We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i'm glad i came home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteray Apartment Hotel
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“i'm glad i came home”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

having originally grown up in barbados it might be hard to fathom that when i go back i stay in hotels and not with family members. it's just me. i chose monteray because i'd been there a couple times before and the prices for the rooms are always reasonable. this time was no exception. what always strikes and leaves a chord with me is the courteousness and professionalism of the staff members. and those cleaning the rooms are just as friendly as those in the office. the beach is a stone's throw away and they just updated all the rooms with cable. monteray is a wonderful place to be; feels like i never left home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Needlestack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
19
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My fiance and I recently traveled to Barbados for a close friend's birthday. Finding a place to stay for a reasonable price was hard, but this place had great rates. On top of that the service was amazing and the beautiful beach was literally steps away. It was my first trip to Barbados, but I am already planning to go back and will surely be staying at Monteray Apartment Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fwimbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

the idea of going to barbados and finding somewhere to stay that will not put you on the doorsteps of the salvation army is becoming an absolute rarity. for me, the choice of a hotel involves far more than price, but when one can obtain a very nicely sized room, courteous staff members and an excellent location to boot, i have to confess that i am more than pleased to have recently chosen the monteray apartment hotel. there is an onsite restaurant, so finding something decent to eat is no issue. i appreciated the quiet environment and the proximity to the beach, in addition to the fact that there is an onsite pool. until i become a millionaire, and can pay more just because, the monteray is it for me! thanks guys!

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Needlestack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

I have traveled to Barbados several times over the years and its getting very hard to find a reasonably priced hotel on the island. This is one of them. Monteray is clean, located in the Best area of barbados and a 45 second walk , literally, from the beach. They also have a pool, but why would you use it when you can go to the beach? There are at least 8 restaurants and 10 bars located within a 5 mins walk of the hotel and I felt completely comfortable walking around at night. Also, even though i think its silly to stay in the room all day when you travel i should let you know that the rooms are huge. I promise the studios must be the largest in the island!!! RIght acoss the street there is a little restaurant called Scotty's. The food is true authentic caribbean food. Go to Monteray, enjoy barbados and you won't be dissappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — the staff made you feel like they really cared about making sure you were happy
  • Disliked — one day the restaurant wasnt open for breakfast, but then i just went across the street and ate there
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelguruNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

I recently spent a week at Monteray Apartments, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados. I was given a one bedroom suite as there were no studios available when I arrived. The rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable. The rooms are in need of some updated furniture and better lighting in the living room area. The television in the room only had the 2 local stations - no cable. There was a safe in the room. The kitchen was well equipped, except that a coffee maker would have been a most welcome addition. The bathroom was clean and functional - would have liked a bathtub. The staff were all very friendly, happy and helpful. The public areas and pool always clean, and the property well maintained. There is a small restaurant in the hotel and the food is reasonable and wonderful. This was my 35th trip to Barbados since 1972. I would recommend this property. It is not the Hilton but I do not want the Hilton in the Carribbean.

Helpful?
6 Thank gfiodine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2005

Monteray describes itself as "modern". It was true in the 60', but, even if it was not upgraded since, it is very well kept and staff is very friendly. Very comfortable appartment (especially the beds), with kitchen amenities, wonderfully located in St-Lawrence Gap, but still tranquil. You really are in the heart of fun, but still hear no noise when you wish for calm! Dover Beach is the nicest of the island, and we went around many of them! Staying there, you don't even need to rent a car; they event take you to Bridgetown and back for free!
We enjoyed tremendously our stay and would certainly think about going back there is we retourn to Barbados (there are so many places to see around the world!).

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Quebec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2005

Friendly hotel but over priced. All staff were very polite and welcoming no matter what their job entailed. Found the rates were overpriced as furnitue was not up to date nor facilities, very basic. No cable in the rooms only had the choice of one channel. Inconvinient to watch the cable in the lobby as this was the only place in the hotel with cable TV. Our kids loved playing in the pool and the beach was only 5 minutes away. Location of hotel very good as everything to hand ie bank, shops, supermarket, resturants and clubs. Even though the rooms were clean I think this hotel would benefit from a yearly paint touch up to keep it fresh looking, also the rooms could do with a facelift along with the furniture. We did enjoy our stay it was very comfortable. I would reccomend that groups of 4 people stay at this hotel, as it would be cheaper, the rates are per room and largest room can hold up to four people.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caribbean2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.5 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#34 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
52 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
121 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#44 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteray Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteray Apartment Hotel

Property: Monteray Apartment Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap, BB15023, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteray Apartment Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monteray Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteray Apartment Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing