We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunbay Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Point Hotel(Silver Sands)
US$146
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Two Resort & Residences(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$356
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Court Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dover Beach Hotel(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Gap Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bougainvillea Barbados(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$270
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$466
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Palms(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
34
93
66
33
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
93
66
33
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotel across the roadbeach accessthe room was nicesmall beachst lawrence gaprooms were very cleanthe gapcleaned every dayflying fishdover beachbeautiful beachoistinstaxibeachesmaxwellvendorsbbc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked very last minute on a bargain web site so had done no research as to where to stay. Great location for eating in St Lawrence Gap and Oistins. Hotel very clean and bedroom a good size and bright and airy with own balcony. The continental breakfast was awful with upgrade to buffet quite expensive for what was on offer there. We had major trouble with getting even warm water through our shower (room 301). The reception girls were friendly and helped us but restaurant staff looked miserable until the final morning when they spoke (tips day?)

Overall if the water had been warm and breakfast good it would have been ideal for our budget and purpose of stay

Room Tip: Not ground floor by pool as you would have a very public outside seating area
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our rooms were cleaned everyday, and sheets were changed whenever necessary due to sand piling to bed even though you try to avoid it :) The cleaners were also very friendly and helpful.
We had booked all inclusive for our holiday with kids, buffet breakfast with eggs (fried, scrambled, omelette), bacon, cornflakes, fruits, juice, coffee, toast, muffins... kept us going well until lunch, which we normally outside the hotel. Dinner was simple, maybe a bit plain, but had some highlights like shepherds pie and lasagna.
The restaurant personnel were mainly nice, except for the manager woman who seemed a bit moody at some days.
Bartenders kept us in cocktails and sodas.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms opposite to reception had problems with water coming to bathroom/toilet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaSula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed at the Sunbay Hotel, poor reception, poor service, poor food . Even woke up with the plaster of the ceiling on our bed. No hot water, breakfast poor, pool dirty. Poor location, located in front of their brother who is situated on the beach. We were in transfer for one night , we will never recommend that hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Deal with a knowledgable travel agent who knows his job and hotels
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

They say you get what you pay for......well, for what we paid we expected a half decent breakfast. A piece of toast, and a muffin or pastry. The only good thing about breakfast was the unlimited tea and coffee.
The rooms were very old looking, but they were cleaned everyday. Some days it was hit and miss with towels, which we had to ask for, if we didn't get them. The free WI-FI cut out everyday, sometimes it would only work for about an hour a day. It wasn't until my last day that it worked for longer.
The front desk staff were hit and miss as well. Their was a lovely lady on our first day and she always asked how we were whenever I saw her. The restaurant staff are another matter, the restaurant leader was great, friendly, approachable and willing to talk. The others on the other hand were quiet and I got the feeling, didn't want to be there.
The pool area was immaculate, very pretty with the palm trees etc and was nice to have a pool for us adults and a pool for the kids.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel was clean. The cleaning of the rooms were hit and miss. Some days our room was cleaned early and some days very late. The most disappointing aspect of this hotel is what they call "continental breakfast". It consisted of 2 pieces of toast and a pastry(dry) or small cake. This really shows a level of complacency that I have not experienced before. No fresh fruit, no selection of cheeses or cold meats, no selection of croissants or bread. I have never had continental breakfast as bad as this! They really need to look at this as it will put off future visitors.

Room Tip: For additional extras including better food selection, take cash and pop over to the sister hotel across the road
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50just
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBCpropertymanager, Manager at Sunbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear reviewer,

I would just like to address a few points in your review:

1. Housekeeping cleans rooms between 8:30am and 5:30pm daily. If a guests would like their room cleaned at a certain time that can be requested.

2. If you do a rate check online you will find that the room rate for Sunbay Hotel is less than or equal to comparable hotels in Barbados. As we strive to provide further value for money we provide each guest with FREE WiFi and FREE Sunbay Continental Breakfast. These items are not included in the rate they are actually a value added; two pieces of toast, a pastry, your choice of marmalade, juice and unlimited coffee/ tea. On our website it states exactly what is included in the breakfast however, some online travel agents do not allow us to give the details of the breakfast. In order to include the items which you would like to see in our continental breakfast it would mean that the rate would have to go up. This defeats the purpose of what we were trying to achieve; add a little value to your stay. Having said all of this we at the Sunbay Hotel are open to criticism so we will consider pulling the free breakfast all together to avoid confusion and disappointment.

Best regards.

Adam Broome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews