We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place. Does the trick!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteray Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monteray Apartment Hotel
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place. Does the trick!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Monteray Apartment Hotel last month and we had a nice experience. The place certainly isn't anything fancy, but its a solid value for the price, and it was nice to have a kitchen - we only used it for breakfast, but still, it was a good way to save a couple bucks.

The hotel has a good location - towards the end of the Gap, so its not too loud, and its a minute or two walk from a nice beach. One of the cool features of the beach is that a boat called the Cliff Sharker offers a 'swimming with turtles' boat ride right from the beach. We went them and had a great experience - Charles and Mary were great, we got plenty of quality time with the turtles, and Mary had an underwater camera, so she took pictures of us having fun and then she shared them with us on facebook that night. I thought that was extremely crafty! I'd definitely recommend their tour - if you're interested,look for Charles and Mary on the beach - they wear Cliff Sharker t-shirts.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
19
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg.mb
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

I have visited Barbados many times and the Monteray Hotel is my favorite. Close to the beach, the maids and staff are very accomodating.

I am ready for my next vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceebee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

I stayed at Monteray for a weekend getaway with some dear friends. The hotel was value for money and made the stay in Barbados most comfortable. The rooms were clean, the furniture was tidy, the grounds were well kept and the pool added to the experience. The hotel was within walking distance of the beach and a great variety food. I could not have asked for anything better...good friends, good food, good fun!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Le0_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

This was first trip to Barbados and I definitely return AND stay at the Monterey! ...and recommend to all family and friends. This trip was for my older sister's birthday, the group had 3 generations: parents, my niece, friends from secondary school and college....we all had a blast! The staff was friendly, even taking time to play with the kids! We stayed at the 3 bedroom apartment which was everything you could ask for on a vacation, with patio and backyard, parking, and separate entrance! There is a great pool for an early morning swim and we were literally across the street from the beach, walking distance from 'the gap' which had the world's variety in food choices in every price range!
This is a first rate hotel choice, excellent location, and great amenities!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosiAlfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

having originally grown up in barbados it might be hard to fathom that when i go back i stay in hotels and not with family members. it's just me. i chose monteray because i'd been there a couple times before and the prices for the rooms are always reasonable. this time was no exception. what always strikes and leaves a chord with me is the courteousness and professionalism of the staff members. and those cleaning the rooms are just as friendly as those in the office. the beach is a stone's throw away and they just updated all the rooms with cable. monteray is a wonderful place to be; feels like i never left home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Needlestack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

My fiance and I recently traveled to Barbados for a close friend's birthday. Finding a place to stay for a reasonable price was hard, but this place had great rates. On top of that the service was amazing and the beautiful beach was literally steps away. It was my first trip to Barbados, but I am already planning to go back and will surely be staying at Monteray Apartment Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fwimbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

the idea of going to barbados and finding somewhere to stay that will not put you on the doorsteps of the salvation army is becoming an absolute rarity. for me, the choice of a hotel involves far more than price, but when one can obtain a very nicely sized room, courteous staff members and an excellent location to boot, i have to confess that i am more than pleased to have recently chosen the monteray apartment hotel. there is an onsite restaurant, so finding something decent to eat is no issue. i appreciated the quiet environment and the proximity to the beach, in addition to the fact that there is an onsite pool. until i become a millionaire, and can pay more just because, the monteray is it for me! thanks guys!

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Needlestack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.5 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#33 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#43 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon
#30 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteray Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteray Apartment Hotel

Property: Monteray Apartment Hotel
Address: St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteray Apartment Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Monteray Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteray Apartment Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing