We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger after a dive”

Cactus Blue on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 126 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cactus Blue also known as Cactus Blue Bonaire and as Cactus Blue on the Beach A cosy little food truck located at "Donkey Beach" offering great burgers and cold drinks. Donkey beach is located directly underneath the approach-route for planes at the landingstrip of the airport. The new owner - Thamara - will serve you with a smile. She starts cooking from around 11 am till around 3.00 pm. Monday thru Friday during high season. most recent info always on our Facebook page (Cactus Blue on the Beach) Group (sunset) dinners and catering for party's & events upon request.
Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great burger after a dive”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good location on the beach, fatboys cushion to enjoy your burger, freshly made. If you are in luck and Lion fish burger is on the menu, try it !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank divingsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    144
    46
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wanted a bite between dives and saw his food truck. Great burger and a really friendly owner who loves what he does for a living. I just wish we had gotten their early before he ran out of lionfish. He promises that they are tasty and I like the idea of helping to rid them from the local reefs by putting them in my belly! (They are an invasive non-native fish.)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent view”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After reading about Cactus Blue on Tripadvisor, we had to try it. Unfortunately, there was no lion fish, but we'd heard the burgers were to die for. Well...Cactus Blue lived up to the hype. Not only is the food truck adorably decorated, the owner is very friendly and knowledgeable about island facts, and the food was amazing. Definitely one of the best burgers I've ever had. Cactus Blue on the Beach will now be a yearly tradition every time we visit Bonaire!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuba_Starbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“You Must Visit!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We went early to try the lionfish sandwich, but Hagen didn't have any. The six of us ordered the Kite burger which we loved! We will go there several times next year. You had to eat sitting on a rock or standing, but we didn't care. We dove twice then stopped by to watch Hagen cook our burgers and for great conversation. Then we dove again. It was different, but what an awesome experience! Three of us took a specialty class on Lionfish hunting the day before. If we had taken him our Lionfish he would have made us a burger the next day. Next summer we will.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The setting just make the experience even better. Sitting on the beach in a bean bag chair eating one of the best burgers I have ever had is something special. Get the spicy one for a better flavor and remember to bring your own beer for an added kick. After a day of diving it doesn't get much better. You just need to remember you are on a small island far away from the tourist traps. A must do for serious foodie / diver.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dives-to-much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cactus Blue on the Beach also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Cactus Blue on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing