We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time at Ocean Spray Apartment Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This place is just perfect! Location wise it could be easily sold as a 4-5star boutique hotel, hidden enough but beach front with ocean view or at least side view from all of its rooms and with a superb - actually my most favorite place - the big open beachfront patio where the team offers wonderful breakfast, healthy and with love prepared lunch as well as dinner at least three times per week and if you got luck you can enjoy homemade Indian food, cooked and served by the owner, just delicious. The rooms are basic furnished but very clean and very well maintained with a personal touch given through flowers or nicely prepared towels, also every room has a furnished patio, free wifi all over the place. The owner is permanently improving and developing this nice hospitality. He and his family gives it a personal touch by really caring of every single issue or request. I perfectly enjoyed my time, first time since a long time I could really calm down in my vacation, I will return as soon as I can!
Some more notes for the area, if you interested in water sports they offer surfing and stand up paddling as well as all imaginable tours directly at the counter at the hotel, the surfing school where you can access the water directly is about 50meters away on the beach. Buses and dollar taxes available in the neighborhood, I would prefer renting a car which is possible for a reasonable price and will be organized and directly delivered to the front desk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We would thoroughly recommend Ocean Spray for value for money in Barbados. We stayed for 2 weeks over Christmas - first in one of the smaller apartments right by the sea and then in one overlooking the gardens. Both were basic, clean and well maintained with a good shower and small kitchen. Our only gripe was the bed - in both apartments pretty uncomfortable. However, the ozone therapy more than compensated for this! Fling the apartment doors open and the ocean practically rushes in. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful - led by Mahmood the manager. The breakfast quality varied according to who was cooking - mostly it was great and easygoing. We ate lunch a couple of times which was really good with fabulous funky cocktails. However, two evening meals turned out to be pretty poor, so the food is hit and miss depending again on who is doing the cooking. Some simple additions would help with comfort, like cushions on the wooden seats. Our AC went wrong but was fixed instantly. We think that the overall vibe in the place helps as other guests were really friendly and it was easy to strike up conversations. We would often bump into other guests surfing Freights, which is a short drive away. It is important to hire transport in Barbados, to get to a variety of beaches and see the coast, especially the wild East. Surfer's Point is a great place to stay as you avoid the awful tourist traps such as St Lawrence Gap and get to meet some local life. If you are not looking for luxury and want to avoid package holiday mentality, head for Surfer's Point. Two years ago we stayed at Zed's and absolutely loved it. Ocean Spray is a great alternative with a similar vibe and well worth the cost.

Room Tip: If you like the roaring sea, stay in a seaside room. The garden rooms are quieter and less intense...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The only reason I'm not giving Ocean Spray 5 stars is because, having booked at the very last minute, I think I got the last available room and thus the worst room of the lot. The room itself felt neglected, but the rest of the hotel was well-maintained, bright, spacious, well designed and very, very friendly. The location is perfect - it's off the beaten path and right on a scenic bluff on the ocean, but it's still close to Oistins and the airport.

The staff are just genuinely good people and they clearly enjoy what they do. I think this is a direct result of not only Bajans being inherently warm and hospitable people, but also because of Mood, the owner / manager of Ocean Spray. He's a terrific guy, and a good attitude at the top generally means the folks who work for him share that attitude.

I would definitely recommend Ocean Spray to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable, laid back but attentively staffed place to stay in Barbados.

Room Tip: Spend up for the room located on upper floors towards the ocean. The ground-level rooms further fro...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurfKiteSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Are you looking for a resort with a great location, in a quit and noncommercial area on the South coast, right by the amazing turquoise sea?
Congratulations, you've found a little piece of paradise.
We had the privilege to spend five nights at Ocean Spray Resort in a two-bed-room apartment with kitchen on the second floor (comfortable, charming, well kept and clean). The view from the living room and from the balcony was breathtaking!
The breakfast is included in the price and it is fresh and good. They also serve lunch and we had lunch at the resort a couple of times, the chicken salad and the grilled fish was superb!
The owner Mahmood is genuinely humble and helpful. He runs the hotel together with his daughter and she is, like her father, very welcoming, caring and service-minded. In fact all the staff is fantastic, especially Leann who makes breakfast and lunch. Her omelets’ are so good and she's so friendly and service minded, always with a smile.
One day each week Mahmood cooks home-made Indian food (his father is from India) and shows a movie on an outdoor cinema. It was a magical evening and the food was delicious! We will remember this dining experience for a long time.

We appreciated the location, at the surfers point in a quit village where the locals live. It feels genuine, away from commerce and tourism (further west on the south coast). If you want to dine in Oistins or beyond, shop in Bridgetown or get around to other beaches, you can catch a minu-bus that goes from Buffy´s minimart and bar, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The majority of those staying at the hotel are surfers which is easy to understand. My boyfriend took surf-lessons for the first time at Zed's surf school, which we highly recommend.

We spent most days in the area near the hotel. There is a beautiful beach about 300 meters from the hotel, called Long Beach. Here are the waves relatively high but you can swim if you are familiar with high waves. The beach is fantastic, about 2 miles long and we were often all alone at the beach. If you instead walks in the other direction, you will after 10 minutes walk, come to the kite surfers and wind surfers 'Mecca'. The beach is so beautiful, with more speed and action.

We wish that we could have stayed longer at Ocean Spray, and we hope that can return soon.

We will recommend Ocean Spray to anyone, visiting Barbados South coast.


//Camilla and Ulf from Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camilla and Ulf d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Large, quiet and clean apartments, right next to the sea.
Friendly stuff and the owner is always very helpful.
Lots of activities, surfing and two good kite spots around the corner. The island is very peace- and beautiful.
We just had a great time!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xAlps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

After a very busy crazy year, I found myself finally enjoying a very welcome vacation and could not have found a better place than Ocean Spray Beach Apartments. The location was spectacular, overlooking the most beautiful waves where the Atlantic meets the Caribbean Sea . It's location was out of the way and quiet which I truly appreciated but it is close enough that a quick taxi ride could take me whereever I wanted to go within 10-20 minutes. The rooms were lovely, airy and very clean with sea breezes which kept the room very comfortable and cool. As advertised, there is a complete kitchen in each room which was handy. The staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Smiles were everywhere. The owner and his wonderful daughter were around and very conscientious in assuring their guests were comfortable and entertained. .I really hated leaving and look forward to going back again, Ocean Spray is a great place to go!!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean so it would be hard to say there was a less desirable location, they al...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandriawmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We were really impressed with the location - right at the waters edge - and rightly deserving the name of Ocean Spray . The rooms were fresh , the beds comfortable and the bathrooms clean with an abundance of hot water. The food was excellent and the location of the breakfast room ideal in the garden area. The staff were great - Andrew at the front desk is a great asset to the team and gave us a great welcome . Thanks in particular to the owner, Mahmood - a great host , full of local knowledge - his passion for his work shone through and we had some great conversations about the Island - without him we wouldn't have met Michael and Andrew Parris the taxi drivers who looked after us and took us on a fab day tour of the Island - fantastic as we only had a three day stop over . Ocean Spray is well priced , well located ( Close to Oistins for a great value, great taste fish supper and still near enough by cab to some excellent gourmet restaurents ) and for us thankfully miles aways from a more sanitised tourism further down the coast !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
4.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
649 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
619 reviews
4.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
631 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
123 reviews
3.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Apartments

Address: Surfer's Point, Inch Marlow, 17122, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: £49 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique serviced apartment complex featuring studios, one bedrooms and multiple room apartments. We offer the benefits of home with some hotel type amenities. Located off the beaten path in the countryside, in one of the best beginner surf spots in the Caribbean. The sea spray, amazing shoreline of the bay and lush gardens offers an ideal setting to getaway and relax. Join us in the Yoga Pavilion for group or private yoga sessions. Mamu’s Cafe prepares fresh organic food grown on our own tropical fruit forest which is also available to tour and hike. Nearby is Silver Sands & Long Beach, and Oistins town for shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Apartment Hotel Christ Church
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing