We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carib Blue Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I spent three nights at these apartments, the workers and host are very very friendly people. The rooms are great, with kitchen and bathroom. Your room is cleaned everyday. Cable, air condition, balcony...Check out time is 12:00 noon I think but we were allowed to stay in the room up till 2:00pm without any additional charge. There are maps and other brochures with info. on Barbados available for you to take freely.
However I was not able to get wireless internet access from my room and balcony. I had to go to the reception area to get internet access. I also disliked the bathroom size. It is extremely very small and as a result when you are having a bath the area outside the bathroom gets flooded. But when you're gone the maids take care of that.
I would however recommend this place, its very affordable and close to the beach, souvenir shops, mini marts, bars and clubs (St. Lawrence gap is da best) also the main road to get taxis to take u to town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ayanna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

I just want to echo what ericmorrow said in his review. This is a great place and we also stayed there in Jan 2011 for two weeks. Check this place out if you want a simple place to base yourself while you get out and about. For location St Lawrence Gap is hard to beat and we spent the best part of 4 weeks exploring Barbados. The beach at Dover is as good as anything on the West Coast and certainly the best on the South Coast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevebrosnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I just spent a week here with a friend of mine exploring Barbados. It was a great find. Most hotels on the island are expensive, all-inclusive places that I don't care for. Carib Blue is a simple as it gets - simple beds, clean room, little balcony looking out towards the beach. The people, from the maids to Mr and Mrs. Maxwell were all friendly and fun (although not packed with local knowledge). They go out of their way to make sure you're happy and content.

You know what kind of person you are - if you want a cheap, clean place near everything and you like to go out and explore rather than stay at your hotel, this place rocks. If you want a nice place to come home to and don't want to leave your all-inclusive and want a big, comfy bed, you should look elsewhere. But after spending $80/night, we had a ton of cash to spend at the restaurants (expensive in Barbados) and on surfing lessons and diving trips.

However, the attached restaurant run by Christine was the highlight of our trip. She is a warm woman and cooked dinner for us nearly every day. We tried some of the snazzier restaurants which had nice food but no personal connection. She even sent us home with hot pepper sauce! This restaurant is truly a hidden gem - check it out and love it! We brought friends we made out during the day there for dinner almost every night and had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ericmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

OK - so the apartments are not 5* - but they are clean, comfortable, functional, and all have bathrooms, air conditioning, kitchen facilities and television ...

Mr and Mrs Maxwell and their staff are only too happy to help with finding local attractions and helping you have a great vacation ... add to that the fact you are 125 yards from the beautiful Dover Beach, in the middle of St Lawrence Gap and is renowned nightlife of restaurants and bars...

If you are in your apartment that much - you are not enjoying the beautiful place and people that are Barbados!!

[--]

2  Thank InspiredFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2006

Spent two weeks here and it is certainly not expensive. My bill came to just under £650 for two weeks but the room was very "tired" and small. Requested TV in room which didn't work but luckily after a bit of playing around discovered the arial was faulty so fixed it. Fridge very old and noisy (but very effective)and kitchen units were tired and contained very limited cutlery and crockery. Wiring/lighting very basic and didn't use fan because convinced it would fall off ceiling. Reception staff were mixed. Young girl was a star with a beautiful smile but the other receptionist was a little surly (v. strange for the caribbean). Apartments are close to The Gap so nice and central but you will only be bothered by noise from pubs and clubs at weekends. Overlooking the cricket / football ground was fun as they play music in between overs - although be warned they train on a Sunday morning and they are there well before 8am. Good points were central location, nice clean bedding, toilet and sink cleaned well (however floor was not cleaned and this was noticeable), excellent air conditioning and good sized balcony. The security guard was great as he came to my rescue when I found a huge bug in my room late at night (a roach apparantly - but hey it is the carribean)! I know it depends on the time of year but I stayed at The Coral Mist late November last year for less than Carib Blue and that is a true find an absolute Gem of a place. So Carib Blue is an ok place as long as you manage your expectations.

Stayed: February 2006
4  Thank pipcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cornwall, England
211
Reviewed 18 June 2005

These apartments are situated right on the edge of St Lawrence Gap. Far enough from the noise, but within stumbling distance. On one web site I visited is does state there is a restaurant on site, but unfortunately this had to close this year. Not to worry tho' loads nearby - 3 min walk. The beach is 2 min walk, being renovated to serve the tourist better.
The aprtments are clean, with ac, phone, tv, fridge and cooker. Basic cooking utensils.
Wilbur and Agnes that run the apartments will do anything they can to make your stay a pleasant one. For example not all rooms have a safe, ( but there are deposit boxes at reception ) when I asked if there was a safe in the room, Agnes immediately moved us next door where we had a safe. Can't be more helpful than that!
Excellant value for money. We had booked through an agent on the net and when we arrived I was told by Agnes that the price qouted was wrong, I immediately thought it was going to be more, but no it was less!! As we were staying 2 weeks it worked out £80 less. What service.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Castries, St. Lucia, West Indies
18
Reviewed 13 October 2003

This was primarily a business trip for myself and my girlfriend. But we decided to turn it into a small getaway for the two of us since the business part of the trip was concluded in the first day. It turns out we got a lot more than we could have hoped for.Our hotel, the 'Carib Blue Apartments', had large comfortable apartments with full amenities and private balcony.It was all well priced for travelers on a tight budget, not to mention less than 5 minutes walk from Dover beach, the night life of St. Lawrence Gap, restaurants, supermarkets and public transportation.The people were friendly and always ready to give advice or directions on where to go. We made several new friends on our all too brief weeklong vacation and look forward to returning next year.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
1.2 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteray Apartment Hotel
Monteray Apartment Hotel
#28 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
63 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adulo Apartments
Adulo Apartments
#14 of 77 in Christ Church Parish
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Clearwater Apartments
Clearwater Apartments
#28 of 77 in Christ Church Parish
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rio Guest House
Rio Guest House
#4 of 4 in St. Lawrence Gap
137 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gemini House Bed & Breakfast
Gemini House Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 25 in Christ Church Parish
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carib Blue Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carib Blue Apartment Hotel

Address: #60 Dover Terrace, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: £71 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carib Blue Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carib Blue Apartments is located in Dover on an incline where you get the south sea breeze which has a calming effect on even the most stressed individual. Less than 2 minutes away is the popular Dover Beach with is clear water and white sand where you can relax and occasionally get a glimpse of the endangered sea turtle. We offer you a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere with a touch of excitement for those who want to be adventurous. We are just a stone throw away from a number of restaurants who offer delicacies for all taste, the night life is just minutes away easy access to good partying and great food. Our apartments comprise of Studios, One Bedroom and Two Bedroom apartments designed for your comfort. With a relaxing view of Dover Beach and Dover Playing Field you are liable to unwind as soon as you enter our establishment. All apartments are equipped with A/C Units, Cable television, Kitchenettes, private bathroom, balcony two single beds or one double bed as required. Our friendly staff ensures you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience. We await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Carib Blue Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carib Blue Apartment Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing