We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting”
Review of Sunbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunbay Hotel
London
Level Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Our room was large (actually 2 rooms, with a double bed in each) was spacious & very clean, overlooking the lovely & tranquil pool area. We had a few issues with our shower, but they were resolved quickly & professionally.

We opted for the cooked breakfast / dinner package: breakfast was good, with a few choices (served in the Sunbay restaurant) while dinner was excellent - very tasty food, mostly local style - & was served in the Barbados Beach Club restaurant, which was 2 minutes away.

We found all the staff to be friendly, helpful, curteous & professional, in both the properties and would happily recommend either.

There wasn't much of an atmosphere in the SB hotel however & the bar was closed - due to it being off season - but you could go to the BBC hotel or any of the outside bars etc. Location was good, in between St Lawrence Gap & Oistins, few minutes either way...the hotel's beach was lovely or there were beautiful beaches all around, in any given direction.

Overall, SB hotel is not luxurious but is well maintained & clean, with lovely staff & a good location.

Room Tip: Pool view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonDebbieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    61
    51
    30
    37
See reviews for
57
63
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at the Sunbay Hotel for 5 days. Our room overlooked the beautiful scenery of the pool and garden, hence creating a relaxing, calming and peaceful feeling. Staff members were very friendly and always willing to assist. However, to acquire lunch/dinner, we had to go to the sister property, since Sunbay only served breakfast.
The beaches were spectacular, along with the beautiful scenery of the island.
Can't wait to visit again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GAIL_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My family and I stayed at the resort for 7 days and they were mostly enjoyable. However, the staff was not too interested in explaining the all the services that the facility has to offer. For instance we didn't know until a few days passed that there was a free shuttle service to the town and we received an invitation to the managers party two hours prior to its start. When I returned to the roomand receivd the invi the party was almost finished. The were approximately 6 channels to choose from not much to watch. However, I felt safe, comfortable and it was like home away from home.

Room Tip: Our room was above the entrance and I found this was an advantage because it there was any kind of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snukiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at Sunbay for 5 days in late July and we fully agree with the two reviews below which describe the reception staff as mostly unhelpful and unfriendly. They were civil at best in a few cases but generally made us feel unwelcome and uncomfortable, as they would barely respond to friendly greetings and the male night clerk snapped at us when we asked a question about nearby restaurants.
We would not stay here again, not only because of the lack of courtesy on the part of the reception staff, but also because of the location. Sunbay is neither on the main road nor on the beach, and is on a street which gets very deserted especially at night. We visited a few other hotels during our stay and Sunbay was the only one which didn't have a lively feel or much activity. It was definitely a mistake to book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christ Church Parish hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

First impressions are ever lasting and the bad impressionof Sunbay will resonate in my memory for a long time. I booked this hotel through AA.com because of all the amenities it claims to have but when we got there the old male receptionist didn't seem to have a clue about the amenities and also asked us to pay more than we had already paid to AA.com. He also said there was no free wifi which was critical to my stay because I'm doing a doctorate and need to study online. I was very disappointed with the reception and cancelled my reservation immediately and left. The Barbados Tourism Authority must really looking into the quality of service given to visitors especially blacks.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aajean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed at the sunbay hotel with my family for a period of 7 days. Overall i found the hotel and accomidation to satisfactory but my overwhelming memories of the stay at the hotel is the ignorant nature of every member of staff at the reception desk. On many occasions i greeted these members of staff with hello, good morning, good evening etc and was met with no response and just blank stares, I have travelled extensively through the years and never came across such ignorance. If staff were friendlier i would say this hotel was fair value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

we have just returned from a week at sunbay hotel, it was a lovely hotel very clean and friendly staff, however the hotel advertised is the sister hotel the beach club, on arrival after a long flight there was no bar or even drinks machine to purchase water, there was no shop on the hotel site, we booked the hotel as i have asthma and needed to be on the beach however it was only a short walk to the beach through the beach club hotel but this still proved difficult with the hot weather , when asked to re locate to the beach club we was told it was another 90 dollers per night which we couldnt afford ,given that the sister hotel only had 30 per cent occupancy and we had paid for our room at sunbay i cannot see the problem with a straight swap , had sunbay more ammeneties e.g. a bar or shop it wpould have been much better , if we wanted to relax round the pool, we still had to visit the beach club to purchase even a bottle off water , i find thisis false advertsing when u type in the name of the hotel , it gives you the impression you are staying at the beach club with all there facilities , there was not one night of entertainment at sunbay and we even had to change travellers cheques at the beach club, i enjoyed barbados but would not stay at sunbay again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lukesnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
2.1 mi away
Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon
#32 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#35 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Barbados Beach Club
Barbados Beach Club
#31 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
1.8 mi away
Worthing Court
Worthing Court
#1 of 3 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbay Hotel

Property: Sunbay Hotel
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, 15031, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests who come to stay at the Sunbay Hotel find that our Barbados vacation resort offers a very unique ambiance…a tranquil, serene oasis set in a lush tropical garden where you can truly get away from it all and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing