We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Service and Value”
Review of Just Stop

Just Stop
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Provo, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and Value”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Known by locals as Christine's, we stopped by the restaurant one week night during the off season. Christine had closed up because it was so slow, but offered to open and make food just for us. The prices were some of the best on the island. We paid $50 BBDS for two entrees and drinks.

We both had the flying fish served with local sides (rice and peas, macaroni pie). We passed on dessert, however.

The place is just off the gap, and a bit tricky to find. If you get lost, ask a cab driver in the area and they'll direct you right to it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybrooks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knowlton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just like eating at a friend's house”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you are looking for great home cooked food in a casual environment, this is the place to go. I really would recommend trying this restaurant. It is a little bit off the beaten track, just go to the playing field across from Dover beach and walk up the road beside the Time Out Hotel. At the top of the road you will see a parking lot with a motel in the background. Right beside the parking lot is Christine's/Just Stop.
Christine is warm and friendly and she serves everyone like she has known them for years. The menu is not large and changes depending on what she has shopped for. We tried her flying fish and her chicken and both were excellent. They come with sides of macaroni pie or rice and peas and salad and the servings are generous. There is a cooler with drinks and beer for you to grab yourself.
She is open every day but Sunday and if you give her a call the day before, she will prepare your family a meal and even deliver it if you are nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelcounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horwich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Bajan Home Cooked Food!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well, what a fabulous find!!. Good job my Hubby did his research before we went on holiday and found this place!
Let's start with Christine- owner, chief cook & bottle washer!!. What a lovely Lady- she makes you feel so welcome & like she's known you all your life. This Lady runs this place single handed and it's an absolute credit to her! We always like to try different restaurants every night whilst on holiday, but we went back to Christine's 3 times during our stay as it was so good!! Whilst the menu isn't extensive, what's on there is fab, and all freshly cooked. If you don't give it a go, then you will miss out on a little gem!! Our first visit we took a taxi as it may be a little hard to find. After that we easily walked it there from our hotel- Butterfly Beach- another great find! Give it a go, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneHorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Stop (aka Christine's)- Excellent caribbean cooking”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just Stop is known by locals a Christine's. It is located at the Carib Blue guest house near Dover's beach. It is within walking distance from the Gap, Maxwell, Accra, Sandy Lane etc.
We arrived around 5:30pm and ordered 2 main servings Fried Flying Fish; Sides: 1 Peas & Rice, 1 Macaroni Pie & 2 salads along with a bottle water and a malta- price $57 Bds + tip. There is also Stew Beef and Baked Chicken on the menu which can be ordered for approx $22 Bds each, along with beers & other Caribbean beverages are located in a cooler so you can serve yourself.
Our food was delivered very quickly. The dishes were well prepared, very tasty & healthy. The portions were also reasonably sized for one person. We cleaned our plates. Christine is a very friendly lady and we engaged in quite a conversation with her on various topics related to the island. She will provide you with the scoop on things to do and places to visit.
In comparison to other restaurants in the Gap, Christine's stands out as the best place to eat caribbean food for your dollar.
If we had to eat out while in the Christchurch area we would eat at Christine's regularly.
Be sure to eat here if you're in the Southern part of the island. You will love it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrific home cooked Bajan food”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a must stop place to eat on the island. Not far from Dover Beach. Christine the owner will cook you are delicious meal with delectable choices such as flying fish, lamb shoulder. The sides of macaroni pie or the rice and peas are both great.
We've gone once and are ending our trip with another visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdmicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Just Stop also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to Just Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing