We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Wind, Difficult for a Beginner”

Bonaire Windsurf Place
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Place for Wind, Difficult for a Beginner”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I will start by saying I had never tried this at all. However, the other windsurfers that were there seemed to be enjoying themselves. I took a lesson with one other person and learned the basics. It was a lot more difficult than most other water sports that I have previously attempted. I found the lesson to be only mildly helpful as I never learned exactly how to steer the board. Further, it was a little more difficult because the rental sail and board had been well worn and were not in great condition.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank checht96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    4
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonaire
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Windsurf Paradise”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great gear, professional staff and my friend's massage studio on site. Perfection.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank caribchakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent equipment and helpful staff”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Had 13 days of good wind and the tides were high. Equipment is in good shape and there is enough of it that you usually get what you want. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful, particularly when it comes to recommending sail sizes.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a great time!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Excellent! Great place to windsurf! They have lessons and equipment rentals for decent prices

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank breeannw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch and relaxing massage”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We spent the afternoon at Windsurf Place at Lac Bay on our last day in Bonaire. We started with a tasty lunch of beef nachos and fish and chips with our feet in the sand. Both were very good and the piece of fish was huge. We then walked over to the Massage Hut for our scheduled couples' massage and sea salt body scrub. The massages take place on the second floor of the hut with the windows open. You lie there during your relaxing massage listening to the wind and waves. The massage therapists were both friendly and professional. What a relaxing afternoon! We spent the rest of our time just hanging out on the beach at Lac Bay with some drinks from the Windsurf Place. Some time here is a definite MUST when in Bonaire.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank zihuatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonaire Windsurf Place also viewed

Bonaire, Caribbean
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Bonaire Windsurf Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing