We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problem!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I would like to say that my husband and I have been visiting Barbados now for 18 years and find the island like home from home, beautiful beaches, happy, friendly people and the sea - well what can I say about that only out of this world! I feel sorry for those visitors who have had experiences which may have spoilt their holiday, especially when it is a holiday which has been anticipated for some time or for a special occasion; but this can happen in any country and any hotel no matter what it's status be it a B&B or one of the most expensive hotels on the island and have experienced this myself. But I must say we have stayed at the Bougainvillea 3 or 4 times now and each time we have found the accommodation to be spotless, management and staff totally helpful, pleasant and courteous; and we are looking forward to our next visit soon. We have always found the staff of a trustworthy nature and look to their duties with pride. Hope this is of some help to those of you who are considering the Bougainvillea - enjoy the hotel, and leave a space for us on the beach!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PegBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
There are newer reviews for Bougainvillea Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Just got back from our 10 night stay at the Bougainvillea hotel.

Lovely rooms. Always cleaned so well! We had a deluxe studio. No problems at all.

At the bar there are 3 people who always made you feel welcome Dennis Sonia and Roxanne. They were always happy. Always went out their way to help you. Drinks menu is also very good. Mainly drink their amazing Barbados beer or their rum punch! Wow they were good!

Had a few nights at the Lantern restaurant in the hotel. First night we ate there was quite nice. Good service. Then we had their BBQ which was out of this world. The steak was like butter. No exaggeration! They also do a Caribbean buffet too. Which was a let down. They had put a menu up during the day to say what was going to be served (steak in a caramelised onion jus) Sounded really good. My other half and I got really excited for dinner. We get there and the menu had changed to ham. No one knew why. The carving chef didn't even know why! We didn't even like what they had swapped it for. And for what we were paying. Far too over priced! We would have just gone and ate elsewhere.

We went there another time. And the service was ok. Not as good as when we were there the first night. Food. Was ok. The menu just needs to change. So we ate out the rest of the time we were there.

The beach was absolute paradise. Loved every minute of the day spending time on that beach. Very good location!

Reception were always helpful too and always smiley. Recommending places and helping us out with choices.

We went on the spirit of Barbados catamaran cruise. Wow. What a luxury that was too. The girls that do the excursions really helped us out choosing with that too!

Overall. Such a lovely place to stay. And close to everywhere you want to go.

As I said, the only criticism I have to say is the restaurant and the food choice too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I was here from October 01st for 2 weeks. I was on my honeymoon and we loved this place. Yes it was quiet, and there was a little work going on. All we saw was a little painting here and there, which shows that the people care. Also a few lower rooms were being refurbished. None of this spoilt our stay. Even though the place was quiet, the staff were simply superb. October is a little out of season so the price to travel to Barbados is generally cheaper. The team from management down to the staff were all extremely helpful and eager to please. We hope to travel back again very soon. Many thanks to all.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Right on the sandy beach on the South West coast of Barbados, this is a truly spectacular setting where the wild Atlantic Ocean of the East Coast meets the calm waters of the Caribbean on the West Coast. The hotel is not as popular as some on the West Coast, and therefore the rates are not as high and in the quiet season (October) it is very peaceful.
The staff - many of whom have been there since I first used this hotel maybe 15 years ago - are very polite and helpful.
The accommodation is in apartments - a studio apartment is ideal for 2 people, and includes a large bed, a sofa bed, kitchenette, patio or balcony with furniture....
Although it is self-catering - there is a small convenience store 100 yards away - there is also an excellent on-site restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, and taxis at the front desk if you want to venture further afield - St. Lawrence Gap is a long walk or a short taxi ride ($10) - where you can find many bars and restaurants. There is a good bus service to the capital Bridgetown - or shared taxis - if you don't mind sitting on someone's lap - 12 or more people in a minibus with 7 seats is quite common - but cheap, and an excellent way to meet some of the locals!
.

Room Tip: Deluxe Studios (the hotel call them Junior Suites) are a good compromise between facilities and cost...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It was our first visit to Barbados and had heard such positive things about Barbados and unfortunately Bougainvillea did not live up to it's ratings. They were under major refurbishment so the noise and inconvenience was unbearable. Only 1 restaurant was opened, 2 pools were closed and numerous activities throughout the week were cancelled. I have never complained but the day before leaving I did speak with the manager however to my surprise she was not that concerned. I told her it was unacceptable and unbelievable that it was not even being acknowledged that the resort was undergoing construction. Surprisingly nothing was given or even discounted to their maybe 20 guests that week of September 22nd. Barbados is a very expensive, beautiful island and the people are very friendly, unfortunately Bougainvillea ruined the experience for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l0vest0travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

We are very sorry that your visit came at a time when we were carrying out the property upgrades. There is never a good time for projects like this, however they are necessary for us to maintain the standards that our guests have come to expect.

We did everything we could to minimise inconvenience to our guests and dealt with issues based on the location of guest rooms, the level of inconvenience (i.e. concerns of those in the immediate vicinity of the work were addressed in a different way to those who were well away from the area). Also, as you indicated, there were relatively few guests here during this time so the pool and restaurant that were open was easily able to comfortably accommodate everyone.

Nevertheless, we do regret your disappointment and hope that as you enjoyed Barbados, you will one day consider giving us the opportunity to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Lovely hotel for a relaxing beach break. The service was excellent throughout our stay. Good location, only a short taxi ride to Oistins or the gap for the evening. Would highly recommend visiting Oistins on a friday night to get a taste of real Barbados! We ate at Lanterns a couple times, they have buffet nights where you can try traditional Bajan food which was delicious. We stopped at the pool bar most nights for cocktails the bar staff Dennis and Roxy will keep you entertained!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank k8alx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Wife and I stayed 1st-15th Sept. expecting something that resembled the Virgin brouchure. However, we were unaware of the fact that only one of the two restaurants were open and that a major refurb was scheduled for the second week of our holiday. Maggie, the manager sorted our issues and re-located us to another hotel. (ocean 2 really is an upgrade!)
I hope the Bougainvillea can get their renovations completed quickly because it could be a lovely place to stay for a holiday.
Not really a 4 star at the moment.
All staff great, and Sonia on the beach bar is great at her job and a really lovely person.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davidwquarrybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

We are so sorry that the upgrades took place at the time of your holiday - sadly, there is never a good time to carry out improvements but they are necessary as we want to offer the best faciltiies to our guests.

We will be reopening all of our pools and swim-up pool bar on Thursday, September 27th, 2012, as all work is scheduled to be completed. We hope that you will give us a second chance and if your ever in doubt, please contact us for first hand information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,083 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,708 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: £127 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), West Indies, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing