We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Divi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Divi Southwinds Beach Resort
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Divi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The value for the money at Divi is good. There is not much activity at the hotel besides the pool, but the location is good, the hotel is clean, staff friendly and the beach is fabulous. No hassles at the beach. The beach restaurant/bar is nice too. Dinners at the beach restaurant are OK, a bit over priced for the quality of food, but there are also many other choices in the Gap. Another advantage is that you can get groceries and cook breakfast and lunch in your room very conveniently. This was my second stay at Divi. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jazzqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    199
    126
    57
    45
See reviews for
137
166
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was there july 5th-july12th.
While landing I was able to peek through the window, i wasnt that impressed. The ride from the airport to Divi is 31.00 bbd ( barbados dollar ) 16US, their dollar is like 2 to 1 US, the ride is like 20minutes.Room 312 is facing the pool, room is one bedroom one bath with a full kitchen, plus the unit as a balcony. Some of the staff was kind of noisy, at 7:30AM i heard the gardner with the leaf blower, and slamming one of their servive door by my room. The native for the most part werent that friendly, maybe better on the other side of the island. I took a 360 tour of the island, which is like 6hr tour, price was 75US plus they provide a buffet lunch and the driver at one point will serve drinks. What I like most they have flat rates for taxi, their are white vans with the number 11 on them, they charge the same rate as the buses 1US, but they run sooner. I think some buses run every 1/2 hour to a hour is some locations. The white vans might be crowded at times and might even look somewhat scary, someone that have been coming to the island for like 13 years said their like fun vans cause they play music i guess. Another good thing about the white vans with the number 11, they will drop you off (on the main street) where every you want, unlike the bus they only drop you off at the bus stop. One of the markets you can walk to, just head out toward the pool area and once you get to the street in the back make a left, the market will be on the left ( less then a 10min walk ) or you can catch the bus if front of the hotel and head left, the trimarket will be on the right ( a 7 minute ride ). I actually walked to both at one point.The beach is like a 4 or 5 minute, once your by the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Higher floors has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljack71556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel while in Barbados for work in July 2014. The rooms are spacious and can easily accommodate a couple. There is a fold out bed/sofa but that was not very comfortable. The room had A/C, two televisions and a kitchen area (complete with fridge, stove and microwave). The is also a convenience store, Hair salon, gym and miniature golf on the compound.

The good:
The room service was great. Every day I would return to find the room cleaned to perfection and all of my belongings neatly packed away.

The kids and adult pools are great.

The proximity to the beach allows you to take a swim anytime you want.

The upscale bar and restaurant across the road: called Pureocean is really nice. Although I did not patronize it, from the outside it looked very sleek and modern.

The bad:
The front desk staff of this hotel really needs some training. One woman in particular had no clue about what was going on and gave the silliest answers when asked basic questions.

The wifi service in this hotel is absolutely terrible. I don't know if this is a problem with Barbados or just this hotel.

On two occasions, there was a power outage while I was in the room. I don't know if this was a problem with the hotel or with the power company. Power returned quickly on both occasions.

By far the BIGGEST problem with this hotel is the dining area. It is covered but it is essentially an open space. Every morning for breakfast there were more birds than people eating. Not only does this make for an uneasy experience, but it is also a health hazard. One day I saw a bird eating from the sugar bowl. Furthermore, the food is absolutely terrible. Everyday we received some kind of powdered eggs, porridge, bacon or sausage, baked beans along with sweets and fruits. The croissant looked like a greasy aloo (potato) pie. The muffins were mostly deformed. One day they served curried channa (chick peas) with pancakes...Divi are you trying to give your guests diarrhoea? Another day they served curried plantain and potato!? really? Not only that but all they served was cow's milk, no other milk alternative was provided. I strongly suggest that Divi gets a scarecrow or an owl to keep the birds out of the dining area. I saw the owl at a hotel in Tobago and it really keeps the smaller birds at bay.

Ultimately, this is a nice hotel but if they were to improve on these problems it could be a fantastic hotel on the south coast,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psykick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at Divi southwinds from 15th to 22nd June 2014, paid for a garden view 1 bedroomed suite and was given a pool view on arrival, which was one of their newly renovated rooms. The rooms are huge for 2 people with a lounge/kitchen, dressing area with basin, separate wc/shower and large bedroom. There are two wardrobes and a large balcony. The beds are comfy & clean.

The hotel itself is undergoing some renovations, but this is not intrusive as doing small areas at a time. People should expect when travelling out of the main season that this does happen.

When we booked, the main restaurant was near the pool, but on arrival found that it was closed and the only restaurant was on the beach. This is near the beach rooms. This was not a problem and in fact had the other restaurant been open this would have been quite noisy and would have been heard from the rooms.

The beach restaurant is a la carte, all cooked to order, and we noticed many people complaining how long it took for their food, on average we waited 20 mins from ordering, some people should realise if something is cooked fresh it will take this time. The menu did not change and the prices are quite high compared to other restaurants in the area, but if you have pre booked half board you get a real bargain as everything on the menu including fresh lobster is included. At busy times breakfast whilst usually cooked to order changes to buffet which is nice for a change.

There is a small pool on the beach which was closed during our stay, this would have been nice if it was open, although the main pool is large and very nice. There are no mattresses on the sunbeds, but they were ok.

I had read reviews before travelling and noticed some bad reviews, I have travelled to Barbados 14 times and stayed all over the island, if people want top class hotels they should stay in top class hotels and not expect top class service in a lower grade.

Also if they arrive complaining, they will never be happy.

We found all the staff at the hotel very nice, and would stay here again as the location is great, and the accommodation is very good and spacious.

Room Tip: try and e mail the hotel prior to travel to ask for a newly renovated room they are generally the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at Divi Southwinds June 21 to June 28, 2014. We were very disappointed with this time share exchange!! Although it is well located, the entire resort property is in poor condition with much deferred maintenance, all of which seems to be lost on management and staff. The resort appears to be utilized more by local residents and friends of staff members for children’s parties, swimming, exercise room and overall use of amenities. You often feel as you are intruding. The rooms were fairly clean but extremely outdated, the bathroom and shower were barely tolerable. In general staff was indifferent, rarely extended themselves. Audrina in the activities center was about the most friendly and pleasant of anyone at the resort. Conversely, Pure Ocean host, Jason Yarborough (not sure of spelling), and Restaurant and bar Manager, Richardo Dottin-Jones were outright petty, rude and demeaning with me while I attempted to relax with a book after my meal while waiting out a rain storm. There was one other table occupied. Very offensive behavior that I doubt would have been visited upon me if I were with my husband. I strongly recommend that you seek other accommodations; this place has abysmally low standards and your time in Barbados can be spent in much more pleasant and positive surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Char C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christ Church Parish hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for more than a week, Dec 20 th dec 29th 2013. We were here as hotel guest not on time share. We stayed in the main building.
The grounds & pool was kept clean and neat, but rooms and kitchen are very outdated and in need of painting and updated rooms, kitchen appliances not working properly. The first room to which we were assigned after waiting for three hours had a leakage from the ceiling . The resort was not full so they gave us another room on 4th floor with a nice view of the pool. The staff was nice helpful with exception of the front desk staff who needs training with some customer service. This hotel is an old property, things break, TV’s, elevators, kitchen appliances , and all the stuff is very old, . I was informed that If you stay here on a time share exchange, you will get fresh towels and the room cleaned only once per stay but if you stay here a as a hotel guest, you will get daily cleaning service. Our room was not cleaned three times in our stay & when I called the front desk or cleaning service , either no response or very poor follow thru. I was very disappointed by the response of the front desk who failed to communicate with cleaning service dept every time I contacted them.
There is free wi-fi in each room, which was very nice. The bed was very comfortable, with plenty of pillows, blankets. The kitchen items were not complete with dishes or wine opener or pots and pans, there was refrigerator, electric stove but two of the burners were not working , toaster wasn’t working too.
There is only one restaurant on the premises and the food was okay. We had lunch there the first day , staff was nice & polite there. This resort is on the St Lawrence Gap Main Road and there are 27 restaurants in the area, some very good, some ok but most of them are very pricy.
A public bus stops right outside the front of the hotel and is very convenient to go to different beaches on the island, costs only $1 per person. Cabs are available but if you hire it thru the hotel , you pay three times the price. Just take it from outside.
The beach was very nice, they offered beach chairs but not the umbrellas for the hotel guest which was a minus point in my books.
You are also very close to Dover beach & you can find local food & local live music. Over all I loved the location but hotel needs some work. I would go back to St Lawrence gap but may be a different hotel.

Room Tip: on 4th or 5th floor in main building facing the pool , towards the center of the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I visited Divi Southwinds as part of my winnings from the price is right. The beach and beach access is absolutely amazing and the pool is very nice. However both the outside and inside of the hotel could use a facelift. The TV in our hotel is probably from the 1980s and did not work properly. The kitchen was however very nice. The worst experience however was with the restaurant. Fortunately there are many restaurants nearby when you turn right along the beach access road. Do not turn left it gets dangerous very quick. The hotel restaurant had very very rude staff and odd eating times. It was extremely overpriced.


The thing that I was most surprised about however was the unprofessionalism of the staff at the Divi Southwinds hotel. It took us forever to check in even though there was nobody else in line and checking out was the same way. They had the dates wrong that we were supposed to stay there and even though I corrected them on multiple occasions on our second to last day we were locked out of our room and consequently do not have a room cleaned. It seemed as though nobody knew what they were doing with regards to running the hotel. I will say however the activity center at this hotel was phenomenal, the only unfortunate thing is that there is no nearby jet skiing and parasailing in this part of our Barbados and the water is way too rough to try bodyboarding.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.2 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon
#29 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
#23 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Southwinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Property: Divi Southwinds Beach Resort
Address: St. Lawrence Main Road, BB15017, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Divi Southwinds Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful south coast of Barbados in Christ Church, the all-suite Divi Southwinds Beach Resort is a casual Caribbean retreat. Divi Southwinds lies along a wide stretch of soft white beach and gentle waves, and is uniquely divided by the St. Lawrence Gap-a lively street, home to restaurants, nightlight and local vendors. An intimate collection of one-bedroom suites is steps from scenic Dover Beach and offers stunning ocean views. Behind the St. Lawrence Gap, over one hundred spacious one- and two-bedroom suites surround a sparkling freshwater pool and feature tropical garden views. All suites at the Divi Southwinds feature oversized private patios or balconies perfect for a sunrise breakfast, fully equipped kitchens, king-sized beds, and sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Divi Southwinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Southwinds Beach Hotel Christ Church
Hotel Divi Southwinds Beach
Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing