We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Personal Service and Tranquil Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MoonRaker Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MoonRaker Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Arouca, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Personal Service and Tranquil Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed for two weeks at the MoonRaker Beach Hotel and really loved it! i had gone to Barbados for surgery and needed a quiet place, overlookng the ocean where I could recuperate since I would not be able to get out of bed much for at least two weeks. It was an excellent choice. The staff were incredible! I had to stay in the apartment which was fully equipped to make me comfortable, since I literally could not go anywhere for one week since I could not use stairs for a week. Viewing the ocean from my bed was incredible. The ocean breezes - WOW! I am sure they helped me re-coup faster. The entire staff worked together to make sure I was doing ok and comfortable. The owner Steve even installed an internet cable inside the apartment to make sure I could get internet access in my room. He took us to the grocery the first day to get supplies and showed us how to get around. The fresh fish on the menu was absolutely delicious! My husband had to spend many nights down at the bar and restaurant since i could not join him. He met incredible people to talk to and have fun with - i was so glad. I am been to Barbados several times, about five (5). I have stayed at the Accra Beach Hotel and at the Hilton and must say this was my best experience in Barbados. For those who surf - the surfing is amazing. I will definately return - I never thought of Barbados as a vacation spot until I stayed at MoonRaker. It is one of my happiest memories!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crysande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    20
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked in at the MoonRaker for 1 night after not being able to get onto our standby flights back to the UK. We booked about 30 mins before arrival so we weren't expected but the staff gave us a room straight away and were really friendly and helpful! Our room was massive considering there was only 2 of us, 2 double bedrooms (1 had a single and double bed in it) with a kitchen/dining room, shower room and massive balcony. Our room had sea views and there was a beach bar right next door! Bar doesn't open til 4 and there aren't really any shops nearby so make sure you bring food for breakfast!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at MoonRaker. We only stayed 1 night and turned up late. As many others have noted we had the same experience of: 'Oh, we weren't expecting you'. However, the staff all then bent over backwards to ensure that we had an amazing room and an amazing stay. They cooked food for us even though the kitchen was closed and gave us free welcome drinks. Steve the owner was extremely friendly and the barman was very helpful. We had booked a one-bedroomed apartment (one up from the studio apartment) as we had read the stories on tripadvisor warning of being placed in a tiny room in a different building when booking a studio apartment. Although this was a little more expensive (around £60), we felt it was worth it.

It also seemed to work as we were given not only a one-bedroomed apartment but a two-bedroomed apartment as a free up-grade (due to renovations downstairs to improve the overall quality of all rooms). This room was upstairs and had a huge balcony as well as an amazingly spacious apartment to roam around in.

We will be back in Barbados shortly and will definitely be visiting the MoonRaker again.

In addition: There is a very chilled bar at MoonRaker that serves alcohol and food (good food!) at very reasonable prices. Also, though it may not look like it in the pictures, the hotel is right on the beach.

This hotel is rustic, but we love that and if you love the chilled vibe you will love it here too :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britishtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice Rooms full equiped with ocean views. Not crawdy Beach a few steps away from your door. Perfect for families in a very peacefull location. Also perfect in winter season for wind sports. Good food at the beach bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic stay at Moonraker, each apartment is individually furnished and is basic but comfortable. We have visited Barbados as a family many times and are just looking for a base. The view in the morning is spectacular, the bar is wonderful with great cocktails and live music, the vibe is very chilled and is perfect after long days on the beach to unwind. There are so many fantastic places to eat in Barbados but eating at Surfer's Bay is convenient, reasonably priced and so handy if you don't want to cook. Barbados can be expensive for accommodation and you can have the ultimate in luxury, but for the price we paid I can't fault the accommodation, it offers value for money so you can enjoy everything that the island has to offer. For a very relaxed self catering apartment and helpful staff, I can't knock it. Steve is around to help with even the most basic of requests and we will be back very soon. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rent a car and get out to see the island and meet people! The great thing about Moonraker is that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Could'nt fault it room's were large and clean, friendly staff and the food at the bar was lovely with very reasonable price's and a great atmosphere, the surrounding area was stunning will definitely be going back hopefully next year and will stay here again, will be our 3rd time and wouldn't dream of staying any where else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handley8357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Moonraker a few weeks ago. We arrived around 7pm in the evening and nobody was expecting us, we were put into a basic room which was not what we had booked. We were told our room would be ready first thing in the morning. The door to the room did not lock, and the manager wasn't contactable so we had an uncomfortable first night.

We were moved to the one bed room apartment the next morning which was much better than the basic room, however we felt it wasn't worth the £110 per night we were paying. The apartments need updating as they are a bit run down. The area where the Moonraker is situated is beautiful, the bar is nice and friendly, and the bar staff were really helpful. It was a shame the rooms didn't live up to our expectations as the surroundings more than passed that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#26 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
2.6 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MoonRaker Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MoonRaker Beach Hotel

Property: MoonRaker Beach Hotel
Address: Green Garden, Landsdown, Silversands | Barbados.W.I., Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MoonRaker Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a backdrop of picturesque Coral House Bay at Silver Sands, MoonRaker Beach Hotel is a south coast property on Barbados. This original iconic 6-acre beachfront surf lodge is in the heart of the tranquil windsurfing and kite boarding region of the island. The property features Surfer’s Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant - a highly popular dining experience. Each of the 15 airy, beach-themed units bear individual décor interiors, and offer kitchenettes and daybeds for lounging on private terraces or balconies. MoonRaker is steeped in rustic charm and has become a firm favorite for traveler interests appealing surfing, SUP water sports, sport fishing, honeymoons and yoga. At-a-Glance: 15 A/C Apartments and Studios | Surfer’s Bay Beach Bar & Restaurant | Beachfront | Seaside Garden | Dramatic Ocean Views | Live Entertainment | Surf & Standup Paddle Boarding (SUP) Academy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your MoonRaker Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonraker Reef Apartments Hotel Christ Church
MoonRaker Beach Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing