We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent room, good facilities,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent room, good facilities,”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Our 2nd stop on a Caribbean island-hopping tour of Grenada, Barbados and St Lucia, this was the only non all-inclusive resort we stayed at. We wanted to experience the local atmosphere and cuisine rather than be tied to eating at the hotel and, in Barbados, this was absolutely the right choice.
The resort is well maintained, with a lovely beach, great sea views and good facilities. Our room was large and very clean, with a good sized bathroom, kitchenette (including large fridge-freezer, microwave, hot plate and cooking and dining utensils), double bed and sitting area. The was a good sized flat screen TV, iPod docking station, as well as a private terrace overlooking the pool area, with our very own splash pool.
The resort facilities were good, with a spacious pool area leading to the beach and a swim-up bar. It offers guest laundry facilities, as well as extras, such as DVD hire, all very reasonably priced.
We only ate at the hotel once, so it's difficult to provide a review of the restaurant facilities, but the beach BBQ we attended was quite nice, with a buffet selection, as well as grilled chicken, fish and steak as requested. We felt that it was fairly expensive considering the overall quality and would definitely recommend exploring some of the local restaurants and cafes, particularly those that seemed to be frequented by local workers towards the edge of St Lawrence Gap, which were within walking distance and offered tasty local food at very low prices. We throughly enjoyed eating chicken, rice and beans with a cold beer on wooden benches outside the local cafes in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, with both locals and other tourists.
The hotel was very well located, within a 25 minute walk of the centre of the Gap, 10 minutes along the beach and then another 10 - 15 minutes to get to the centre of the action. It was safe to walk along at night and there were some great bars with live jazz and other music along the way, so we tended to make the walk part of our evening out, stopping along the way for a drink or two.
It's also definitely worth hiring a car and getting out to see as much of the island as possible. The roads aren't great, but no-one seems to be in much of a hurry, and the island is small enough to get around in a day.

Room Tip: We were extremely lucky in being allocated a room with a private splash pool as there are only 4 in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    633
    144
    32
    27
See reviews for
588
939
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is the second time we vacationed in Barbados, and we chose to stay at the Bougainvillea again. Rooms are as pictured in other reviews and on the website. Yes, the property is older, but it's clean and comfortable. We stayed in a 1-bedroom unit, and it's perfect for two people. The kitchenette is a great alternative to having to eat out for every meal.

The staff at the resort is very friendly and accommodating. We ordered a few items from the commissary, and we specifically asked that they be in the room when we arrived (we had a fairly late arrival). The items were in our room as requested. We had the staff at the front desk make our dinner reservations. When a restaurant we requested had closed (which we didn't know), the front desk people called to tell us that it was closed and provided a great alternative recommendation. Maid service was outstanding, and when we had the occasion to run into the lady cleaning our room, she was very friendly!

We shopped at the "Big B" supermarket. The front desk people can tell you how to get there. It's a relatively inexpensive cab ride to the store ($10 U.S.), or you can be adventurous and take the "Number 11" bus and ask to be dropped off near the Big B. The bus costs $2 (Barbados dollars ... and they do accept U.S. dollars), and the supermarket has a free shuttle to return you to the resort. All that they ask is that you tip the driver. There is a convenience store that's just a few steps away from the resort. In the event you run out of something or just want to purchase a few items, it's an alternative to making the trip to a larger supermarket.

As for restaurants, we did choose to dine at the Waters Edge restaurant for dinner one night. Our experience was a good one. Some on this site have said that the service is slow, but that wasn't the case on the night we dined there. The food was good, and we thought it was fairly priced in comparison to many of the restaurants we've gone to on the island. If you're a big lunch person, make sure you check out the lunch wagons that are outside the resort every day. They're local people, and they truly enjoy sharing their cuisine with visitors. Other restaurants we dined at were Bellini's (not nearly as good as it was two years ago), Blakey's (a good casual alternative with burgers and basic bar food), Tapas (not quite what we had hoped it would be), Naru and Waterside. Naru was recommended by the front desk staff, and it was excellent. The sushi was incredible, and the service we had was great. The best place we ate at was Waterside. It was recommended to us by our favorite taxi driver, Trevor. If you're looking for a top-notch restaurant with outstanding service and an elegant, romantic setting, this is the one!

As mentioned in the previous paragraph, Trevor was a fantastic taxi driver. The staff at the resort knows of him, and you can always ask for him to pick you up at the resort. He provides tours of the island upon request, and the next time we visit Barbados we plan to hire him to give us a tour. He grew up on the island and knows its history. We would set up pickup times with him, and he was always prompt and very professional. Thanks, Trevor!

All in all, we had a wonderful vacation in Barbados at the Bougainvillea. We'd recommend it and will stay there again whenever our travels take us back to Barbados!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We went to The Bougainvillea Beach for the first time in October 2011. My husband had previously been to Barbados but I hadn't and I was presently surprised by the warm welcome of the Bajans. The hotel was very peaceful and relaxing with like minded guests to ourselves who were sympathetically catered for with a variety of gentle entertainments. The food was very good at all times though we only tried the Water's Edge once and preferred Lanterns where we had our favourite table by the beach. The staff were unobtrusively friendly and helpful at all times. We had a deluxe studio which seemed in a nicer location than the standard rooms with a perfect sea view to wake up to every morning. The beach area at The Bougainvillea was far superior to others along the same stretch of coastline. We enjoyed the Friday Fish Fry at Oistins and a couple of evenings at The Gap as well as shopping in Bridgetown, but otherwise simply chilled out. There are water sports and other activities available to the more energetic though. We will definitely return to the Bougainvillea Beach.

Room Tip: Deluxe studios have larger balconies and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricky742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Bougainvillea was lovely, the pictures didn't lie, it was our first trip to Barbados and we weren't disappointed. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the view was breathtaking and there is so much to offer. The Lantern's Resaturant offered a buffet style breakfast and the Eddie the waiter was lovely. Next to the restaurant jet ski rentals among others were available which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is just 15 mins from the airport and 20 mins to Bridgetown (Capital) so the location was great. It was a lovely stay.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel_AA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We loved the Bougainvillea! Rooms were spacious and acceptably appointed. We liked having a kitchenette. All decks in the hotel have ocean views. The beech was fabulous, the pools cool and refreshing. Restaurants were great (loved the flying fish salad!). Just off St. James Beech, Close enough to stroll there, far enough so the noise was never a problem. Shuttles to Bridgetown were free and frequent. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view, but there are no elevators here so if you have mobility concerns th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinStoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Our experience at this hotel was good but we do not recommend the honeymoon suite. We staying in the honeymoon suite which gave us a semi private rooftop patio in addition to a regular private patio. By semi-private rooftop patio, i mean that any one could easily go there but since our room was the only room at the end of the last flight of stairs, no one ever did go there. It was pretty nice and had a small table, 2 reclining lawn chairs and a hammock. We didn't really use it very much though because you kind of lose out on the ocean view and sand.

The room was actually very small and was taken up almost completely by the bed. Judging from other pictures here, it doesnt seem like any of the other rooms are this small.

The kitchen was also very small. We wanted to be able to cook some of our own meals because the restaurants in this area are very expensive. However there is no available counter space with the dish rack and hot plate taking up all the room. Oh yes, hot plate... I believe the other rooms get ovens/stoves (double check that).

There is a room directly beside this one which we were disappointed by because a family moved in there towards the end of our stay and we were able to hear their young kids yelling/laughing.

We had no issues with other aspects of the resort or room. The room and patio were nice and clean. And the bathroom was nice and big.

This resort had an extremely nice beach... the sand was powdery and so white that it didnt actually get hot from the sun. The sand did get coarse towards the end of our stay though when the tide changed - not sure how you can predict that but it was still nice. The waves here were typically pretty small during our stay.

So, this is a great resort with a really nice beach but the honeymoon suite was just not worth the extra $20 a night...

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite gives you an additional semi private patio but has a very small kitchen and livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank void63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Just returned from a week at Bougainvillea! We chose this place as it had alot of great reviews so just went with it!...and from our experience, we were not disappointed! It suited us and what we wanted from our holiday- but I can imagine that it might not meet everyone's expectations!

The service we received was very good. We booked a Standard Double Room (which had a lounge area and full kitchen inc gas cooker/oven, and full size fridge/freezer!). Though we did ask to move, as they allocated us a room facing the back of the restaurant kitchen!! (Room 2107) Which is not the best view to wake up to on those gloriously sunny mornings! But the main thing was it quite noisy!.. as the kitchen was in use, people coming in and out...talking loudly, extractor fan wurring and general noise of a kitchen! We had a 4yr old aswell, and so we asked to move with no probs or fuss! The front desk staff gave us a better room on top floor, which was actually much better as the room was bigger due to the high ceiling, and just looked much better than what we were orginally given. So plus points for that! There are 2 other blocks of apartments that have the "proper sea view", but they look generally look nicer from the outside, so I imagine they were deluxe apartments/suites.

The resort was always being maintained! There's always someone from maintenance clearing up flowers, leaves in the pools and walkways. The gardens there are so pretty!...the resort itself looks lovely. It definately is a better hotel than the last hotel we stayed in.

Breakfast was good- usual continental and full english available, and had different things each day.

Food- we didn't eat in the restaurant but did get room rervice which was good- got orders correct and delivered within 20mins, and tasted good too! For Lunch!..definately try the little van sellers outside the hotel! There is Leroys van who arrives around 12-2pm, and then a lady in a white van that arrives around 11am. Very good bajan food, and cheaper! $20 banjan dollars for a main, side and small salad in a box!

Housekeeping- very good, room cleaned on a daily basis.

Location was good- close to Oistens. (Went to the Friday Fish Night which is quite good fun and great atmosphere!), and to St Lawrences gap for food/drinks. Buses are easy and cheap, or you can take a taxi.

Tours- you can do lots of tours, but we did the Harrisons Cave one, and the Wildlife Reserve which is great for kids, as they get to feed the monkeys! Very good fun!

Beach sellers- yes there were afew sellers about, but they were never pushy, if you didn't want anything just say no thanks, and they go on! At the end of the day, this is how they make their living, so we didn't think they were a nuisance that they are there!

For us, the only small downpoints I can think of are:
- Kids Club: not managed during our stay as they needed a minimum of 5 kids to run. Would be good to have this managed all year round. If you were given the impression they have a kids club before you went, it's abit disappointing when you find out it's not actually available when you wanted to use it! It was always open so you can still go in the Kids Room, but the facilities we saw inside were pretty basic anyway. Just a tiny ballpit area, some tables and chairs, and a couple of bean bags. They ran a couple of other activities, but again- always needed a minimum number.
-Tortoise/Pet play garden area: which housed afew hares and tortoises and open to all to view. But looked liked it was not cleaned very often- there were rabbit and turtle droppings everywhere! Even on the swings/slides and mini table/chairs! So though it would have been a great little place for kids to view and hold the pets, we thought it was abit dirty with droppings everywhere and I doubt children want to use the swings etc with droppings on! I think if you are going to offer a pets area, it would be better to have a separate fenced pets area from the swings/slide/garden, so that the kids can enter into the pets area, without the rest of the garden being soiled by the animals. But just our view!...and again these small downpoints only affect those on holiday with children!

Overall, for a resort it offered quite alot of services! There was a little shop, Internet room, guest laundry room (very handy!), a onsite hairdresser and a large games room for rainy days. (which we used as there were afew days that rained!) So we were happy with our stay there! The hotel was very nice, staff were friendly and would recommend it to others!!

Room Tip: - Get lunch from the little van sellers! - avoid rooms that face the back of kitchens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,011 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,558 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#5 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Destinology, Ebookers, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing