We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Barbados experience”
Review of Rosalie Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosalie Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had the extreme pleasure to stay at Rhonda and Peter's Rosalie Apartments the last 2 weeks of January. We were greeted by Dave at the airport and taken to the Rosalie,where we were welcomed by Peter. Apartment 2 was lovely,very well appointed and comfortable, all anyone could wish for to feel at home and relaxed. The Welcome Basket of goodies was very much appreciated. We had the use of a cute little Chevy Spark auto (which we affectionately called "Sparky"), which was nearly new and very clean. Sparky safely took us all over the island,exploring many beaches! Rhonda and Peter were excellent hosts, always ready with helpful tips on where to go and what to see. On Peter's recommendation, we spent a terrific day on a Cool Runnings catamaran sail. For our wedding anniversary, Peter helped arrange a personal chef to come to the apartment and prepare a terrific dinner; this was an experience that we will never forget! Rhonda and Peter even surprised us with a very special gift waiting for us on the patio table the morning of our anniversary -- one of the many examples of how thoughtful they are of their guests! And Kamisha, our housekeeper, was excellent, got to know our schedule and was very kind and efficient. We came home to Vancouver, Washington to an unexpected snow and ice storm, and reflect daily on our heavenly experiences in Barbados and the Rosalie Apartments, wishing we could stay there forever!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, Owner at Rosalie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you Teresa for your comments and we felt privileged that you chose The Rosalie to celebrate your very special Wedding Anniversary. I know you enjoyed your evening with the personal chef and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

January/February 2014

I may be shooting myself in the foot as they say, by reviewing our stay in such a delightful residence, situated in a desirable location, for our winter break from the UK, namely “Rosalie”but have hopefully secured our reservation for 2015, and as such am willing to share our find.

Having come to Barbados many times now, the beauty of the Island is of no surprise, but it was certainly enhanced this year by our first stay at “Rosalie “apartments, with hosts Peter and Rhonda , who greeted us upon our arrival , a nice touch.

First impressions count, and “Rosalie” does not disappoint in that respect, and then deeper observation reveals the excellent décor, superb furnishings, attention to detail, and an overall willingness to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Very little is left to chance , as there is a comprehensive do’s, don’ts and information folder outlining all that you may need to know locally, and even a compilation of taxi fares to most parts of the Island. Including some beaches and places to eat. Try Miami Beach to the west for a safe swim, or just a short walk to the east of the apartments there a small sandy beach, but has a strong current and undertow at certain points of the tide. A further 200 yards and you can enjoy a beer and food at “Steve’s”, Surfers bar right on the beach, has always been one of my favourites.

Thanks to all concerned, including Dave the taxi, Kamisha the house keeper,Roger the pool cleaner, and Ron the handyman.
Too many good points, but just to mention a few, would be, the ocean view, remoteness, pool and Jacuzzi, sun loungers, food basket, a.c., wi.fi., sunshine, a lovely easterly breeze. “Rosalie” is situated on the waters edge, and very often some would remark on the noise created by the rolling waves, to which I find quite therapeutic, and it actually saves me the cost of a DVD.
Whether you have been to Barbados before or not, just hire a car and drive, you will get lost at some point, but it is the best way to explore the island.

If I had to make any criticism at all, it would be regarding the 300 or so American TV channels, but enough said on that I think. However I was, able to follow the 6 nation’s rugby and you can even follow English football if you must.
A most relaxing, enjoyable stay and a worthy consideration for a future visit

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zyggy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, Owner at Rosalie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you Ziggy for such a comprehensive review and we are delighted you have booked to come back and stay with us next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our vacation was especially nice because of our comfortabe accomodations. Peter and Rhonda were extremely helpful guiding us in the proper direction to ensure that we had the most enjoyable experience in Barbados. There are many fantastic restaurants to choose from on the island and there is always the local fare at Oisten's (just a 5 minute drive), however one evening at Peter's suggestion we celebrated a special occasion at our apartment by having a private chef prepare us dinner. It was one of the best meals we had in Barbados, very fresh and healthy and the cost was no more than if we had dinner out. It was just beautiful having dinner overlooking the pool under the stars listening to the sounds of waves crashing against the coral rocks.We loved spending time at the apartment, taking walks in the neighborhood, swimming in the pool and taking the short stroll to our semi-private beach. At its busiest time there may have been four other people on the beach. The car provided us was a new Chevy Spark; very clean and economical. You definitely need a car here because the apartment is located in a residential area (another plus in my book). We visited St. Lawrence Gap, Bridgetown and Holetown which further reassured us that we had made the best decision not to be in the "Resort" area. We loved the serenity at the apartment and we'll be back.
We had one problem with the AC in the back bedroom and it was addressed within the hour of Peter being notified.
Thank you for sharing your Slice of Paradise!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 845pattyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, Owner at Rosalie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation in Barbados and thank you also for the kind words. We all work very hard to ensure that everybody enjoys their time with us. Inevitably problems will arise and it is nice when our efforts are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We just stayed for 3 weeks. Apartments cleaned Monday to Friday no clean towels on a weekend.or on a bank holiday which we had 2 off in 1 week.
CCTV a little disturbing as one evening we left the subbed mattresses out by mistake. And received an email from the owner who was in UK to ask us to take them in ( creepy)
Upon arrival my friends, friend, in Barbados had shopped for us so we filled the fridge and freezer with £80 worth of food. The next morning we noticed that nothing was cold the milk was off and all frozen stuff defrosted. We reported this but wasn't repaired until next day so all food wasted.
Advertised that wifi was available but unable to connect in apartment 1 at all. We asked for this to be resolved but it still hasn't been. At end of week three. However The nice lady in apartment three very kindly allowed us to connect to her Internet.
The electric socket in the kitchen packed up. Electrician took 3 days to appear but it was only a reset button was that needed. Pushing.
The dishwasher stopped working took 3 days to repair.
Microwave turntable doesn't turn.
Water very temperamental more cold then hot.
Showers in accessible for disabled people all floors so slippery with slightest but of water bathroom floors treacherous.
The slope down the side is not safe in the rain even for able bodied people but for wheelchairs it's impossible.
However with a little bit of money spending on it these apartments could be the perfect destination. But you do need a car to get around.
Cannot fault the location or the layout of the apartments just think we were unlucky to be there when all white goods have reached there use by dates.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, Owner at Rosalie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Jane
Thank you for your review I understand that you were holidaying in apartment#1 with your friends who have stayed with us many times. I note all your comments and was unaware that your foodstuffs had been spoilt so quickly as the frig was repaired within 24 hours but if you email details I will be happy to reimburse you for any loss. Your criticisms concerning disability access is somewhat surprising considering your friend is confined to a wheel chair and this is her 4th stay with us in as many years. However I will review our facilities and make any adjustments as required.
Your comments concerning the electrical appliances are all noted and considering they are all under 3 years old leaves me dismayed and I will ensure our maintenance schedule is improved.
The CCTV system is set to record the grounds during the hours of darkness and has been installed to give all guests peace of mind and security during their stay and is not there to be intrusive.
I hope this did not spoil your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at Rosalie 25th of Feb 2013 to March 8th 2013 on our honeymoon. The location is just perfect for a relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle, but still close enough to enjoy Barbados's south coast (provided you have a car). Though you could walk to Mami Beach (which turned out to be our fav beach on the whole island.), or a smaller private beach around the corner, by Surfers Beach bar.

Apartment 1 is beautiful - The kitchen is fully equipped to suit anyone's needs. The place is very well maintained with nice furnishings, crystal glasses and Italian granite counters. The housekeeper came every day during the week, and was mindful of our schedule.
And the scenery is absolutely stunning. We could not get enough of the view from our patio, overlooking the pool and the Atlantic. We could hear the sea from our bedroom window.

We received a welcome basket, which included a bottle champagne as a wedding present and also flowers were placed all around the bedroom and living room, which was really special .
We had our towels changed every day, they also provided you with a towel for the swimming pool, though you were not meant to use for the beach, though this did not bother either of us, as we brought our own. Pete and Rhonda have gone to a lot of trouble to complete a helpful guest book, which contains all the interesting things you can do around the island and it was really helpful. We did decide to get the private chef in for a night, it was the best decision we made.

I did a lot of research and visited several other hotels and guesthouses. None was comparable in terms of either setting, price and just overall value. Rosalie's is a wonderful hidden gem in Barbados. We will definitely be going again and have already told all of our friends and family about this place. BEST HOLIDAY EVER, which is want you want, on your honeymoon ...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chlo3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We had a very enjoyable ten-night stay over New Year's this year and have re-booked for 2013/14 as we truly enjoyed our stay there. Peter is a delightful host. Oistins is a walkable distance from Rosalie as is Enterprise Beach - the rooftop restaurant at Little Arches is superb. We did rent a car and that really is essential to view the island - the rental company (GL Rentals) delivered it to Rosalie and we dropped it at the airport. The rooms are well equipped and serviced and the view is amazing. Truly a restful haven for a great vacation.

Room Tip: Either apartment 1 or 2 are excellent as they are both pool side and the 7 pm curfew ensures quiet t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at Rosalie for two weeks in February 2013. It is a beautiful place and we had a fantastic time. Peter was extremely helpful and kind, dropping by daily to make sure we were happy. We loved the beautiful welcome basket when we arrived. It was very convenient having a car at our disposal. The apartment was lovely, well stocked and clean and kept that way each day. The pool was refreshing and the ocean view which included kite-surfers, wind-surfers and surfers was awesome! We felt very safe running around the area early in the morning and found ample adventures to seek out during the day followed by some down time enjoyed on our veranda or by the pool. We hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmcgCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G, Owner at Rosalie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for you kind words it is always much appreciated when guests take the time and trouble to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
3.8 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inchcape Seaside Villas
Inchcape Seaside Villas
#3 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#28 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
222 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
MoonRaker Beach Hotel
MoonRaker Beach Hotel
#9 of 74 in Christ Church Parish
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosalie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosalie Apartments

Address: Seaside Drive Atlantic Shores | Barbados, BB17127, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: £124 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosalie Luxury Apartments are situated in the peaceful residential area of Atlantic Shores on the South Coast of Barbados. Ideally situated for the keen surfer, these apartments are strictly for those who want a quite and restful holiday. All modern conveniences including a full kitchen with granite counter tops, dishwasher, frig/freezer, microwave, built in oven and ceramic cook top, air conditioning, maid service, swimming pool & jacuzzi. All linen, towels and pool towels included. Personal collection and return to and from the airport. Car rental available on site. Restaurant and bars close by and Oistins Fish Fry and market within a 5 min drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosalie Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing