We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing accommodation and can't wait to return!”
Review of Villa Jarrow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Jarrow
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Villa Jarrow was an amazing place to stay and experience Barbados! My husband and I along with 4 other people just returned from there. We stayed from Nov 9-14, 2012.
We arrived on a Friday and went to Oistins to party with the locals!!! We had the best time! When we returned back to Jarrow, the music from the Gap at the Reggae Lounge carried on till about 5am but didn't bother us a bit! We enjoyed the sounds of the Bajan culture! It's all about the experience and we definately soaked it all in! We met a local that was fishing out in our beach area (Jeffrey) . He owns a catamaran and took us out in it for the whole day.
Jarrow has a cleaning lady, Roseanne, that came during our stay and literally spent her whole day cleaning and doing laundry for us. She was so sweet and didn't bother us at all. I loved this place and everything it had to offer. The location is prime and for us it was perfect! I would love to come back and stay here my next visit to Barbados!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Villa Jarrow. 3 couples in our late 20s and early 30s. Close walk to 2 supermarkets that have free shuttle return with us and our groceries. seconds away from 4 must visit Barbados restaurants, Pisces, Bellinis, Cafe Sol and Churraco and Paulo's Churrasco do Brasil all right on the St Lawrence Gap tourist area. On a main bus route into Bridgetown, and Oistins. The Villa itself had wi-fi, satellite tv, a/c in the bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, amazing patio overlooking the bar, beach area, walk out into knee high warm blue water for about 400 yards.
Fisherman come in during the day and we where able to buy fresh fish, and we even traded a rum and coke for some smaller fish he would not have been able to sell but which tasted awesome on the bbq for our lunch!!
The only concern would be anyone that cannot sleep through noise.....Friday, Saturday and Sunday you will hear music from the Gap area till around 6am. We sleep though anything because we party till about 2am anyway.
The place was so clean, and was even cleaned half way through out trip. Laundry on site.

Room Tip: If you go in a group the master room will get street noise in the morning, but has its own bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertSMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We have just returned from Villa Jarrow where we had a fantastic time and the villa was absolutely perfect for relaxing and enjoying Barbados in a wonderfully restored villa right on a small peaceful bay. We swam everyday in the bay with very little surf due to the ridge further out. This was accessible by a few steps from the decking of the villa onto the beach which felt almost private into the stunning azure blue ocean. The villa had every facility you require and the owner Timothy even installed Wifi for us. The villa was beautiful and very clean and with the large decking we spent most of our time out there. There was noise at the weekend from neighbouring Rum shack but we just went and enjoyed the festivities and were made most welcome by the friendly Bajans. I personally think that the vibrant atmosphere at the weekend was part of the fun of having a villa right at the Gap.
Lots of fantastic eating places and nightlife just a short stroll away.
We would not hesitate to return back to Villa Jarrow and would strongly recommend this place to anyone who embraces the local lifestyle and wants to stay in a stunning villa in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cockspurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed at the Villa Jarrow with a group of friends in September 2011. We had read the previous reviews and were concerned by some of them but thought we would give it a chance....we LOVED it! The Villa is amazing with its stone walls and immense charm. The photos cant begin to describe how beautiful it really is. The Villa is tucked in between two restaurants so during the day you basically have the beach to yourself (with the exception of the local fishermen leaving out in their boats). Comments about the "flotsam" on the beach were lost on us as the only thing we saw was a little seaweed/kelp that gave us the chance to find and help save 8 baby sea turtles! Jarrow is at the very beginning of the St. Lawrence Gap and therefore the perfect location. You can walk the entire gap, to eat, shop, drink or whatever suits you. The Villa is clean and the staff was wonderful. Patrick was more than gracious to us in our stay even making recommendations on places for us to visit and places that we most likely would not have enjoyed. The reviews about the noise can somewhat be justified due to the street however if you have ever been to Barbados in this area you are already aware that everything is on the street unless you are in a stuffy hotel/resort, which is not what the Villa Jarrow is about! If you are a light sleeper, which I am, ear plugs do the trick and that small compromise is definitely worth the pleasure of staying in this gorgeous place! If I get the opportunity to come back I will stay here again anytime as we had the time of our lives at the Villa Jarrow!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

What a beautiful home you are providing for people to rent during their visit. This was probably the most fulfilling vacation I have had in many years and I travel a lot. The house was inviting, peaceful, clean and comfy. It was just like it was my very own home away from home. I like vacations where I am in the middle of the locals; where I can meet them, mingle and interact with them. Villa Jarrow is in an incredible location in the Gap, making it easy access restaurants, shopping, people, beaches, grocery stores and interacting with the locals. The beds were comfy the house was safe and secure and I never once felt like I wasn't at home. The breeze from the beach made it very comfortable to sit around and relax (not that we did much of that!). The waters in front of the house were peaceful and even though it's not really a private beach, it sure felt like it was to us. We pretty much had free reign of the beach in front of the house, other than a few locals we met who would come to swim with us. The management of the house was smooth, between the owner and his employees, the house was perfect for our vacation.

So perfect in fact, I am working on booking my next stay at Villa Jarrow!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Just spent 2 weeks at Villa Jarrow & had an amazing time. The Villa is absolutely charming. Sure it has it's quirks but it's extremely well maintained & spotlessly clean. It has a fabulous deck from which to watch the comings & goings of the fishermen, seabirds, sand crabs, sailboats etc.
The location could not be better. It's right at the beginning of 'The Gap'. This means walking distance (2-5 mins away) to many restaurants and bars.
As to previous reviews regarding the villa being noisy.....The Gap is noisy, not the villa. Bring ear-plugs if you plan on having early nights but be sure to take them out at some point so you can wake up to the sound of the waves lapping on the shore right outside your door.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deirdreroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My Husband and I and 2 teenage boys stayed here, and just got Back! Loved the villa, exactly what we saw advertised...the house was well maintained, clean,self sufficient, right in the Ocean (Deck), and we could walk to everything...although we did rent a car as well.... The Gap was lively when we wanted to be entertained, and things calmed down around 12 midnite...the boys liked the catamaran cruise, and I liked the shopping, Husband liked the Rum...All Around we will be back again and again, good value for money on the beach in Barbados!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coldincanada3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.4 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
639 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#1 of 9 in Hastings
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Jarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jarrow

Address: St Lawrence | Worthing, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: £860 - £1,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Jarrow is located centrally on the South Coast.It is perfect for all types of Holiday makers as it is within walking distance of some of the best restaurants,swimming, snorkeling, sunbathing golf, fitness centers, tennis courts to be found anywhere on the Island.Where there used to be a night club is now a mouth watering Brazilian restaurant catering easily for children and couples.The Villa faces Half Moon Bay directly. Upon waking up in the morning , your first step could be in the turquoise, clear Ocean, breakfast on the spacious deck, lunching just around the corner. The friendly fishermen will catch fish for you and clean it while you get the barbecue ready on the deck for Dinner.The beauty of the area is breathtaking and just sitting and breathing the lively ozone will rest and revitalize your weary bones and make you want to come back again and again.....so you can see that beautiful sunrise every morning and in the afternoon watch it fade away over the Caribbean Sea as it transforms from afternoon to Evening . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Jarrow Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing