noise maker...it ended as late as 11:30 on a Friday night

We were in a one bedroom - on the top floor and I think all of the one bedrooms face the street with side views of the ocean. The noise may be something to keep in mind and if we went back, we would pay extra for bedrooms we don't need to have a better (and quieter) view.

But, in all, this was a good place, we'd recommend it to others but would explain the above.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We just returned from a great week at WSB Villas. We stayed in a one bedroom (Villa T), and found it very comfortable and quite luxurious. The building itself is very impressive and new looking. The room had everything you could ask for- a big bedroom with a large comfy bed, two bathrooms with showers (I think one had a tub- that was hers), an attractive living room, modern tv that most definitely stayed in the 'off' position for the duration of our stay, a dining area that could seat about 6 to 8 people, a fully equipped modern kitchen, and a washer/dryer. All the appliances were very new looking Italian Smeg models. A bit tricky for Americans totally unaccustomed to the symbols, but Cyrus very patiently explained how everything worked in great detail. The room was spotlessly clean, had a great a.c. system and the showers had excellent water pressure. The room had also had a good sized balcony and although you could see the ocean to the right, the balcony actually looked out over the back of the Salt Ash Hotel and its parking area, and also to the alley leading to the street. I was never promised a room looking over the beach but it was still hard not to be a bit disappointed with the view. Unlike our room, some of the one bedrooms do face the ocean. I had booked several months in advance and asked for a room with a view, but perhaps they were unavailable- although I did see what appeared to be short term stays arriving and departing from Villa U while we were there.

There is a lovely little beach behind the hotel with nice waves suitable for surfing or boogie boarding. One drawback is that it is very rocky in the shallows and you have to go out about twenty yards to reach the soft sand. The hotel does make loungers available for most of the day, but if you want one to sit and watch the sunset, you will be out of luck as they lock them up pretty early. Alternatively, Tyrone's Bar next door (at the Salt Ash) seemed to be a popular spot to watch the sunsets, but we were a little turned off our first day by a mentally unstable local who appeared to be a regular at the bar and was leering at and muttering about my girlfiriend and every other female within view. This would be a great spot for a nice beach bar, but Tyrone's is a bit rough, to be perfectly frank. The beach is isolated and not in a spot where you can take a long leisurely stroll, but there are much longer beaches within a five minute walk on the street.

WSB is really well situated at the quiet end of the Gap, meaning you can reach all the bars and restaurants within a five to ten minute stroll without dealing with any of the noise from the night time revelry. Do be prepared to be approached by loudmouthed hustlers as soon as you walk on to the street in front of the hotel. Scotty's and the Dover Market are right in front of the hotel and are both great places to get an honest to goodness Bajan snack, but you will be pestered on your way in and out. "Hey Big Boy, want some Charlie?!?!?!" "Hey Bad Boy, want to to shake a leg?!?!?" "Hey!!! Need a taxi?" Holy cow, give me a break. I'm not sure why they feel that it is appropriate to call a middle aged man 'boy", I'm pretty sure they would not be too happy if I addressed them as "boy", but whatever. I'm surprised the local business owners don't pressure the authorities to crack down on this, but maybe there are some drug tourists that come here for that. All in all, the Bajans are super nice friendly people with a great sense of humor, but I would be lying if I did not write that the panhandling around the hotel can be really annoying.(but never menacing)

It is worth noting that they have EXCELLENT security at the hotel. There is security there pretty much all the time, the lobbies have a great lock out system and the garage has plenty of parking and felt very secure.

Overall, White Sand Beach Villas represents an excellent value- luxury accomodations at a reasonable price in a great beachfront location. The St Lawrence Gap is a good place to situate yourself for exploring the island. You are fairly close for driving to everything in the day and have plenty of nightlife without having to get in your car at night. Make sure you go to the Oistins Fish Fry on Friday night, take a Catamaran cruise with Elegance, go to Crane Beach, Bathsheba, and don't waste time visiting Bridgetown. Have a great time in Barbados, it is an incredibly beautiful island and you will definitely want to go back. I would stay at white Sand Beach Villas again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Absolutely get a two bedroom if you can swing it!! They all have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelcrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Beach Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Beach Condos

Property: White Sands Beach Condos
Address: St Lawrence Gap | Dover, BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Sands Beach Condos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your White Sands Beach Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Christ Church
White Sands Beach Condos Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing