We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bougainvillea Beach Resort was the perfect setting for my daughter's wedding and was also an unforgettable vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bougainvillea Beach Resort was the perfect setting for my daughter's wedding and was also an unforgettable vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

The week I spent at Bougainvillea Beach Resort was incredible - the stuff that dreams are made of! The highlight was my beautiful daughter's wedding. The staff helped us with every detail and we were impressed with the professionalism and well- wishing they demonstrated to our group of family and friends.
In addition to the wedding, we enjoyed the numerous amenities that Bougainvillea and the surrounding community has to offer.
Thanks to all the staff and especially to Shemora who gave me a list containing the room numbers of the guests in our group.
I would return to Barbados and Bougainvillea in a heart beat!

Room Tip: I think rooms on the bottom floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krhigney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    627
    141
    32
    27
See reviews for
578
923
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed for a couple days at the end of April and split our stay with the Silver Point hotel. Bougainvillea was a nice enough place, but unfortunately it rained for our whole stay so we couldn't fully enjoy it. The pools are very nice and the beach is beautiful. There are almost enough beach chairs and it was relatively quiet. But unfortunately, we only got to enjoy it for a couple hours total over our stay.

The food at the restaurant was decent, although I wouldn't say it was at all memorable. The waitresses were sweet, but it's definitely on island time. And as at most places on the island, it's over-priced compared to what we get at home. The swim up bar was great, they made good cocktails and it was really fun.

The room was fairly comfortable, the air conditioning worked well (especially for the caribbean!) and we had no real complaints. Nice balcony with partial ocean view and decent bathroom. We did lose power for a couple hours, and nothing worked including the pipes.

As other people have noted, the front desk staff was not particularly helpful. We tried to ask a couple questions, and didn't get a real response from anyone. When we asked if we could have a map, the woman vaguely pointed to another desk saying they were over there but the person who worked there was off duty until the next day.

For the price, I thought it was a nice place to stay and had it not been raining, I probably would have enjoyed it much more.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 532rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

First the pros, its next to the airport, has a great beach and the rooms and the resort itself is very clean clean.
Now the cons, as oppossed to some other hotels that I stayed at which never say no, the people who work at this hotel never say yes to any of their guests' requests. For example, if you want an extra beach towel, its like asking a guy for his organ, and if you take an extra beach towel, you will get an attitute from one of the guys who works at the hotel.
There are major periods of time during the day that you cannot get food from the restarautns so you have to restort to getting food from a truck. for example, after a long flight and you arrive at the hotel after 2:00 pm you have to wait until 7:00 or 7:30 until the restaruants open. And the food is not that great, but its not bad either. However, there is a great local charming restaraunt/bar called Diablo two blocks from the hotel. I would have gone there everyday if the roads were not flooded. Also the food servcie is very slow at the hotel. I would say it takes about 40-60 min. to wait for non-buffet food.
With respect to room service, our room was cleaned very well, but it was not cleaned until 4:00 pm every day. I just think that the hotel maids are overworked.
If this hotel had better service, it could be a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meron76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

This was our third consecutive year at Bougainvillea - traveling with children aged 7 and 9. We cannot recommend it enough. We love this resort! The hotel is wonderfully situated, a mere 15 minutes from the airport so there is no need to endure the long transfer up to the West coast resorts which is a blessing after a 9 hour flight. The staff at this hotel cannot be more obliging. We were greeted with a "welcome home" from Leena (oh if only!!!) and the minute we stepped into the hotel reception we were chillin'. The rooms here suit us perfectly and the hotel honoured our request for a ground floor 1 bed delux which was fantastic (thank you so much Bougainvillea!). We opted for this hotel initially following a recommendation from friends who regularly stay here - we enjoyed our first year so much (our then five year old sobbed the entire way home) that we returned again last year full of excitement and also anxiety that it would live up to our expectations - it more than did that. Our third consecutive year this April was even better still. The staff are all absolutely lovely, they can not do enough to help, and the facilities are great. There is a really friendly vibe about the place. Our children make friends easily here and since many guests return yearly there is a lovely atmosphere of relaxation and familiarity.
My only reservation are the two on site restaurants that are leased out but the hotel (Lanterns and Waters Edge - there are trip advisor reviews on these so I'm not going into detail here) - they have varied in food quality and service over the years and we feel still don't do the wonderful setting they have justice. However there are so many fantastic places to dine within easy distance of the hotel that you would be very much missing out limited your dining experience to the hotels two restaurants. Try Pisces, Harlequin, Tapas etc!
Thank you Bougainvillea for another fantastic stay - we desperately hope we will be able to return again. To anyone considering this resort - don't have any hesitation in staying here!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEBs001Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quispamsis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

We arrived on April 4th for a two week stay. first time to Barbados. Bougainvillea is a charming resort. Leena welcomed us home the minute our taxi arrived. We stayed in a Deluxe Studio room #5122 on ground floor with a view of the pool and beach from the patio.. The room was very clean and very quite. Our patio door key did not work and within a few minutes was repaired by the staff. I cannot say enough about the staff. They were very helpful and freindly. Stephen (spelling) the bell man as all the others helped when ever needed. The young trainee Shamora (spelling) on the front desk was also most helpful with anything we asked.
We spent most of our days relaxing on the beach and braving the waves. There were rough seas for most of our stay, but once you made it out past the breakers it was fun to float in the warm clear water. We hired a driver Fernando A to take us around Barbados. He was recommended by freinds who were in Barbados during our stay and gave us great service. I will be calling on him again next year. Took a tour of Harrison's Cave and St Nicholas Abby plantation. Bought some 12 year old Rum from there after trying a sample of the 10 yr vintage. Excellent! Went to Round House Inn for lunch during our site seeing trip along the coast. what a beautiful Island.

Went out for dinner most nights. We tried Harlequin, Cafe Sol, Pisces, Sweet Patato, Apsara. I found all to be very good. Apsara is both Thai / Indian, and you need to be hungry to eat here as there is allot of food. Quality is excellent. Pisces atmosphere and setting is wounderful as well as the food. We ate at Lanterns a few evenings as well and found the food to be excelent also. Had the Surf and Turf. Presentation and taste was fantastic considering some of the negative comments I have read. Be prepared to spend some time at dinner. An hour to 2 seemed normal for all the nights we ate here. But the food was worth the wait for us. Tried the BBQ buffet on both Mondays and we found the selection great and full of flavor.

We walked to the Gap along the road way a few nights there and back. Met a few characters along the way as well. One old man always looking for spare change and an older woman with cast sitting on a beach asking for the same. It is dark in a few spots and we were a bit nervous along some of these areas, but we had no issues at all. I suspect our nervs were due to first time jitters. Used the shuttle to Bridgetown for shopping one day. Grabbed a taxi on the way back which ended up being the most helarious drive we have ever had. The driver called himself the (English Man) , and he told his life story as well as others on the way back to Bouganvillea. We laughed so much. He even stopped on the Maxwell coast road to finish his story before dropping us off. His real name as he told us was Joseph John Alfred Augustus Benjamin Lynch born on the island of Dominica. He spent time in England as a police man for the undergound rail.Quite a character.

As I had stated before we spend most of our time on the beach. It is a beautiful setting. The water sports staff are great and put up umbrellas every day for us. The Bajan's that we met were all very warm and freindly. Even the trinket/ dope sellers who we said no too everyday. My only complant is that there was a woman and partner that during our second week were very annoying. She was peddling drugs and did not take no very well. I did notice on the last morning we were there that the security had a talk with her and she left after someone complained. It is a public beach and I do not mind interacting with the locals selling local crafts etc. but after a while being offered dope and all other vices daily gets to be a bit much. This also happened several time while walking the Gap. I guess it is a sign of the times. Having said that , our trip to Barbados was the most relaxing layed back vacation we have ever had. We have been travelling since 89. This may have been our first trip to Barbados, but it will not be our last . I give credit to the Bougainvillea Resort for being a large part of why we felt so relaxed. If you have any question feel free to ask.

regards, R and J

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMW46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Once again our stay at Bougainvillea was an absolute joy. The lovely surroundings, the superb staff, the immediate response to anything one would need or want, plus the
hotel restaurants under the new management of renowned chef, John Hazzard, makes it a wonderful place to be..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsica, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed three days at the Bougainvillea on a stopover with our 15-month old daughter. The hotel building does look a little "passe" but the overall setting is nice with a lovely swimming pool with small cascades and a restaurtant on the beach as well as a nice beach side with long seats. The beach the hotel is located on is not the most popular but still offers very nice walks.
There is a second pool, more quiet and probably better for "adults only" while the main one has a good area for kids.
We were initially alittle disappointed to be located on the gournd floor as we had booked a suite rather than a room but it was actually nice, with a nice view over the pool and a terrace ending with a "mini-pool" where our daughter and I could dip a little. The room was great for children with all amenitied (micro-wave, crib, child seat).
Service was great and everyone pleasant and trying to help in any way they could.
Only minus would be the restaurant food which was quite poor for our standards (we only tried the all-day restaurant on the beach). Breakfast was alright though. Also some of the organised evenings were really loud music and that is just not our thing.
Overall a very nice stay at a decent price, based on Barbados' price levels.

Room Tip: With children, best is a groundfloor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Destinology, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, West Indies, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing