We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel....”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We've just come back from a fabulous holiday in Barbados. We've been to Barbados before and stayed at lots of different hotels, but since finding the Bougainvillea, we keep coming back!
I like it for so many reasons:
1. It's beautiful and elegant but also unpretentious, ultra-friendly and very Bajan. The staff - no matter what their role - from manager to security - are friendly, personable and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is special.
2. It's very at ease with the island. The food is locally sourced and you don't feel like you are sealed in a western bubble. Bajans can chat to guests on the beach without being hassled by overzealous staff moving people on, unless they are clearly unwanted. If people try to sell you something you don't want, just politely decline - but it's always worth having a chat. We were talking to a really interesting man selling bird feeders made from coconuts. It turned out his son had just competed in the Commonwealth Games in boxing.
3. Guests come here from all over the world as well as other Caribbean Islands. We met a pensioner from Tobago, a family from Grenada and some Bajans living in the US who had returned for Cropover. All were eulogising about how perfect Bougainvillea was.
4. It's great for kids with three different pools to choose from. The sea is also great when they become stronger at swimming with exciting waves to body-board on. You can borrow boards, canoes, buckets and spades, rackets and balls for the beach as well as noodles, air beds and balls for the pools.
5. The food is lovely. Breakfasts at Lanterns restaurant by the beach is a great way to start the day.
6. The hotel is in a nice quiet location away from the airport. It's not far from Oistins (fab Fish Fry on Friday night) and St Lawrence Gap (bars, restaurants) but you will need to take a short taxi ride, hire a car or try the bus to get there. We always hire a car to see the island - there's so much to see and do and using private taxis several times a day can be a bit pricey.
... and finally, Bougainvillea is all about the people. From the ever smiling Marvie in the restaurant to cheeky-chapppie Jose Manuel in the pool bar, the Bougainvillea bunch are wonderful with everyone. It doesn't matter who you are or where you are from - on an all inclusive deal or a local day guest, a pensioner or a kid, a honeymooning couple or a grumpy tourist with sunburn - they try their best to make you relax. What's not to like?!

Room Tip: If you want to be away from the action, choose a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    630
    144
    32
    27
See reviews for
583
934
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one week in July 2014. I am truly impressed by the staff, very warm and friendly and how well maintained and clean the hotel is. Beautifully manicured grounds and lovely beach. Maggie, the day manager upgraded us so that we would have a better view of the ocean, which we thought very special. We were treated so well and even received hugs from 2 of the waitresses at the beach front restaurant the day we were leaving. That made us feel very special indeed. We are very impressed and will be returning next year. I really can't say enough about this hotel and it's employees. Well done Bougainvillea. You have the perfect recipe to make everyone's holiday a perfect success.

Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from our week stay on our exchange through RCI. The facility is well maintained (except for one item which I'll note below) and the staff extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. We had a one bedroom penthouse unit, which unfortunately, had a roof leak in the bedroom (dripping from the ceiling fan) after several very strong rains. The staff was great and did what it could to repair it ( lots of rain last week) and we were offered another unit. We declined as we liked the unit and the leak didn't really impact our use - we were offered and accepted a dinner and a breakfast voucher, which we accepted.

Only complaint (and this is not the resort's fault) is it's location - it IS off the "beaten path" and not really within walking distance to anything, and the neighboring roads are in horrible shape.

I'd recommend it to friends and family, but suggest renting a car to explore the island (as we did).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eldorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been to Barbados 9 times and have stayed at the Bourgainvillea on the last 4 occasions. This hotel makes you feel like you are in Barbados, not some sort of face-less, character-less, generic hotel. It's not too big, yet there are areas to escape to and the beaches are perfect. The hotel is extremely warm and welcoming and is fabulous for families. The staff really look out for you and keep an eye on the little ones. Our kids are particularly fond of Marvie, Jose Manuel and Roxanne - but really, they are all superb. From the reception and activities staff to the groundsmen and security, from the restaurant and bar folk, to the guys working the beach, they are an exceptional bunch.
It's about 20 mins outside of Bridgetown and a couple of minutes drive from St Lawrence Gap.
We like to travel round the island and visit different cafes and restaurants, but the breakfasts here are fab. The lunch and evening meals are good too and there's plenty of local dishes to sample.
Can't wait to get back there....

Room Tip: Great attitude to disability. Ask before you book so you can get a room that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our recent 11-day stay at the Bougainvillea was , as usual , fantastic ! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and extremely well run resort in the Caribbean , this is the place ! This was our third stay at this resort and we have never been disappointed . Many of the rooms have been renovated over the past several years and the resort has added several excellent entertainment , dining and water-sport opportunities since our last visit . A daily shuttle to Bridgetown for shopping or to the nearby grocery are also nice additions for anyone who does not want to drive . The two protected beaches are kept spotlessly clean and are quite safe for small children . The friendly, helpful and professional staff seem to really enjoy their jobs, which adds greatly to making this the place for a truly relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 916roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

After researching many other options for our 2014 holiday we had such a good time last year we decided to return. Were greeted warmly with a nice refreshing cold towel and shown to our room. The room we were allocated had a poor view so I phoned reception and we were immediately re-located without any fuss funnily enough to the room we had last year. What really makes the resort special is the staff - to mention a few, Jose and Sonia at the pool bar, Corey on watersports and Shameica at breakfast. A smile and a positive atttitude counts for a lot! We had breakfast vouchers with plentiful choices and ate at Lanterns a number of times.Service can sometimes be on the slow side but hey its a vacation resort! There was an issue with seaweed due to the tides but the grounds team did a great job clearing it. Corey also took us out on the hobie cat which I would recommend! Again a great holiday so thanks to all the great staff gor making us feel so welcome and allowing us to "lime"!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dinoSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

After becoming a time share owner of Bougainvillea in 1997, my family and I have vacationed here every year until present! This private, yet romantic resort affords each guest a warm and embracing experience that will entice them to visit annually. As an African-American with Barbadian roots, I marvel at the unique atmosphere of engaging cultural diversity that is ever-present in the services, food and entertainment activities at Bougainvillea. Upon sharing my experiences with friends and family, others have also visited and now appreciate the numerous amenities offered by the resort. Returning each year to this award-winning resort is a trip to a second home. There is truly no place like this friendly and immaculate paradise away from home, where class greets you upon arrival!

Room Tip: All rooms are quite accommodating with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Netbrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, West Indies, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing