We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First carribean vacation”
Review of Little Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Bay Hotel
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My first time ever vacationing in the carribean I had heard such great stories about Barbados and the famous " St Lawrence Gap" and Little Bay is right at the entrance of the Gap. Sometimes during the night it can be a little noisy but thats what you would expect staying at one of the Gap Resorts. The staff there are very friendly and very helpful with whatever you need. My room was a studio with my own fridge, stove and king size bed. My studio overlooked the beach and all I had to do was walked down the steps and I was right on the beach.

I would like to return one day because the people are very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherriken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Little Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

This hotel is really great- prime location and a very nice, spacious suite for well below the average prices on the island. As others said, it is quite loud but that can only be expected in the clubbing and restaurant district! At night in the bedroom with the AC running, we could not hear the noise anyway so it wasn't a problem.
The hotel is right on the beach and we spent a lot of time on the deck just enjoying the beautiful view of the sea.
The hotel is also a short walk from a nature sanctuary, now closed, you can still walk through the sanctuary grounds anyway, and see a troupe of monkeys living in a mangrove swamp, as well as flamingos and an unbelievably populated small lake.
All in all a really awesome trip and this hotel was perfect!
Its also worth mentioning that you could easily spend your entire vacation within walking distance of this hotel- Accra Beach (probably the most touristy beach on the island) is a 15 min walk from the hotel, with tons of restaurants, bars stores, and a mall. The walk to and from Accra is also chock full of more restaurants, bars, and stores!
Worthing Beach is also about 2 mins away from the hotel, with Caribe Beach Bar right in front of it for snacks or drinks.
Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anton1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We went on a girl's getaway trip to Barbados, and were looking for an economical, ocean front property near The Gap, we found all this, and friendly service in the Little Bay Hotel. We enjoyed many hours watching the turtles coming to the surface in the bay out front from the deck of one of the 100 series rooms, only wish I'd brought my snorkel gear, but were swimming several times when turtles surfaced very near us. They seemed to be most active during the late morning hours. The staff were all very nice, and the night security guard was there when we came in late to greet us, they gave us a late check out since our flight didn't leave until 5 and housekeeping was more than accommodating when we asked for anything. We did see three little bugs over the course of a week, which is generally to be expected from a Caribbean budget property, but far cleaner and fewer pests than I've seen in similar priced properties on other islands and is definitely worth the central ocean front location. The King bed was great, if you like a firm mattress. Public access to the Dover Beach is a few minute walk just down the road where you can rent beach chairs and there are washrooms and showers for a day at the beach, but swimming in the front of the hotel is perfect for a quick dip. The grocery store is very close by, we were settled on the deck with Rum Punch within two hours of landing, with a weeks worth of supplies on hand. The noise from The Watering Hole Rum Shop across the street was loud from Thursday-Sunday mostly because of Karaoke, but we were out late most nights and when we weren't, we had ear plugs on hand and were able to sleep soundly. Without earplugs and if you were planning to go to bed early, the noise would likely keep you up. A car isn't necessary as everything is within walking distance, including a wide choice of bars and restaurants within a 10 minute walk. We were pleased that we always felt very safe.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MapletonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This hotel was amazing about 30 years ago, so I would imagine. We were renting a large 1 bedroom, with a lovely and large balcony facing the ocean. We didn't mind that the hotel was run down, but what we did mind was the cockroaches that I saw climbing on my toothbrush:( There is a restaurant downstairs so maybe that's way they get in...The noise at night was really bad too. I knew that it will be noisy before we came; because we do know St. Lawrence Gap and we do know that there are a few bars. But we didn’t expect this much noise, Thursday and Saturday were the worse; the windows were shaking.... The room wasn’t dirty, but the roaches need to go! The service was good, nice and friendly staff. They understood when we left the hotel 5 days early and went to a different hotel. The room isn't cheap, we paid $150.00 US a night so you would hope that there would be no roaches. I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lydiabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I do not want to knock this hotel too badly as the room was amazing. We had a stunning view from a great deck. The living area is nice. King sized bed is "extra firm" which I liked but some may not. The restaurant downstairs is a great Italian place with the same view as your room which is great. Rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.

What we did not like was:

our hot water did not work the whole time we were there. They told us it was solar heated. No one ever came to look at it until we were checking out after our stay.

The noise. This end on the St Lawrence gap used to be quieter. Jumbees and the Reggae lounge compete to be the loudest most nights until 3am. You cannot hear much inside the room, but if you like to sit outside after dinner and listen to the waves splash on the shore, this is not the place for you. The noise from the gap covers up all other sounds.

This is a nce spot, right on a bus route and close to resaurants bars and clubs. If you can live with the noise outside at night, this place is a great value in Barbados.

Also, the website says there is wireless internet in every room. It is realy only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ridsdale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteray Apartment Hotel
Monteray Apartment Hotel
#31 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#32 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
767 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mirabelle Apartments
The Mirabelle Apartments
#32 of 73 in Christ Church Parish
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Jarrow
Villa Jarrow
#15 of 73 in Christ Church Parish
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Bay Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Little Bay Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing