We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location value and service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherry Tree Apartments
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fabulous location value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I stayed at Cherry Tree for 6 weeks and enjoyed every minute. I even felt perfectly safe during Hurricane Tomas! The location is perfect, only 10 minutes from the Ocean and the Gap and 5 minutes from the local buses and nearby supermarket. However, it is unbelievably quiet at night, so easy to sleep. The rooms are well equipped and the showers great, there is always plenty of hot water and fresh linen and towels. The gardens are kept beautifully and are equipped for chilling during the day or having a barbeque with friends at night. Marjorie is an absolute gem and keeps the rooms spotlesss during the week. Nicole and Carlisle are really helpful and are always only a phone call away. Maybe some folk would miss a TV but I didn't miss it all. Oceans 15 is a friendly bar with a pool and good food only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    10
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
15
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

We were there from the 3-10 May 2010 and i must say its the worst place we have ever stay at!!! The shower area was so small u really couldn't move around and wen it came to night well yes if i tell u it was so hotttt u can't even begin to imagine. the first night we slept on the balcony that was how hot inside was and outside was much cooler, trust me this is no lie. we were very disappointed and angry with the accommodation it was very unsuitable. never again am i goin to stay at that place. and well lets not talk about the manager Nicole, welll her attutide was the worst was not very accommodating and wen we complained all she could have said was that she is sorry and there is nothing she can do. how can that really slove anything?
Now on the last day of our tirp Nicole Called us at 10.15 AM 10/5/2010 and told us that we have to check out at 12 noon!!! u understand this crazyness, no where was it say before or i was told of that. u want to come two hour before and tell someone that they have to leave. that is such bad management,bad taste and so very disappointing.
We had alrady made plans for that day and wen we were told of this we had to change all our plans.

I would nver say at that place again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PraviTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

We have been staying at “The Cherry Tree Apartments” for the last 5 years and find it to be excellent in accommodation, service, proximity to amenities and location. It offers everything that is advertised and at a very reasonable rate…in other words great value for your dollar. The accommodation has everything required for cooking and meals can be served on the lovely balcony overlooking the green areas alive with songbirds, hummingbirds and occasionally the sighting of playful monkeys. The service has always been fantastic, from the minute we are picked up from the airport by the manager (Nicole) a very amicable lady with impeccable manors who has always been on time and just a phone call away for any advice we need pertaining to site seeing or questions about the island, to the maid service provided by Marjorie, a friendly, polite lady who keeps the rooms meticulously clean. The location for us is everything we were looking for….it is far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to the beach, groceries and entertainment (about a 5-7 minute walk).
Having traveled to many parts of North America, Europe, The Mediterranean, and the British Isles, as well as other parts of the Caribbean we think of “The Cherry Tree” as a home away from home and look forward to returning again & again.
If you are looking for a quiet, friendly, garden type atmosphere, where you can sit and read or just enjoy the nature surrounding you, look no further.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Barbados is a lovely place to visit for its beautiful landscape, magnificent beaches but first of all its people. I am lucky to have a few good frieds there and hence I tend to stay for longer holidays (3-4 wks at a time). The last two times I stayed at Cherry Tree apartments as I find taht their offer suits my needs very well:
1) it is located at the quieter end of St.Lawrence Gap in close proximity to nightlife, restaurants (there's a pleasant Italian restaurant just opposite it), shops, bus stop to go into town, taxi rank, internet cafes, etc. The closest beach (Dover) is only a 5 min walk away. It takes me about 15 min to walk from one end of the Gap to another.
2) The appartments itself are clean and well maintained and have a nice garden where guests can have a BBQ, enjoy an evening drink or just relax and read a book.
3) Efficient and helpful management. The process of booking, dealing with enquiries and payment, pick-up at the airport, resolving any poblems that may arise ( I had a minor sink plug problem), etc. - everything was taken care of by managers Petra and Nicole to my satisfaction. Nicole, the manager who looks after the guests in Barbados, is at the appartments during the day most of the days during the week and is always available on her mobile. She is happy to discuss any additional requests that guests may have and tries her best to accomodate them. On this trip to Barbados she kindly offered me her own spare SIM card to use for my mobile which came extremely handy during my stay.
4) Studios have necessary kitchen amenities to make the stay comfortable, incl. a kettle, a toaster, a double rangette, a fridge and all the utensils. Bedrooms are equipped with a ceiling fan, a radio, a safe, bedside and reading lights. Bathrooms are clean.
5) Cleaning and changing of towels and linens is done 2 or 3 times a week by a friendly maid. I found the service being fully adequate and for once didnt feel guilty about tons of crispy clean linens being re-washed daily as it happens in 5 star hotels during my business travels. I guess I am trying to revert to some of the below comments and say: "Determine for yourself what budget you have, research available options and adjust your expectations to the price you're paying or go elsewhere". I would also like to address an ants issue raised in somebody's review. Barbados is a tropical island with lots of animals, birds, fish and insects including ANTS. With doors and windows open if you have food leftovers left on the table you're going to have 'guests' in any accomodation, ants just cant help it :-) Putting food away in a fridge solves the problem.
5) Safety. Cherry Tree is generally a well-secured property with access to guests only and as mentioned above safes are available in each studio for valuables.

Finally it's worth keeping in mind that the place has many repeat visitors who tend to stay for longer periods (on this trip I met a lovely German couple who were there for 7 wks), so it is advisable to book early especially during high (winter) season. I would like to mention that Cherry Tree's rate is probably the most competitive in St.Lawrence Gap (location, location!), the place does not have the frills of the 5 star hotel and is not advertised as such. It is a nice, comfortable, and safe place to stay for those on the budget, people who stay for longer periods and spend most of the time out and about exploring this beautiful island.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WCPGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

Cherry Trees is a quiet apartment block with pleasant, well kept grounds and friendly, helpful staff. If you are looking for a place to stay, close to the beach, amenities and nightlife look no further. The location is in a nice quiet spot on St Lawrence Gap. Everything is a short walk away - the beach, the eateries, the supermarket, the bank, the nightlife. If you want to go in to town or to the fabulous Oistins (especially the Friday night fish fry where you can mingle with the locals, enjoy freshly cooked fish and more and soak up the amazing, infectious atmosphere), the bus stops are just a short walk away too. We had a great time and will be staying at Cherry Trees again when we visit again later this year. Cynnie

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CroydonCynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Dirty, dangerous and dingy.

Please take my advice and steer clear!!

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank stedebonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

I highly reccommend the Cherry Tree Apts, verry good value for money, take no notice of the review from the grumpy person from Brisbane, she probably was looking for a 5 star hotel, well look elsewhere honey! Probably didn't have the money for a 5 star hotel, hence she stayed at the Cherry Tree which is better than a 5 star hotel. Great outdoor area with barbeque and picnic area, great garden to relax in.

The staff especially Marjorie was fantastic, she was friendly and kept the bedding, towels and apartment clean and refreshed every other day, couldn't ask for more, our apartment was what is needed for a holiday, after all are you going just to stick to your room 24-7 whilst on your holidays the whole time? No, you go there for the country, great beaches and friendly bajan people.

So anyone in any doubt who wants value at a great affordable price, stay at the Cherry Tree.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#27 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Guest House
Rio Guest House
#2 of 3 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pirate's Inn
Pirate's Inn
#3 of 24 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Apartments

Property: Cherry Tree Apartments
Address: 9 Dover, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Hotel Class:2 star — Cherry Tree Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Apartments Hotel Christ Church
Cherry Tree Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing