We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you all!”

Naru Restaurant and Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Sushi, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you all!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had just gotten married in the afternoon on Miami beach, we are both Australian and decided to come to Barbados to have an intimate wedding just the two of us. We decided to go to Naru not knowing anything about it. What a beautiful surprise we got! Firstly they have a vegetarian menu which as vegans excited us, the view was amazing, a table a stones throw from the beautiful ocean. The food was fantastic, the cocktails were beautiful and the service was above and beyond. Special mention must go to our waiter Jabarry who couldn't have been more helpful and such a sweetheart. They sprinkled love, stars and love heart glitter on our table and even sent out a little congratulations cake with a sparkler to congratulate us on our wedding. Naru and all it's staff made our wedding night just perfect. Thanks you all so much. Peta and Marty Dingle Wall

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PetaDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    727
    238
    47
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! ”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Whomever came up with the concept of Naru is a true genius. The chefs manage to blend the Caribbean spices, vegetables and styles flawlessly with many Asian favorites.

I can't speak highly enough of the food and the service. Great value for money!

The cocktails made with sake rather than the traditional vodka or rum were absolutely outstanding.

Ambience is unique and beautiful. Be sure to make a reservation so you get one of the coveted seats by the water, although no seat is bad!

Helpful?
1 Thank allison o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I dined at Naru during the course of this week and i can honestly say that the food and service were amazing. Sushi to start= AMAZING!! Shrimp for main course = AMAZING!! and Vanilla creme brulee with Berries =ly AMAZING!! Needless to say, the chefs can cook!!!!! As for the service, I was thoroughly impressed from the host, to the bar tender, to the waiters to the guy in the red shirt (not sure of his job title) but all of them knew how to make one feel welcomed. The prices were also reasonable and i would recommend this restaurant to EVERYONE! #ThumbsUp
Oh and I forgot to mention that the ambiance is also AMAZING!! right on the south coast so you can See the Sea ( <--see what I did there??) Truly a magical night. lol

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The epitome of excellent service!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I went to Naru last night for dinner which was recommended by another friend who was to join us but didn't make it. Upon arrival the host was very warm and friendly and in less than a minute I felt comfortable and at home. We were then seated and the most amazing waiters were at our service for the night. To say Joseph and Jabarri were Excellent would be an understatement!!! Nothing was too hard for them to do! They definitely love their jobs! My boyfriend and I usually dine quite often at nice restaurants across the island but has never received service like this! And when you think it couldn't get any better the food was amazing!! My boyfriend and I will be there before weekend, I'm actually thinking tomorrow:D
Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Naru!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I went to Naru with my family because of the reviews on tripadvisor. It was amazing! The host Lisa was really kind to us. We got an amazing table overlooking the sea, beautiful! The service was really good and so was the value. I shared a roll of sushi with my sister and mother and it was delicious!

My main course was probably one of my favorite meals I've ever eaten! Chicken 2 ways. One was Panko Herb crusted breast with celeriac puree, sautéed bok choy with a sake and violet mustard reduction, Delish!! The other one was a "Jerk" boneless leg with pumpkin mash and fresh mango salsa, Delish too!!

Overall amazing food with great service, value and atmosphere! I've been in Barbados for a week now and I've been to a restaurant every night for dinner, this is my favorite for now! I would definitely come back and if you're reading this review, get the chicken 2 ways, I know you'll love it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naru Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Naru Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing