We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - worth seeking out”
Review of Hotel PomMarine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel PomMarine
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Needed a hotel at short notice on an unscheduled visit and ended up here on a chance recommendation. It proved a perfect base for several of us for a good week or so. Not too many locals seem to realise that you can stay at the Pom Marine as it is part of a college catering faculty and none the worse for that. The rooms are not glitzy but very comfortable, clean and pleasant with all the essentials well covered. Balcony, internet, safe, good size TV, bath and decent shower etc.The facilities are good and service professional, attentive and very friendly.
The location is a short walk from a fabulous beach and Blakeys on the Boardwalk bar (which is a definite plus) at the end of the access road as well as some excellent restaurants too such as Tapas and Nahru for a change of scene. The location is very tranquil but not remote being set back from the main coast road and a couple of miles south of central Bridgetown. My only gripe is that I didn't get chance to use the lovely pool. I make the observation that except on gourmet nights the hotel is not a vibrant social hub (not necessarily a bad thing).
Very good value and a very happy comfortable stay. Thank you all at Pom Marine, you do a terrific job and your kindness to my family was appreciated.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Si365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Hotel PomMarine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Enjoyed a nice bacon and egg breakfast at this hotel's restaurant. Food was good and staff very attentive. Quite good value. Partner had the continental breakfast which advertised yogurt, cereal and pastries, but there was no yogurt and only one type of hard biscuit for patry. Overall though good breakfast in a nice quiet atmosphere. Would go again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

While I did not stay at the hotel, I enjoyed dining at the Golden Apple Cafe many many times. The food was excellent, and the price amazing for such great quality. I have been travelling to Barbados numerous times and it was truly my good fortune to disover this gem. The coconut punch drink (non acholic) was as smooth as silk and the taste is beyond description.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel PomMarine on a recent business trip to Barbados. While I was initially concerned about staying at a non-chain hotel not on the beach, my concerns were immediately allayed. Our 5-night stay there was almost perfect!

The students and their supervisors were attentive and genuinely interested in making our stay comfortable and safe. The property itself, while initially appearing to be a bit older, is kept immaculately clean and in good condition. Our room, located on the 2nd floor on the front of the building, was large and well-appointed. The bathroom needed a new shower head, which was promptly replaced when reported to the front desk. My only two disappointments: (1) the TV only had access to 5 channels (BBC, HBO Plus, and 3 local/regional channels); and (2) while the ethernet internet service in the room was fast and dependable, Wi-Fi was spotty and virtually non-existent, even in the common areas downstairs.

The two restaurants in the hotel pride themselves on being instep with local cuisine as well as marketed as somewhat of gourmet establishments. Neither one was ever "ready" when we appeared at our appointed reservation time and we were always asked to wait by the pool or in the bar area while the wait staff and/or kitchen completed their preparations. The larger restaurant, Muscovado, serves a 7-course "gourmet" meal on Friday evenings. This meal took well over 2 hours to complete and, while serving really good indigenous food, the length it took to eat 7 courses made for a really long dining experience. The dining room was filled with both hotel guests and dining patrons from the area. Each morning we ate breakfast in the smaller restaurant (The Golden Apple) and the wait staff actually set our table specifically for us as we arrived. Our American breakfast was always terrific and cooked to order!

Overall we were very impressed with the staff, accommodations, and prices at the Hotel PomMarine. Even though the property is not on the beach or near other hotels, we felt completely safe walking one block to the Hasting Boardwalk and nearby restaurants. Please note that there are no bike paths/lanes and sidewalks are not consistent in this area. We would definitely recommend it to others and plan to return with our children on future visits.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryStripling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed at Hotel Pommarine as part of a UWI Cave Hill conference group. I had stayed at Hotel PomMarine before, and have always found its staff to be welcoming, efficient and responsive to my requests. It was certainly no different this time, although the students were on vacation, and so the skeleton training staff were in charge.

The hotel facility is small - fewer than 20 rooms. The Hotel PomMarine has been in operation for more than a decade under the able leadership of Director Bernice Critchlow-Earle, providing rooms, facilities and amenities are of very high quality. By setting the example of excellent hotel management and operations through experiential training for its students, the hotel serves the needs of its students while treating its guests to a high quality experience at the same time.

The clean, spacious, well-appointed rooms are equipped with Internet which is fast and reliable: a must for business clients. The rooms are all located at the front of the hotel overlooking the circular driveway, well-maintained gardens and entrance, and have French doors to a balcony - a pleasant surprise.

An interesting feature of the bathroom is a dispenser for shampoo and body wash in the shower, facilitating efficient and economical access to these amenities without the annoyance of the small bottles and packets that always seem to be somewhere other than where one needs them in the shower.

The coffee shop overlooks the central courtyard and swimming pool, all reminiscent of Barbados' earlier colonial heritage with well-maintained greenery and potted plants. The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of options, including yoghurt, cereal, eggs prepared to order and local specialities, as well as traditional North American breakfast fare. The coffee is freshly brewed and served at the table. Dinner, however, is somewhat more limited, offering a three course fixed menu that changes daily. However, the food is well prepared and tasty and the entire meal is inexpensive. During the term when students are at school, Thursday night offers a celebration of a variety of culinary cultures in the larger dining room; however, on this visit, since the students were on vacation, there was only the coffee shop offering for meals.

Since the hotel is located within a five minute walk of Rockley Beach and the major bus route into and out of Bridgetown, it is central to everything.

I highly recommend this hotel for its service, attention to guest comfort and pleasant accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I stayed for several days on business at the recommendation of a friend. Great choice! Off-season helped to make service spectacular, rooms super, and a balcony that calms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rick292006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Pom Marine. As previous commentators have mentioned, this hotel is part of the Barbados Community College's Hospitality Institute. Service by some of the more experienced staff, and the educators was great. Not everyone shared their enthusiasm, but over all, i was well taken care of. But that is the way it is everywhere you go...some people are extremely nice and eager to help, others seem a bit bored with their existence.

The room was comfortable and clean with free wifi and good lighting. The bathroom wasn't anything terribly elegant, but it was well kept and very nice. Good shower with plenty of hot water and pressure. I was very satisfied. My particular room also had a lovely balcony with a table and chairs where i enjoyed reading before dinner in the afternoons.

The hotel itself is bright and airy and has a lovely pool/patio area. It is only blocks from a beautiful boardwalk along the gorgeous beach lined with various bars and restaurants. Tapas was great for lunch!

The hotel offers a full breakfast in the morning at the restaurant by the pool. Sit down and be waited on. The flying fish was delicious as was the fresh fruit! Service occasionally seemed a bit slow, but it looked like just one girl was taking care of everything. Still, give yourself plenty of time if you've got a schedule to keep in the morning.

On my last day, i checked out and then had lunch at the restaurant. Very tasty food with a home-cooked feel. Nothing fancy, but quite delicious and generous portions!

The hotel isn't right in the hustle and bustle of the city, but it's not more than a few minutes ride in a taxi if you want to head to the local hot spots. The hotel uses several reliable taxi men who are polite and professional and can tell you all you want to know about the area which can be really helpful!

Overall, i was really happy with my stay at the Pom Marine.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kiwibeandip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.9 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
0.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pirate's Inn
Pirate's Inn
#2 of 24 in Christ Church Parish
212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Worthing Court
Worthing Court
#1 of 3 in Worthing
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PomMarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PomMarine

Address: Marine Gardens | Hastings, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: £70 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel PomMarine our guests are met by the warmest of welcomes and accommodated in one of twenty elegantly appointed rooms, each fully equipped with air-conditioning, cable television, private bathrooms, queen-sized bed, and patio. The hotel is ideally situated, allowing guests easy access to shopping, banks, entertainment, a gym, horse racing and squash. Bridgetown the island's capital, is ten minutes drive from the hotel, while the airport can be reached in twenty minutes. Public transport is close at hand and taxi services are readily available. Guests will appreciate the hotel's two restaurants. The Golden Apple Cafe offers breakfast, lunch and snacks, while the Muscovado's unique local and international gourmet cuisine is an experience not to be missed. For relaxing and pleasure, Hotel PomMarine offers guests the use of a swimming pool, tennis court and spacious central courtyard. At the hotel there is a meeting room capable of seating up to fifty persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel PomMarine Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing