We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limin' Barbados”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed the first time on Barbados and it was amazing!
The guys and ladies from Surfers Point were helpful, warm and of course with a lot of humour and relaxed attitude!
We booked our first week in advance and the bundalow straight at the sea with the sunrise in front of the room, a nice breakfast every morning and fresh barbecueevenings were perfect.
For that reason we decided to stay the second week as well at Ocean Spray....the whole area around the spot is beautiful with different beaches, surfing spots and Oistin nearby!
Hugs and love to everybody from the staff and thanks for an unforgettable stay!
Andy & Max

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MadMaxinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our family came to Barbados to surf and scuba dive. We rented a car because we knew the hotel was not in the middle of a bustling hub. It would have been a huge pain not to have done so. Our observations:

1. Location - close to Zed's Surf School (walking distance), need a car to go anywhere else. Restaurant on site was good - we ate one dinner there. It really is in the middle of a residential area, which includes nice, okay, and dumpy houses all mixed up. So just be aware, it's not in a resort-y area.

2. Room - we had a 3-bedroom apartment, which was huge and extremely clean, with a really nice balcony. We didn't use the kitchen facilities at all, as breakfast was included and for the other meals it was easy to find casual food. So I can't say anything about those. Beds fine - didn't squeak. Hot water was an issue. The hotel's water is solar heated, so if there isn't any sun, there isn't any hot water. Problem! We ran into a few cloudy days, so the water was sort of lukewarm. It was still warm, so it wasn't awful, but if you like a hot shower, as I do, even in a place that's very warm, be aware that it is not guaranteed here. The weather was pretty warm most of the time, but the room was very well ventilated and did not get hot. We rarely if ever used the A/C.

3. Breakfast - a very basic continental breakfast is included, but it's not that great. Presentation was really lacking, and it looked half hearted. One of the responses to a review it says that french toast and pancakes are included, but I think they were extra. If there were included, no one ever told us. One kind of jelly - guava - so if you don't like guava jelly, you're out of luck. I ended up having toast every day. The 'hot' dishes were fried potatoes, fried plaintains and baked beans, which to an American are weird choices for morning foods, especially when the potatoes don't have any protein to go with them. It was just - odd. There was fruit salad, but the fruit was cut into very small pieces and the watermelon was loaded with seeds. Again, I'm whining, but it was just sort of a pain. I don't like watermelon seeds. This might be fine for you, but for me it just wasn't great.

4. Yoga - they had a yoga instructor who gave yoga classes every day. It was extra but not that much. She was very good and my husband and I both enjoyed it. It's wonderful to do yoga next to the beach! And there's a pavilion where you do it that's very Zen and peaceful.

So the nice, big, clean apartment part was really good, and my husband said that compared to the resorts it was way less expensive, so that's good too. Location close to Zed's Surf School was great, and it wasn't far from Oisins. There's a surf and kiteboarding school at the hotel, but we didn't use it. The hotel feels sort of remote but Barbados isn't that big so nothing is that far - as long as you have a car. All in all it was a very good experience, with those few minor issues that may or may not be relevant to other people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GetOuttaTownNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent a few days in Barbados at the Ocean Spray Apartments in the 2 bed/2 bath unit with kitchen located at the far end of the property (not directly overlooking the ocean but with a nice view of it from the very looooong balcony).
The location is perfect (although not for swimming) and the view is gorgeous.
The front staff is very accommodating.
Continental breakfast is fine, nothing exceptional: cereals, wheat bread, orange juice (not fresh), fresh fruits, cake, cheese, butter, jam, honey, sauteed potatoes, plantains (sometimes), cooked beans, tea, coffee, milk, and water.
The breakfast staff is nice but not very proactive: when something is missing or empty, you literally have to ask for it otherwise you will be finished with your breakfast before you even see it coming. Plus, it takes some time for them to refill the food even when asked for it.
Other than that, the apartments are serviced every day although towels and soap/shampoo/lotion supplies are not refilled reliably every day.
Finally, the apartment is well furnished although a washing machine would be appreciated sometimes. If you would like your laundry to be done for you, this is extra and you always run the risk to loose some underwear or the like when the service lady is doing it for you...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloubliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed with my sailing pals one night in transit from London to Grenada. Hotel had forgotten the agreed airport pickup but we were compensated with bigger singles and a friendly service at the reception. At the end, good value for money.

Room Tip: They have ground floor rooms with patios and rooms higher up with balcony's, just a question wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just returned from Barbados for the Food, Wine and Rum Festival and stayed at Ocean Spray. For what I paid the place is great! The rooms are quite cozy. I expected to see outdated furniture based on the reviews but the furniture was quite nice. The additional breakfast made this package even more of a bargain and I must say they make the best french toast I've ever had. I love how it is away from all the excitement but you must rent a car to get around. The free wifi allowed me to maneuver around Barbados easily as I was able to use Waze on my phone. I would suggest this place to anyone traveling to Barbados on a budget. Keep up the high standard Ocean Spray!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Ocean Spray has such a warm and friendly vibe to it, the staff are all wonderful and the food delicous! If you go there, movie night is a must! The freshly homemade indian cuisine was the best meal of the whole trip! The location has everything if you are looking to just chill out and relax away from it all. We would wake up and go to bed to the sound of the waves, stunning sunrises, you straight away feel like you have arrived in paradise. My recommendation for anyone staying would be to hire a car, it allowed us to explore the island but you will be grateful for it in the evenings so you can visit Oistins and St. Lawrence Gap for the variety of different restaurants available. Oistins on a Friday night is great fun and the fresh fish is out of this world! If you are coming on a surf trip like us, we used Ride the Tide surf school who were absolutely fantastic! Barbados is a beautiful island and there is no doubt you will have the holiday of a lifetime especially with these guys! We cannot wait to book our next trip back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OH O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at ocean spray beach aprtmnts for 3 days it was great. The hotel is a place to relax in a quiet atmosphere. The staff is great and willing to help with any request you may have. we stayed in an ocean view studio on the ground floor which was clean and tidy.Just hearing the waves at night crashing against the rocks was calming. The hotel allows you to have a great view of the ocean and also be able to sunbathe and watch others kite surfing. The front desk staff were very helpful especially Audrey, Shadae and Andrew, The food at Mamu's restaurant was great thanks to all the kitchen staff especially LEE ANN (breakfast and lunch was awesome and TROY dinner was excellent. This hotel's customer service is on point and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view studios are closer to the sea and a lot more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerriann f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
4.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
660 reviews
4.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
4.6 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
631 reviews
3.3 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Apartments

Address: Surfer's Point, Inch Marlow, 17122, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: £53 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique serviced apartment complex featuring studios, one bedrooms and multiple room apartments. We offer the benefits of home with some hotel type amenities. Located off the beaten path in the countryside, in one of the best beginner surf spots in the Caribbean. The sea spray, amazing shoreline of the bay and lush gardens offers an ideal setting to getaway and relax. Join us in the Yoga Pavilion for group or private yoga sessions. Mamu’s Cafe prepares fresh organic food grown on our own tropical fruit forest which is also available to tour and hike. Nearby is Silver Sands & Long Beach, and Oistins town for shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Apartment Hotel Christ Church
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing