We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
97
96
31
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
96
31
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medical services area surrounding the pool bistro set happy hour is accra rockley beach final statement taking great care plastic patio chairs specialty shops south bar great music playing friendly quick service small complex grilled potatoes end unit room check melted in my mouth
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Firstly , it's very very good value and it 'does what is says on the label'. Barbados and the Pirates Inn are like a comfy armchair , it might be a bit worn around the edges , but you just sink into a wam nice place.

Barbados should be available on the NHS , it's is like taking a 'chill pill' but sadly you have to give it back when you land in the UK . Can you belive it !!! cars on the main road actually stop and allow you to cross the road . ( Unlike the UK where old people are worth 80 points to the motorist ).

Dont look too deeply when you first arrive at the Pirates Inn , you might see a few ragged edges and this may distort your stay , Sit back in your slightly worn but comfy chair , enjoy happy hour , enjoy your Rum and Coke and you won't care about anything . Pirate's Inn is very , very clean and the rooms are well maintained

There is one niggle however , there aren't enough poolside beds those available are well past there sell by date . It's time to get some new one's

Overall . We were well impressed with the Pirates Inn , the staff and fellow guests made it a holiday to remenber . Also ... You must bump into Tony , Tony is a local who loves Manchester Unites , he loves his Rum and Coke and a chat at the bar

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italy20081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We booked this hotel on reading the other reviews about this place and deceided that as it was small and quaint it wouild be quite homely, 6 adults and 3 children later, squashed into 3 rooms, we nick named the place the prison camp! All of us have been to barbados many times and are very familiar with the island and have not come across any problems with accom before as are quite easy to please, this place was very, very small, the photos are deceptive.
The hotel
the rooms are fine if 2 adults are sharing but any more than this, like us and there is no room to move, the camp beds are also uncomfortable, showers, toilets and sinks back up and leave a mess, you have to pay 10us dollars a nite for air con, pool area is tiny with 9 sunbeds for 20? rooms, so forget the sunbathing as people already staying there just leave there towels out constantly, the pool area is covered by palms so you may get 2 hours of sun first thing in the morning.
If you do want to eat at the mini restaurant be prepared to wait... we waited half an hour for a drink, thats taking the michael even for barbados standards, and that was usual, the room next to us also sd that they found a cockroach in there room, so that put us off as well even though we didnt see it. We had 2 run ins with the staff... 1st, the cleaner raised her voioce at having to change the bedsheet as the 3 yr old spilt coke on it, accidents happen. 2nd, pool lady went ballistic when my friend and her 20 month old tried to get in the pool at half 8, ( it opens at 8) calling her stupid numerous times.
So we moved, we werent happy so we got out of there as you do, but it cost an awful lot, local friends also asked why we'd gone there as it isnt that great and the area isnt all that nice, wish we told them b4 we booked. The plus points sre that you are just near the beach and a 10 min stroll would take you to Rockley beach and the Tiki bar is just next to KFC.....but thats it unfortunately. We moved to south gap hotel and was told when there by rose that we are the 2nd lot pf people to transfer from pirates inn, please think twice before you book as we feel we lost the 1st four days being stuck there, sorry guys.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen123Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirateone, Manager at Pirate's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2010

Thank you for your review. We recognise that you are a member of the group, which previously characterised the hotel as a "Hell Hole" in another Tripadvisor review on November 16, 2010. We appreciate that you have taken the time to fully articulate your concerns. This gives all readers the opportunity to assess their validity and gives us, at the hotel, an opportunity to more fully respond.

Overall, I believe that we agree that this hotel was not a good fit for your group. As the least expensive hotel in the Virgin programme, and one that is positioned as "great as a base", we pride ourselves on meeting, and are usually able to exceed, guest expectations. We are a small, economy hotel and have never projected ourselves as anything else. We are therefore surprised at the claim that our photos are deceptive as we go to great lengths to ensure that prospective guests get a very accurate, and realistic, picture of where they will stay. Our website even provides 360 degree views of our front, rooms, pool, reception and dining area to ensure that persons can make an informed decision. The pool area is exactly as pictured on the Virgin website so I would invite anyone to judge for themselves. As a Virgin guest you should have been aware upfront of the US$10 per night charge for air conditioning. Your reading of reviews on Tripadvisor should have reinforced this point as it is mentioned in several reviews.

It is important that we address your concerns, without giving the appearance that we are trying to minimise the validity of your experience. However, I feel that I must state that we have never, in my five years as Manager, had any group leave due to displeasure with our property. In fact, I believe that you may have misunderstood Rose from South Gap, as when I spoke to her today (November 20, 2010) she had no recollection of mentioning this to you nor, as I already knew, could she recall any group that had come to them from Pirate's Inn.

This is not a fair, or appropriate, forum to address the matter of run-ins with the staff. We are sorry that these situations occurred but we stand by our staff, many of whom have been with the hotel for most of the thirty years of our existence. It is our policy that we treat our guests with utmost care and respect and we also expect this from our guests and, prior to this incident, this has been the case.

The wait time you have described for a drink is of great concern. Generally, due to our small size, we are able to dispense drinks from the bar area and at the tables and we have not previously had any such excessive report and will certainly work hard to ensure that we do not have a recurrence.

We have checked our logs for the period of your stay and have no reports from any guests about sighting of cockroaches. However, if we did, we would treat it seriously. Our property is treated monthly, by both internal and external sources, and we keep our environs as clean as possible to minimise any such occurrences.

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As a regular visitor to our island we hope that, like so many of our repeats, you will be able to find a property that you love and can return to annually. We hope that you will continue to visit our island. It is regrettable that your concerns had to be addressed in this forum; however this experience gives us the opportunity to strive even harder to improve our service and for that we thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Our first visit to Barbados, often recommended to us but never before visited, and as the final port of call on a Round-the-World trip in order to catch the Virgin Atlantic flight straight back into Manchester.
We chose Pirates Inn on the basis of its reasonable rates and the favourable reviews on this forum and were not disappointed. As expected the hotel isn't brand new but the room was clean and everything worked, the pool area, bar and restaurant were fine; also as anticipated the staff were helpful, efficient and friendly, ably led by Renee the manager.
The meals at the restaurant were always pleasant and good value and there are plenty of other eateries near by if you feel like a change. The bus service into Bridgetown and all around the island is convenient, frequent and very cheap, plus the hotel has its own taxi and driver who does an excellent all-island tour.
A thoroughly nice place to stay and we came away with a warm feeling about Barbados in general and the Pirates Inn in particular.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnshorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

From the minute we arrived to the minute we (begrudgingly) left, everyone at The Pirates Inn did everything you would expect from them and more. Everyone was really friendly (it felt like we were staying at a friends rather than in a hotel). Hurricane Tomas hit the island while we were there, and even that did nothing to stop everyone doing there utmost to make our stay the best possible. All the staff were great, but perhaps Sarah should get a special mention for helping my son learn to swim. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I am looking forward to returning there myself.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peebee1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Have stayed at Pirate's about 20 times, including with young children, and would recommend it highly. Everyone is so welcoming and the children love it. We know plenty of families that go back time and again and it's like a reunion each time we see them. There were at least 3 other couples we know staying at the same time as us.
See you next year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews