We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I spent 7 night at Ocean Spray Beach Apartments and although I am not a surfer, i loved it. Our appatment was literally 10m from the beach and if you opened the window you could hear the nice sound of the waves.
One of the best experiences from a week on Barbados are the breakfast at Ocean Spray. The kitchen and the tables are outside in the garden and there is nothing better than having delicious pancakes with honey and looking the ocean.
The staff was very friendly and Mood, the owner, is a superb host. The apartment was cleaned daily and i really recommend the place for a nice relaxing time in Barbados!
ps: you also have free WiFi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

Thank you so much Mr. Patel and all the great staff!

First trip to Barbados and I found paradise! I fell in love with this place.

Just return from a 2 week stay enjoying the amazing view, hearing the ocean quite clearly, the lovely breeze and having beautiful sunsets!

Great accommodation!

My kind of atmosphere! authetic Indian cuisine at Mamus Restaurant at Ocean Spray + I got to know Nala's art; a Bajan artist (quite interesting).

You are sourrounded by nature, good food, art, friendly people, great location! what else do you need?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you are looking to surf, this place is great -- it's right on a beginner break and you can rent boards right on site, or at Zed's. If you aren't going to surf, I'd recommend staying somewhere else, as it's not the kind of beach you can walk along for miles, and you can probably find a nicer hotel. For what we wanted, though, it was great. Rooms were pretty clean though definitely a little old, the staff was friendly, and it's RIGHT on the beach with great views and the sound of the waves.

The value is also pretty good for Barbados.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler200012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here Feb 6-10, 2012, and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff is great, the view is amazing, and Mahmood is a gracious host. Yes, as other reviewers have mentioned, you can hear the ocean quite clearly from the rooms, but living in NYC, this was a great break from the non-stop traffic and car horns that we normally hear. Our room was not air conditioned, but it was not needed as you get wonderful breezes from the sea blowing directly into the rooms.

There is a continental breakfast included in the room rate, but you should definitely try the other food as well. The cooks do a great job on both breakfast and lunch. Dinner is not available every night, but while we there, Mahmood cooked an Indian meal for the guests that was outstanding. Food is available in Oistins or the St. Lawerence Gap area a short taxi ride away (or you can take the route taxi a short walk from the hotel for $2 BBD) wherever you want.

The ocean directly in front of the property was a little rough while we were there, but there was a small area that was swimmable (probably not good for young children though). There are facilities on the property for lessons and rentals for windsurfing, kitesurfing, and regular surfing.

I would suggest renting a car if you're going to stay in this area as there is not a lot to do in the immediate vicinity and exploring the island by car was a great way to see things and not have to rely on taxis or buses. I'm an avid surfer, and although surfing out front was an option, there was much better surf a 5-10 minute drive up the road.

Overall, a great location if you're looking for somewhere to relax and get away from it all for a reasonable price. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be fairly private due to the setup of the property and the sound of the sea, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zedsdead_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is the fourth time I went to ocean spray. I always returned because of perfect place to relax and spend a quiet holiday, it's strategic position to practice my favorite sports, windsurf and surf.
The place was a perfect compromise between price and service: a not so expensive place and In charge a not so perfect service.

This year with a consistent increase of the price the service hasn't received the same increase in quality: room cleaned but not a complete service every day, air conditioned ( not needed in winter seasons), breakfast included but few variations and always the same so far from a continental breakfast, old and rusty cookers, noisy fridge.

I will return for the fifth time only if price will return to a level adequate to the service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanSprayApts, Manager at Ocean Spray Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you stay with us and mostly that you have been with us a fourth time, a lot of our guests come back every year and sometimes it feels like family, so I am disappointed that you would feel that our price does not match our accommodation and service.
However, I would like to point out that since 2009, we have extensively upgraded the apartments. We have added a 24 hour front desk lobby, a small restaurant to cater to those who do not wish to cook as all of our apartments have full kitchens and offer a complimentary continental breakfast. We upgraded all of beds to ultrapedic standard for a better sleep. We have also added two surf shops, free wireless and improved the gardens and exteriors.
Our mission this year is to work on standardizing the interiors of all the apartments and raise the service level.
Also you might be aware that a location this close to the sea spray will have extensive maintenance challenges and superficial rusting is a byproduct of the heavy salt blast.
Barbados is a comparatively expensive island because we pay a lot of taxes for the social services that most of our citizens enjoy. This is one of the reasons why it is safe compared to some other destinations in the Caribbean. You can leave your windsurf gear in the gardens and know that it will not be stolen.
I am not sure where else in Barbados you can get a direct Ocean Front Beach Apartment with amazing views (and as one reviewer has stated: only if you are on a boat) with breakfast and taxes included. I sincerely believe our price point is reasonable for the accommodation, location and service we offer.
We are committed to continuously improving our service and do appreciate your comments.
We are looking forward to seeing you again as well!
Regards
The Ocean Spray Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Staff was helpful and pleasant. Room was large, air conditioned; Faced beach,(windsurfing only, no swimming); included continental breakfast was good (coconut bread, fruit salad, cereal, coffee, juice); close to Oinstin-good fish market dining($1 US by minivan) good spot for brief stay/overnight because close to airport; cost $13 US from airport-hired Kerr Weekes driver with van, who took me from the airport to return me to airport-he was reliable and pleasant (cell: -----) refrigerator in room made noise when it cycled (I used ear plugs and was fine; ocean counterbalances refrigerator noise!); air conditioner worked well except it was inefficient because the screened shutter let in lots of outside air.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwan2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Fine looking property down at the ocean, the staff at the reception are friendly and helpful but aren`t always there(not 24 hours serviced)
But they set us up with a cheap rental car company and helped us with other excursions.

Our room were located 10 meters from the ocean on the first floor, it was clean and nice but a little noisy(a noisy fan and the ocean competing for the highest noiselevel)

The outdoors restaurant: good breakfast, we tried the dinner there the first night and it was curry night. Good tasty food but to little and to expensive

I would recommend ocean spray if you plan to spend most of your time exploring barbados and have a rental car

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reccescout2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
4.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
4 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
697 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inchcape Seaside Villas
Inchcape Seaside Villas
#5 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
634 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Apartments

Address: Surfer's Point, Inch Marlow, 17122, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: £61 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique serviced apartment complex featuring studios, one bedrooms and multiple room apartments. We offer the benefits of home with some hotel type amenities. Located off the beaten path in the countryside, in one of the best beginner surf spots in the Caribbean. The sea spray, amazing shoreline of the bay and lush gardens offers an ideal setting to getaway and relax. Join us in the Yoga Pavilion for group or private yoga sessions. Mamu’s Cafe prepares fresh organic food grown on our own tropical fruit forest which is also available to tour and hike. Nearby is Silver Sands & Long Beach, and Oistins town for shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Apartment Hotel Christ Church
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing