We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Piece of Peace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little Piece of Peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just what We wanted in a weekend Get Away. Simple, clean, comfortable Deluxe Stuio Ground floor with patio. Ten steps to the pool, Twenty steps to the Lanterns restaurant, Maybe 50 steps to the Beach. More than enough Beach chairs at all times. Just enough entertainment if you didn,t want to leave the hotel. Location was good: close to The Gap, Oistins, Airport and other attractions.I picked the Bougainvillea from internet reviews and was pleasantly surprised. The best thing was the Staff: Welcoming, accommodating, Thoughtful, fun.They would do anything to make you happy. The day we got there i really enjoyed the christophene soup.I told the waitress, Onika how much I enjoyed it and I may want to make it for a Thanksgiving appetizer. She immediately brought the Chef out and he had no problem explainig his simple recipe. Let me not forget Ann who made our early morning coffee Perfect.They really work hard to make you want to return to the Bougainvillea. We met alot of nice people from all over the world. Drinks wer nice.Just enough alcohol to give you a buzz and make you want more.
Drawbacks.: Ocean was roug. Red flags and yellow flags were up more often than we would have liked. Breakfast buffet little dry and expensive. Could have had more variety and mor local type food. We wanted local food nobody explained that the Saturday Sweet Mouth was the .taste of Bajan food, We missed it. Thanks to the front desk staff for helping me get prescription medication at the local pharmacy when I couldn't find mine, I will go back

Room Tip: Poolside was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merceemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    624
    139
    32
    27
See reviews for
570
919
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from my first visit to Barbados and I wish I was still there. The people are the friendliest I've ever met. Everyone does whatever they can to make sure that you return to the island. This is especially true of the Bougainvillea Beach Report. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a cold towel to help with the heat, to our final goodbyes, all the staff went out of their way to be nice. This included maintenance and security staff even when they say us at the bar (4 beers for $10bdn) across the road from the hotel. The room we had was on the ground floor right next to the beach and was surprising large. It included a sitting area and quite a large kitchen. We only used the fridge and the kettle but we did notice that regular guests cooked meals in theirs. We ate quite a few of our meals at the restaurant on the beach and the food was quite good but the biggest benefit was the view.
Now for the best part. the beach. it is amazing. As it is due south, it gets the sun all day. One day we were up early and say sunrise over the beach and then later on, sunset. Wonderful. The highlight of our holiday was rescuing newly born turtles on the beach and making sure they made it to the water. having a baby turtle in my hand will something I'll remember for the rest of my life.
Although there is not much immediately around the hotel, we walked to Oistins (about 15 minutes) and also St Laurence Gap (also about 15 minutes if you walk along the beach and cut through between the hotels). As we went in the off season (supposedly the rainy season but we only say about 15 minutes in the week we were there) both Oistins and the gap were quite.
All in all a wonderful place and well deserving of the excellent rating.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ground floor right close to the beach. Being able to simply lock the door and walk 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richiewoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

That something is Great Job Bougainvillea! My wife and I can't say enough about the fantastic staff at Bougainvillea. This is a very nice hotel in a great location. It was all we expected it to be. Actually it was even better due to the Bougainvillea Staff. I thought that September might be a little "iffy" weather-wise but our week was outstanding. I could ramble on about this and that but take my word on this one - Book It! - you won't be disappointed! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I must say I was a little nervous about coming back to the same hotel I stayed in when I first visited 2 years ago but when I arrived I was shocked to see that many of the staff remembered me and my boyfriend by my name. Onika was memorable as we did find ourselves conversing a lot, she made me feel at home. I recognized many people's faces, even the souvenir sellers that would come in on certain days remembered me and wanted to do my hair next time. We somehow managed to get a honeymoon suite with a private deck and balcony so there was a lot of place for lounging and enjoying the sites. It was very spacious and the bed was really comfortable, best sleep in a long time. If you wanted to you could leave your door open during the day to enjoy a breeze. You also get a complimentary wine or was it champagne? There is also a kitchenette so you can take your food with you back to your room and finish it later. I was lucky to come after all the said renovations were complete so I didn't have any serious noise issues besides occasionally hearing your neighbor's TV. The food was amazing, one thing you MUST try is the smoked/blackened flying fish. I had that as much as I could, almost every night I was there. Breakfast was different this time, maybe it's because we came earlier than last time, but it was buffet style and it had a nice variety of food. Only thing I recommend is during busy times (like July-August) book a reservation for dinner or you might be stuck waiting up to an hour for your food. There was music, entertainment, and something going on at least every night. There are many options for getting around, most of the time I had a driver or taxi. Since it was Crop-Over time us and a driver agreed to meet up at a certain time to make it to the route, unfortunately my preps ran an hour longer than expected and he waited for me. I felt terrible, I apologized. The beaches were nice like before, it looks like they made some changes since I've been there. More trees and different umbrellas which now have lights in them.The swim up bar was great, we had no issues with our drinks except they are pretty expensive but no more than you pay at home. I had no issue with the safe or air conditioning. Just make sure all your windows and doors are closed properly for the air conditioner to work or it will shut off automatically. Overall, I was impressed again and I would definitely stay here for a third time!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suites on the top floor has a private deck and deluxe rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at this resort for our vacation this year due to the number of positive reviews we read on this site and also because we wanted to stay somewhere quiet and within close and safe proximity to the main road and the infamous Gap.

After landing, we took one of the airport taxis and it didn't take us more than thirty minutes to reach this hotel.

Firstly, upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised that our room was well prepared and ready for us even though we had arrived much earlier than the check-in time.

Apart from that, additional positives of this resort are outlined as follows:
1) The resort is small and beautiful
2) The pools were always clean
3) The service was very good
4) The staff were friendly and always willing to assist
5) The rooms were always well kept
6) The food at the Lanterns restaurant was tasty
7) After checking out at 11:00AM, they allowed us the option of accessing the hotel's complimentary room, since we had a 9:00PM flight.
8) Getting to the Gap was a breeze. We just walked along the beach and back which is a much faster router.

One negative however is that this resort has no elevator.

All in all, my husband and I enjoyed our stay here, mostly because it allowed for many walks to and from areas such as the Southern Plaza and the Gap and also because it offered a quite, relaxing, and enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: Beware of the stairs. For less walking, choose a room on the ground floor or one level above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tnjshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Good resort with nice public.. we had a small problem with our fridge and went to the reception... problem fixed in 5 minutes..my compliments. Great friendly staff. Outside the hotel (200 meters to the right) you can buy sandwiches, eggs, drinks and small stuff like icecreams... friendly woman. I understood she is renting the store and I was happy to buy some products ... about 15 / 20 minutes walk to Oistins for a big supermarket.. taxi back to the hotel is 20 dollar (local BB-dollars)... Oistin fish market is a must. Snapper is delicious..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astenhutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed from 11/09/13, what a truly idillic beach hotel ! From the day you arrive , till day you leave you are made to feel welcome !! 14 days of sheer relaxing on the beautiful beach , dinning in Lanterns restaurant , managers party, evening entertainment, outdoor movies, so much more ! It was my birthday whilst there & they really made it special for me .. Thank you to all staff , from garden services , housekeeping, the bars,restaurant , reception & water sports what a family feel hotel . Accommodation ( one bed deluxe suite) was fantastic balcony views to enticing blue turquoise seas ... I have to mention Sharon the general manager , Sharon went out of her way to make this birthday holiday just perfect !! We had a slight hitch which she sorted quickly & efficiently , to which we are both very grateful ! . Food is good , pool bar good , yes other comments have said expensive , we didn't find it any more expensive than food & drink at home ! Plenty of sun beds & a very nice water sports men will get you a sun parasol !! A lovely walk up the beach to st Lawrence gap , hire a car & trips out from activities desk who are very helpful , a perfect holiday hotel .. Would I recommend hotel ?? Most deffinately ! Just wish I could give a higher star rating !! Any bad points ??? Can't think of any ! Two very happy people can't wait to return ..(see pics )

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanzanitelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
10.4 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.3 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, TravelUp, Destinology, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Holiday Gems and Travelbag so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing