We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Surf Beach Apartments
São Paulo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for two weeks in late october and probably is one of the most incredible places I've stayed.
All the staff are friendly, polite and always ready to help you to find a good place to eat, to visit and even to borrow you a AC Adapter!

The rooms has a complete kitchen, confortable beds and good space to let your stuffs in the ground (We were traveling with surfing and snorkeling gear and two big luggages) and big balcony to enjoy a beer in the end of the day looking the caribean sea.

The others guest are always friendly and warm too.

We will come back for sure!

Thanks alot Dereck and guys!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarceloQuinalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    35
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
84
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We just returned from my third stay at Southern Surf and we cannot say enough great things about this hotel.
The hotel is neat and well maintained.
The staff at Southern Surf make this hotel great. Audra & Rachel are helpful and polite.
Rooms are cleaned daily by the hotel cleaning staff.
Southern Surf is located along the popular south coast. Walking distance from many restaurants and bars. Restaurants range from fast food, to casual dining to more expensive cuisine. Travelling from the airport to the hotel is a short 15 min. trip.
We plan to stay at Southern Surf during my next vacation to Barbados.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radar888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week spent at Southern Surf. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, and economical housekeeping apartment then this is highly recommended. This is not the Hilton but the units are well appointed, beds are comfortable, decent TV's, free Wifi and the concierge service provided by Rachel & Audra just perfect. Even though it is an apartment hotel, service is still provided daily for cleaning, beds, etc. As there are no toiletries (except soap) provided, make sure you bring own shampoo.

The location is directly across the road from Rockley AKA Accra Beach. Swimming was nice. Not great for snorkeling due to the surf. Even the reef didn't provide much flat water. The tiki bar at the beach is nice, great nightly music but they could sure use some more comfortable seating. Even plastic bucket chairs beats sitting on picnic tables so it is hard to stay too long. Much more has been written about the merits of the beach so I won't go on.

One of the major advantages of Southern Surf is it's proximity to great restaurants & decent shopping. Within an easy walk is Bert's Bar (try the blackened catch of the day) or Champers right across the road, or Tapas a 10 min walk along the beach. We walked to St. Lawrence Gap which is about 15 mins. Caution in the "sidewalks" (where there are) or poorly maintained and often narrow or non-existent and within a few inches of passing buses). We actually walked all the way back from Bridgetown which was 1 1/2 hours. The sidewalks are not in good condition and the roads narrow. Exceptional care needs to be taken especially at night. Taxis start at $15BD or about 1/2 of that in US dollars. Driving tends to be a bit chaotic and not suggested unless really necessary and you're OK driving on the left.

Another nice thing about the apartment is the pool at the back. No jostling for beach chairs and very quiet. The pool was perfect. A bit of shade, lots of sun. Never crowded & very refreshing after a long day.

With 99% of Southern Surf being positive the only drawback to the entire area is that most/all hotels/apartments are along this very busy road (Hastings?). It is very noisy. From 4pm to 7pm, it is just one long line of rush-hour cars, buses, trucks and sitting out on your balcony is not particularly relaxing. Even during non-rush hours it's noisy. Everyone seems to want to honk their horns. For us, it's not a deal-breaker and nothing can be done about this but should be noted by travelers. I think it's just important to know what to expect.

Cab ride from the airport took about 20 mins and cost $20US. On return we asked taxi driver to take an extra few mins to show us some sights. I should have asked how much as when he dropped us off it was $45US.

All around a great country. Very safe, hospitable and friendly people. Suggest for groceries you ask for stores a short walk off the main street where expensive convenience stores abound.

Room Tip: If you like to people watch, get a balcony near the road. Otherwise further back might be better bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Argee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I moved to Southern Surf following a burglary we had endured at our former holiday residence of Newstead Cottage in Dayrells Road. Audra and Rachael were so kind and sympathetic to us after our awful ordeal. The apartment was just what we needed after that cottage, clean, cosy, great facilities, and most of all safe. Thank you Audra and Rachael for all your help and kindness. The noise from the road that other reviewers have mentioned was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grenada_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The road noise is an issue with these apartments, that is why it only costs £70 a night rather than £170. Everything else about them is excellent. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are spotlessly clean (unusual in this age of property as the warm damp climate tends to encourage mildew in the corners and in the shower etc). The noisy road apart the location is excellent, the beach is 100m away as is the Tiki beach bar again with friendly staff, sun loungers and an endless supply of rum punch. There are a number of cafe's and restaurants within walking distance so if all you want to do is eat, drink and sit on the beach then Southern Surf apartments are a good value option by Barbados standards (nothing is cheap in Barbados).
We hired a car which gave us the chance to explore the island but if you don't like, or can't afford that option then there are a plentifully stream of busses which pass right outside the door.
So would we recommend Southern Surf apartments - yes so long as you accept you will be right next to a noisy road, bring your ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If your looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a great location this is it. There is nothing fancy about it but the rooms are clean, the front desk (Aubrey?) is amazing. the pool is nice and the kitchenette is all you need it to be.. Seemed to be an issue with the hot water this time on the higher floors ( as there was none) but last time we were there it was not an issue. I would certainly go back again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

From the time you arrive,...."geeezzz".... the holiday starts nicely with the most welcoming reception by those two lovely ladies Audra & Rachael, man they tell you everything and assist you in ways beyond there call of duty.
My family and i had one of the best holiday experiences staying at this hotel, there's nothing else one could ask for.
A great facility, lovely room with all the amenities, lovely pool, great beach directly opposite, good restaurants and mini mart within walking distance. Anyone reading my review from today onwards, i guess Southern Surf would no longer be the best kept secret. "Just Awesome".
Thank You A&R, thank you Southern Surf, thank you Barbados.

Room Tip: Staying on the south coast of the island gives you the added pleasures of experiencing the best of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisP123IY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
2.8 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
121 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
513 reviews
3.7 mi away
Monteray Apartment Hotel
Monteray Apartment Hotel
#31 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
340 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
216 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Surf Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Surf Beach Apartments

Property: Southern Surf Beach Apartments
Address: Rockley Beach, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Surf Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Surf Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Surf Beach Apartments Hotel Christ Church
Southern Surf Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing