We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is delightful! We have just returned from our honeymoon in Barbados, and we spent our last four nights at this resort. There are several pros and cons worth consideration here, but overall, I'd go back again absolutely! PROS: 1) excellent pools with great swim up bar. The pool area is surrounded by beautiful trees and flowers, and the pools sit directly on the beach. 2) The hotel restaurant serves delicious food for breakfast and lunch. We never had dinner there, so I don't know, but I'd expect that is good too! 3) The rooms are big and spacious, and the beds have a gel top on them - SUPER comfortable.

CONS: 1) The shower was bad. There is a rainshower showerhead and good water pressure. But the temperature was messed up, and the shower went from freezing cold to scolding hot, and constantly back and forth again. Irritating. 2) Internet is AWFUL. I had to stay connected to work, and the internet they have on the property didn't do the job.

We spent most of our time when we were at the hotel around the pool and on the hotel beach. If that's all you care about - this is paradise! The prettiest pool setting we saw! The shower and internet were really annoying, but wouldn't prevent me from returning. The pool and beach are just magical!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkelly7731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    630
    144
    32
    27
See reviews for
583
932
35
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic holiday we had! This is easily the best hotel in Barbados, at a more sensible price than some of the other hotels on the west coast, which is only a short drive away anyway. This hotel has everything. We had a self catering deluxe junior suite, which I would highly recommend. The hotel room also had a huge kingsize bed, air con, big tv, a lovely little balcony where we ate our breakfast each morning - with a wonderful view of the beach and pool, plus an indoor dining area. It also had a big kitchen with appliances and everything we could possibly need. Anything else you specifically require, you can also borrow from reception such as blenders and plug adapters. Being self catering, this allowed us to eat breakfast at any time and make sandwiches to take out for lunch, then visit a different restaurant each night. You will never be short of places to eat out as Barbados has some fabulous restaurants to eat, and its nice not to be restricted to the same place every evening. There are two nice restaurants on site - Waters edge and Lanterns. Both excellent. I would recommend going to Lanterns on a Monday or a Thursday when the hotel normally has a Caribbean bbq with live entertainment. We had two fantastic evenings here, with entertainment including steel pans, stilt walkers and dancers.
The hotel also holds a complimentary cocktail party every Monday evening, where you can enjoy free rum punch, tropical juice drinks and canapes while enjoying the sun setting on the beach.
For lunch, there is a lovely man named Leroy who cooks homemade dishes, and parks his van outside the hotel every lunchtime where you can get delicious traditional Caribbean food for $10 US dollars or $20 Barbados dollars. Absolutely perfect for lunch and you can take it up to your room or eat it by the pool.
The other hotel facilities were also fantastic, with a big gym, games room and a few kids play areas, including an outdoor tortoise and hare pet and play area. They also have a complimentary movie night for guests every Tuesday under the stars, where you can relax on comfy deck chairs and buy drinks or popcorn if you wish. They also provide you with blankets in case you get chilly. They really have thought of everything!
The hotel also has a choice of three outdoor swimming pools, which are lovely and are being continuously maintained. One of which has a stylish pool bar, which makes excellent cocktails. On arrival you are issued with one free drink token per person, which is a nice touch. The resort has its own private beach called Maxwell beach, which is kept very clean. The staff also bring you drinks to your deck chair on the beach, which is an added bonus.
We also spotted a few turtles swimming around Maxwell beach outside the hotel, even though they are more easily found on the west coast. There's also as a selection of complimentary water sports available for guests, such as kayaking. You also have access to a jet ski and excursions for an additional cost. There is an activities desk in reception with very helpful staff that can organise this for you. All the staff at this resort were very friendly and smiley and nothing was ever too much for them. And the maid did a wonderful job of cleaning our room every day.
The hotel is walking distance of Oistins which is very lively on a friday night, and also St. Lawrence gap, which has a selection of nice restaurants, bars and nightlife.
Overall this hotel had everything we could have possibly wanted and more. I would highly recommend this resort for a holiday to remember. Staying here was a truly magical experience. We met many other guests at the resort during our stay, who have been coming to the same resort for over ten years and we agree we would not go anywhere else. Thank you to everyone at the Bougainvillea who made our holiday so enjoyable. Ellena and Jon Hill xx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marriedladyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We traveled back to Barbados and the Bougainvillea for week May 8th to the 15th. The staff made us feel right at home on arrival and throughout our stay, one the friendliest group of staff we have ever dealt with, many thanks.
Our room was very well maintained and clean. Room 5416 is a one bedroom unit and very spacious, being on the fourth floor though be prepared for climbing the stairs. All the rooms have an ocean view so no worries on where you end up but if you want to be as close to the ocean as possible then ask for units in building 7 or 8.
The beach lounges are the kind with plastic or rubber strapping so all quite comfortable for lounging and reading or just resting.
Fridays is the fish Fry at Oistins and the hotel arranges a shuttle which picks up at the hotel, and takes one to the fish market and returns, a very good service and the driver Wayne is a great guy.
Overall a really well run resort with great staff, we'll be back and will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Units in building 7 and 8 are closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gjmartin428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I have been going to this resort twice a year for about 14 years we just came home and already can not wait to go back the staff are so real just good people will help in any way they can they treat us like family and we treat them the same the rooms are all ocean pool and garden view I mean all 3 you have it all with all the rooms the views are breath taking the water is multiple colors of blue so pretty sand is white beach is very clean make sure you let Margaret on the beach braid your hair or get some island handmade jewelry from her she is so funny the 3 pools and one kids pool are beautiful waterfalls and beautiful flowers everywhere also well maintained great entertainment and buffet at night also fire floor show or just music to dance too we always have a good time also this island and resort are so safe you never have to be afraid you can leave the resort and never worry the locals are wonderful people as well and Friday nights are a must to be at ostin's the whole island is there it is a big party with great food and dancing but get ready there are so many people there you can not even imagine you'll see and you will have a blast !!!! And for lunch you have to eat with Leroy he is the food cart right outside the door of the resort he has the best food on the island for only10.00 us his coleslaw is the best I ever had I only had one issue with this resort they do not like cats and all the guest love them and while I was there these 4 little kids were playing with the cats and they told me some lady that works there told them not to feed the cats because they we going to get rid of them so these children asked me if that mean't they were going to kill them what a horrible thing for an adult to make a child think shame on them there parents were upset as well The bourgainvillia does not realize how many guest just love those kitty's with that being said book your next vacation in beautiful Barbados and stay at the bourgainvillia and you will keep returning as we have Linda and Fred brown

Room Tip: If you can not walk well book a room on the ground floor as there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This is our third time to Bougainvillea and we wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island. The staff are ao welcoming and many remembered us. My son is three years old and all staff were so friendly to him. Very attentive too. We only ever plan to stay here on any return, great beach, great people. Anyone who comes and who doesn't experience such great staff either has way too much expectation, lack of patience or just doesn't get what Bajans are about. Roxi, Walter, leena, Hayden, Jose, Ryan, Jamal, Anthony, boy you make thai place wonderful. Love it love it love it. Thank you for everything. Jilly, Richie and ravi

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jillykor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent a week here 1st week May '14. On arrival, we weren't sure of the area around it as it looked quite run down, but once we saw the beautiful beach (we think best on the island - they are building a Sandals nearby) we loved it. The watersports team will get a beach parasol to put wherever you want it, plenty of sunbeds all free of charge. The restaurants are right on the beach too, which is unusual as they are normally set back. The staff were so friendly (Jose, Roxy, Ryan on the bar) as were most guests staying there, and the guests were a good mix of ages Many go out in the evening to St Lawrence Gap, my only criticism is that the restaurant menus are limited and not changing during the week, bar a few specials. We did enjoy the Caribbean floorshow, the Manager's cocktail party and bbq though, we went to Oistins fish fry, an Island tour and Catamaran trip to the West Coast to swim with turtles. Our room was large and well maintained. We spoke to several guests who return year after year, (one for 15 years!) and the staff recognise them and are friends. I had a medical problem one evening and Shivaun and other staff were so caring, arranging a taxi and doctors appt for me and enquired how I was for days after, this was so lovely and reassuring during our first visit to Barbados.

Room Tip: If you're not happy with the room allocated, ask if there is another - the staff are so willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdmg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Coming back for the last 20 years should evidence how wonderful this resort is.
The Staff actually remember us each year and we have made some great international 'same time, next year' friendships.
Hotel management superb and interactive with guests, one always feels welcome and special and the service is superb.
Looking forward to many more visits!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing