We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can feel the sea spray!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
200 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“You can feel the sea spray!”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Our first trip to Barbados and were keen to stay all over to get the feel of the different areas, this was our first stop. We had a second floor room looking out to the waves. Nothing too flash but the proximity to the waves is what makes it special. The rooms are basic but super clean and if you wanted to cook then there is everything you needed. The balconies on each room were great too, the fact you could open the doors right up and wake to the sound of the waves crashing was awesome.

Every morning there is breakfast provided and I think dinner was optional also although due to its close proximity to the main strip we headed there for dinner. If you wanted to surf you have two surf schools on your doorstep. It was nice that this place is a little out of the main tourist area so lots of peace and quiet.

We didn't have a safe in our room which was a bit of a pain when swimming etc. and half the power sockets in our room didn't work although they do have free wifi which was a bonus. Reception was also best avoided if they were even there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    73
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
109
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Summary: A quiet location that's great for surfing, but you'll need to travel to get to Town.

Our studio room was near the sea, and on the ground floor. It was decently-sized with a door out to a small terrace and the resort garden overlooking the ocean spraying on the rocky beach. Someone earlier said "don't expect the Ritz" and I'd agree e.g. the bed was creaky and towels were adequate but on the thin side. It was clean, though, so no complaints on that front. Our apartment had a kitchenette area with a fridge and a small wall-mounted TV (which we never used so no idea what channels was available).

There was a dining area in a sort of gazebo in the middle of the resort. Food was good! Unlimited continental breakfast (cereal, toast, coffee/tea, fruit, OJ, pastries) with omelettes and more available for BD$5-10. Fresh fish and other snacks every day for lunch, though dinner was only served on certain evenings (we enjoyed the movie night).

There was a small selection of candies, soda, and beer available at reception, but nothing too substantial.

Wifi was fast when it worked - one of the networks disappeared towards the end of our stay and we had to go to the office or stand out in the garden for an Internet connection. Mildly frustrating but you don't go to Barbados to surf the web, do you?

Service was excellent, everyone was very friendly and helpful - though I found that true across the whole island.

The location is very handy for Zed's surf school (which I recommend), and there's a small sandy beach a few hundred yards away, but the area next to Ocean Spray is rocky. There aren't many bars or restaurants nearby, so you'll have to rent a car, take taxis (BD$40+ to get to Bridgetown) or take the bus to get around.

Handy hint: just two minutes' walk up the road there's a minimart - on the left side of that, follow the path and stand at the far side of the next road to catch the $2 bus into Oistins or beyond.

Room Tip: Waves are constantly crashing against the rocks so if you want the most quiet, get a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coco9nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We wanted to stay at Zed's Surf Adventure, but they were booked, so we found these apartments, only a two-minute walk from Zed's, with the same great beach view and relaxed vibe. It's also close to the US$1 taxi bus to Oisten's, a must-do for Friday night (fresh sea food, reggae music, dancing, and people watching).

We stayed in a ground-floor studio apartment that had an a/c, wifi, and kitchen. We mostly hung out on the patio, which looked out onto a nice lawn, which was perfect for lounging/reading or watching the surfers.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, the adjoining outdoor restaurant served fresh, indian-spiced fish dishes and even had an outdoor movie screen. It hosted special nights - our favorite was the grilled fish night and the movie night - we ate Indian food and then watch City of God under the stars - brilliant!

Only a couple of very minor quibbles. The safe wasn't working, the mattress was a big saggy in the middle, and the wifi would crap out quite a bit, but I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it for couples, families, and single travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actionwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Don't expect the Ritz but our stay was very pleasant with Mood being a great host. Nice staff and we were well cared for. Andrew and Sade at the front desk were very professional and polite. Great to have a little kitchen to prep some of our own meals. No AC but didn't need it with a constant breeze through the sliding doors. Good little surf spot for surfers of all abilities just down the beach. Great spot if your looking for value away from the big tourist areas! Thanks Mood for the great East Indian dinner! Yum!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triptout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I want to share my lovely experience
with any one who is seeking a hideaway in Barbados its
off the crowded and party scene but at very close distance to accessibility.
Ocean Spray Apartment is located on the south coast 10 minutes from the airport . The taxi driver is the one who brought me here thank you ever so much Mickael Parris! This place is amaizing.It is beyond the regular guest house as I find that this is a true concept of its kind.. As you check in you notice it is ran professionaly the rates are very reasonable and you are given all the informations to get around.
there is an immediate sense of peacefulness and de stressing...
The architecture fits the geography and the history and all rooms are filled with the natural ocean spray and the breeze, these elements alone are worth the stay.
Confortable are the rooms and the beds and neat are the bathroom. Choose to stay on the beach front you will be steps away from the waves crushing on the rocks and the garden is so lovely and calls for meditation . If you choose the rooms overlooking the garden the view is speechless. I am not a yogi but evidently after spending only 3 days in this property I did not feel I needed to go anywhere as the ambiance here is so rejuvanating. You have a wonderful gazebo operated by Lee Ann who fed me with her succulent gluten free sugar free pineapple coconut cookies and bars and I wish I could live on those. There are so many places which have a fancy spa but here you get the comfort of a 4 stars hotel without pressure or staffy ambiance it is clean healthy laid back and above and beyond expectations and this comes naturally. "Mood"
The owner creativity is evident and reflects on his property.. Because of other places have close down I checked in for the first time and it will be not the last. I was very impressed and highly recommend. I have spent every single winter in the past 20 years in barbados and I am so glad that i have now found my new spot.
See you next November

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasunstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

i have stayed at ocean spray numerous times and each time ive been pleasantly suprised, the staff (everyone from reception to kitchen) treat you like an old friend and make you feel like royalty.
The manager Mahmood, not only told us where to go for days/nights out but took us! it was beyond expectations.
The breakfast is amazing.The restaurant is situated on a grass green being licked by the ocean "spray" totally romantic and magical.
It feels like home everytime i return and i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a different,special,personal,one off experience of barbados!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAS-LBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Ocean Spray is a very nice place to stay during the summer if you like peace and quiet. The Ocean Spray is what memories are made of. Real nice continental breakfast plan. You need to walk 3 blocks to get to public transportation.The staff is sooooo friendly. Thanks Sade and Andrew at the front desk. Thanks Leanne and Keisha for the good food and thanks June for keeping our room so nice. The sunrises are the best at the Ocean Spray. Thank you Mood for letting your team do there best.

Room Tip: Ocean side has the BEST view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingfisherdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
4.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
12.2 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
#23 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Apartments

Property: Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Address: Surfer's Point, Inch Marlow, 17122, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique serviced apartment complex featuring studios, one bedrooms and multiple room apartments. We offer the benefits of home with some hotel type amenities. Located off the beaten path in the countryside, in one of the best beginner surf spots in the Caribbean. The sea spray, amazing shoreline of the bay and lush gardens offers an ideal setting to getaway and relax. Join us in the Yoga Pavilion for group or private yoga sessions. Mamu’s Cafe prepares fresh organic food grown on our own tropical fruit forest which is also available to tour and hike. Nearby is Silver Sands & Long Beach, and Oistins town for shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Apartment Hotel Christ Church
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing