We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Dolphin Inn is a great value !!!”
Review of Dolphin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphin Inn
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blue Dolphin Inn is a great value !!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed in Apartment #2 for ten days/nights. It was very relaxing, clean and enjoyable. What a great location!!! Dover Beach is a 5 minute walk away. In close proximity to St. Lawrence Gap, there are many bars and restaurants to choose from. When not in the mood for eating out, Dover Market is nearby so that you can purchase food to prepare in your room. This is not a 5 star hotel; however, it meets the needs for a relaxing stay away from home. Renting a car is an option; however, access to public transportation is a short 5 minute walk away. Additionally, you can make arrangements with Nigel, a taxi driver, for more personal transportation needs. I found NIgel to be very reliable. Iris, the owner, is a very friendly person who goes out of her way to make sure that all of your needs are met. For the traveller on a budget who wants to experience a relaxing atmosphere, great hospitality, and a great location, you can't find a better value. I highly recommend the Blue Dolphin Inn apartments.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atlgoldenglove65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
41
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed in apartment #1 and it was such a nice peaceful place to retreat to every night. It had everything we needed and was so close to fantastic dining, or the grocery store if you wanted to pick up items and cook at the apartment. This was exactly what we are looking for, a clean no frills place with peace and quiet.

Each morning we started our day with cooking some breakfast and eating on the patio with our little feathered friends. There isn't a view from the apartment but it is surrounded with plants so you have privacy from the surrounding properties. In addition to the table we had breakfast at we also had lounge chairs on the deck if we felt like laying around outside before taking the 5 minute walk to the beach.

We also had free local calls which was nice for us to make all of our tour bookings, dinner reservations, and connect with friends staying on the island. At the time we were there the internet was only a $10us flat fee for the entire stay which was also nice to look up different things while we were on the island. Nightlife is a short 10 minute walk to The Gap restaurants and bars galore.

This is really a great place and our only wish was that it was right on the beach but then it would have been more expensive. Iris took good care of us and she and her daughter are quite the singers if you catch them out on the town. We also loved visiting with the resident turtles on our way in and out everyday. Watch out if you are wearing red and appear to be a tasty hibiscus flower :-) Overall this was an excellent value for us!

Room Tip: Apartment #1 was private since it was located on the end. You would have a neighbor on the right if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jerilynjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed in cottage # 2 for 17 nights. It was large, clean and had everything u needed to cook.
The washroom was small. It is close to Dover beach, Dover market and many
bars and restraunts.
Would stay there again.
The taxi driver Nigel was NOT dependable

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This place was lovely for a few days in Dover. My friend and I spent most of our time (day and night) out and about in the town anyway, so we only really needed this place for somewhere to sleep and cook food. The rooms are basic, and as somebody mentioned before, there is little privacy in the bathroom as there is no proper door... a bit weird but it wasn't the end of the world. The kitchen is basic but has everything you need to cook proper meals. The owner is friendly enough, sometimes a little blunt but this may just be her mannerism. I would return to the Dolphin Inn again- it does what it says on the tin! Lovely stay in Barbados, loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte~xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I found this guest house through the budget travel section of The Guardian. It was fantastic for several reasons. Firstly, it was brilliant value for money. We paid just £30 ($55) for a double room per night which made the trip so much more affordable than expected.
Iris, the swiss woman who owns the guest house is great - very down to earth, helpful, honest and friendly. The room was lovely and perfect for our needs....clean and spacious and well equipped. The only down side was that there was no door on the bathroom, only a beaded curtain! Not sure if all the rooms were like that and this was not a huge deal but if I'm honest that was a bit of an unnecessary stress for me on a romantic holiday!
We shared the kitchen and veranda with a few other guests but it felt like we had the kitchen to ourselves, and again, having self catering facilities meant we could save money.Food and restaurants are very expensive in Barbados so it was so nice to be able to cook for ourselves and eat on the veranda. The kitchen was pretty basic but had everything we needed. The guest house was literally a few minutes walk from the most beautiful beach...paradise! close to bus stops etc to get around the island. and i was delighted to see a beautiful tortoise in the garden....been a while since i saw one of those : ) The street is peaceful and residential feeling with triopical flowers and birds flying around. Nigel is a taxi driver who has close links with the guest house and he was fantatsic, a lovely person and very reliable. We had a great time at the Dolphin Inn and loved our home while we were there....all in all fantastic value for money and would definitely go there again. Highly recommended! Thanks Iris : )

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xenia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I just came back from a week stay in Dolphin Inn. The place is great. Clean, close to the beach and Iris will do everything to make your stay comfortable like at home!!!
You won't find better taxi driver than Nigel!!! ( Always on time) He took us for a day trip around the island - which was awsome!!!! Thank you both for making our stay unforgetable:)
Definately will be back in the nearest future......Patrycja&David

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patrycja15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I recently stayed in room #4 with my boyfriend and had a terrific time. I found Iris to be a helpful and welcoming hostess, as well as a very interesting person. I will definitely return, as I enjoyed myself immensely. We had lots of space in the fridge and cupboards to store our goodies from the grocery, the neighborhood was safe, friendly, and very close to Dover beach.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bbdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
613 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#28 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: #66 Dover Terrace, 15023, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: We are located on the beautiful south coast of Barbados just 3 minutes walk away from Dover Beach one of the island's best, Turtle Beach and Casuarina Beach. If you are taking a taxi, we are located between Luigi's Restaurant and the Carib Blue Apartments in Dover Terrace. We are 15 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the capital city of Bridgetown. Guest House: The Dolphin Inn Guesthouse consists of 4 bedrooms, each with a private bathroom. Each room has adjustable room fans, mosquito nets and security bars on the window. 3 rooms also offer air conditioning. Everybody can use the nice breezy verandah, large living room (with satellite TV, radio and telephone) and dining room. A fully equipped big kitchen with refrigerator, freezer, oven, microwave, coffeemaker and toaster is available for use by guests. A laundry room for hand wash is also available. If it is getting too hot, enjoy a cool drink underneath the umbrella behind the house. Apartments: The Blue Dolphin Apartments are comprised of four built studio apartments, in the beautiful tropical garden behind the Dolphin Inn Guesthouse. Each studio apartment has a fully equipped kitchenette with a 2 burner-stove, microwave, coffee-maker, toaster and a fridge/freezer. You can enjoy satelite TV and a radio or the nice breeze outside in the veranda between coconut and banana trees! A safety-box is located in each apartment as well as A/C (if requested US$ 5.- extra per day). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse And Blue Dolphin Apts.
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse & Blue Dolphin Apts. Hotel Christ Church
Dolphin Inn Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing