We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great dive trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We've stayed at the Divi for many years and as usual we were not disappointed during our 2 weeks the end of November. The studio units (although not luxurious) are clean, comfortable, bright, and have all the comforts of home. We love the screened in balconies where we can enjoy meals without being pestered by mosquitos or flys. After a long day of diving we enjoy relaxing in a really comfortable room with good TV. The A/C worked well, the beds are marvelous, and there was plenty of hot water for showering. The breakfast buffet is not fancy but has an excellent assortment of fruits, juices, pastries, potatoes, bacon and sausage as well as fresh cooked omlettes, eggs, and pancakes. All of the breakfast staff was wonderful and were quick to remember that we like hot chocolate and would offer it to us each morning. The Divi Dive operation is first rate with excellent divemasters and instructors that take extra effort to point out seahorses, frogfish, octopus and anything else noteworthy. Through the years many have become good friends. The boat crews always try to honor requests for specific dive sites unless conditions interfere. The shore diving from their dock cannot be any easier with your dive locker only a few steps to a giant stride that starts your dive. We found 4 seahorses right off their dock on a morning dive and octopus, lobsters, eels, and big crabs on our night dives. Of course every night dive is accompanied by several tarpon which adds an element of excitment. The big platform steps make exiting the water so easy even for us old divers. There is always plenty of fresh water and big rinse tanks right on the dock for gear clean up. Absolutely no reason to lug your gear back and forth from your room. We have been diving many years and this resort and dive operation is our favorite.

Room Tip: Studio units are worth the extra with the screened in balconies and small kitchens, even if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear SteveH,

Thank you for your comments. Repeat guests are so special to hotels and we are thrilled that you enjoy your stay here at Divi each time you visit.

We of course made sure all departments were made aware of your comments, especially our Dive Team and Breakfast Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Melissa Treue-Hilgers
Assistant to Hetty van den Ouweelen, General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

After a bunch of research we chose Divi Flamingo as the very best 'deal' for a group of divers who wanted to get in the MOST scuba dives possible for the best overall value. The Divi dive operation did not disappoint us. Great staff. Great dive masters who were both professional and fun. I would strongly recommend the Divi dive team no matter how bad the rest of the resort might be. Speaking of which ... now for Part B! Our room was good ... as long as you didn't want to take a hot shower after diving. There was frequently no hot water until late evening. Folks traveling with us who were put on the ground floor endured a constant smell of mildew. The food at the restaurant was okay and the service was 'slow-to-fair' but below the standards of lots of options that were close enough for the walk. DON'T order drinks. If they don't water down their alcohol, my liver turned into Superman on the flight down! I would advise folks to go out to eat for all meals except for the included breakfast. You'll be glad you did. On a positive note, the included breakfast was more than adequate. They made a decent omelet and there was always fresh fruit. One last thing. The woman who manned the front desk at most times was unprofessional. Who says to a guest, "This isn't a 5 star place." and "We are short staffed because ..."?? She was also surly, sometimes sour, and just not pleasant. ... Oh, and I hope they fix the hot tub some day!

Room Tip: 1. Don't take a ground room with a sea view. Give up the view to avoid the smell. 2. Get a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear AustinTravelMan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. First, I would like to apologize for the rude behavior that you experienced at our Front Desk. I promise you that your comments have been taken seriously and used for training/corrective action regarding our service standard and hospitality. We are taking the necessary steps to train and re-train our staff so that our guests will receive a consistantly high service level from all our departments.
I would also like you to know that this year we will be changing our restaurant menus and re-evaluating our bar so that the issues you experienced with our food and beverage on property will be addressed and improved. We will also be performing a renovation and updates to the rooms in the coming year so that we can offer a better stay to all of our guests.

Thank you again for your comments, we are constantly trying to re-evaluate ourselves and improve and honest and constructive feedback helps us to identify our key areas of improvement. We of course thank you for your feedback regarding the Dive Shop. Our Dive Instructors and team work hard to ensure that all guests enjoy their time here and I am so glad that they made your stay great and fun.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and show you our improvements. Please feel free to contact us direclty, so that we can ensure that your future stay is better than your last.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Treue-Hilgers
Assistant to Hetty van den Ouweelen- General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We just got home from a wonderful week in Bonaire. We booked through Caradonna with Kim. She was helpful when deciding where to stay. Our package included breakfast, Truck rental and 11 Dives. They put us in one of the studio rooms #727 very close to the dive shop. The housekeeping staff did a great job having to clean around wet gear, swim suits and camera equipment. The room was a nice size and having the large refrigerator was a total bonus. The breakfast was basic, but always fresh fruit and coffee. The food service staff always said good morning and had a smile. We LOVED the grill lady that made eggs, french toast & omelets.
When we arrived at 10:00pm. at night the gentleman at the the front desk was NOT very welcoming. We asked if there was any food available and he basically told us, maybe downtown. Mind you it's dark and we had never been in Bonaire before. Some simple directions to downtown would have been nice. Now we know that a short walk out the back gate and we would have been steps from downtown. Don't expect much service from the front desk. It took 2 days before they had fresh beach towels. We called from our room for the internet code and they made us walk back to the desk to read it posted there. We also stopped by the front desk to get a coffee packet, they called Housekeeping but no answerer. So they did not try to find any... The front desk was the only negative of this resort.
The diving was Fun, Easy & Beautiful. We dove with Denise & Rudd in the morning on the ALICE H. They choose different sites each day. Klein, North & South were all good except for one dive with unexpected heavy current. In the afternoon we dove with Endro & Luis. ALL of the afternoon dives were very relaxing and enjoyable. We liked the larger faster boat that went to the sites quicker. Due to 2 large groups (Scott Diving & New England Divers) we had little choice in what boats and dives we could sign up for. This was slightly inconvenient for us but we tried to make friends with both group and non-group divers. The locker set-up ROCKS @ Divi. (Bring your our lock) Right on the dock along with huge rinse tanks and shower. The house reef & Tanks can't be any more convenient. The tank hut in the parking lot was great for loading and returning tanks from shore dives.
Yes, food in Bonaire is very expensive. We got breakfast with our package and went to a local super market and got sandwich fixings and snacks for lunch. For dinner we mainly walked out the back gate to downtown to eat dinner. Mona Lisa was super we ate there twice. With a recommendation from a long time Bonaire diver we went to the Rib Factory and was not disappointed. Not only was it good but a fair price too. It up stairs on the water front with a amazing view too. My favorite place was AT SEA right by DIVI. Super food, friendly staff and little extras that made it special. Most people make reservations to go there, we just got lucky. I would suggest eating at the tall tables, less bug bites. Make sure to bring bug spray for after sunset bugs. Also Gold Bond Anti itch lotion is a wise thing to bring.
We did not only dive in Bonaire. Having a truck was a BLAST. We went to Jibe City to watch the wind surfers and also by the salt pier to watch kite boarders. On our last day, we could not dive before flying we took a picnic to the park. Plan on spending at least 4 hours in the park due to rough roads and slow going. It's such a pretty and peaceful place. The cactus, birds, goats and worth going to see.
Bonaire is a very diverse island. The diving was great but this island has much to offer. The gourmet restaurants were a huge surprise. The park was also a bonus to visit. (you pay $25 for your dive permit and that also gets you into the park) We would stay at DIVI again in the future. I would definitely get a truck and try to book a Studio on the first floor next time. Take very few clothes because the restaurants are casual. Sun dresses and polo shirts with shorts are just fine. Take a soft cooler and small zip lock bags for picnic supplies. A bottle opener will come in handy. We used the safe in the room and only carried as much money as needed for dinner. We felt safe and relaxed at all times. I was also surprised by how clean the island is. You will find garbage cans everywhere.

Room Tip: The studio rooms are the closest to the dive shop. We heard from other guests that the 1st floor Oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfcrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Golfcrzy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel and beautiful island. It is so nice to read comments like yours as you sound like your really enjoyed every aspect of Bonaire from our Park to our Restaurants to everything in between. I am so happy you had such a great experience at our hotel. We have forwarded your positive comments to the Dive Staff, Food and Beverage Staff and Jeanette (our morning breakfast Grill Chef.)

I would like to apologize for your experience with our Front Desk. We are currently trying to address these issues and use comments and feedback like yours as training tools to improve our service.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to welcome you back to Divi again in the future and as always invite you to contact us directly when doing so. We would be happy to ensure that your future stays will be even better than your last.

Kind regards,

Melissa Treue-Hilgers
Assistant to Hetty Van den Ouweelen, General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel complex is quite worn, but still clean and nice. The pool area was always well kept, and in November never that busy, a great place to relax! If you were out in decent time in the mornings (9am or so) there were also always sun chairs available on the pier in the ocean. The snorkeling on site was surprisingly nice, even if we really would recommend a trio with Woodwind to Klein if you want a good snorkeling experience.

We stayed in the studio apartment style rooms, with a small kitchenette. Very convenient to make your own breakfast, toaster, coffee maker, microwave and fridge made it easy. And a small convinience store across the street. The breakfast buffet was ok, but not worth the money if you prefer a simple breakfast.

The gym was clean and nice, we did not try the casino or spa.

On site dining was not the best, there are some really good places for lunch and dinner a short walk in to town, do that instead!

Room Tip: We liked the studio, since it has a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikaelW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear MikaelW76,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, diving, and room accomodations. We will be changing and upgrading our dining menus this coming year, and hope we have the opportunity to change your opinion of our Dining facilities on a future stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments, we sincerely appreciate them. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Treue-Hilgers
Assistant to Hetty van den Ouweelen, General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I run a group trip to the Divi Flamingo Resort twice a year and we have always enjoyed our stay. This trip was no exception, we had a blast! The dive resort was excellent. From when we checked in and did our orientation dive to the very last day of diving we had excellent service, always with a smile. Surge the Dive Manager was great as usual, making sure we felt comfortable and enjoyed our dives. Our dive masters Enrique and Orlando were top notch, making sure we were all safe, pointing out all sorts of marine life to us. We were on the new boat the Pressure Drop and it was a great boat. It could accommodate everyone in the group, had a nice fresh water shower to rinse off quickly in. All of the dive sites were only 5 to 15 minutes away which made it nice. The whole resort was wonderful, everyone always smiling and saying hello. But the real gem was the dive resort. I will continue to run trips here and can say this is a great dive resort for all ages and all levels of diving. The Calabas reef right off the resort is filled with great marine life for snorkelers or divers.

Room Tip: We stay in the time share rooms with a kitchen and mostly for the close proximity to the dive shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank wboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear wboyle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regardng your recent stay at Divi. It is always our pleasure to host your groups and we cannot thank you enough for your loyalty to our resort.

Thank you for posting your comments regarding our Dive Operation and staff. We truly appreciate it and promise to make sure they know that you took the time to personally acknowledge their service efforts.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Melissa Treue-Hilgers
Assistant to Hetty van den Ouweelen, General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Divi Flamingo hotel and resort in Bonaire, I found the front desk staff to be somewhat remote and unresponsive in addressing the needs of my self or other members of my party. The room was adequate in size but definitely showed wear, the bathroom and shower were not the cleanest. On a positive note the beds were very comfortable, however the pillows were in need of replacement. The breakfast buffet was adequate but unremarkable. The restaurant for lunch offered a good selection to chose from. Maintenance was not at the top of priorities for this location, the ice maker didn't work and overall the exterior need to be freshened up

The dive shop at this hotel was out standing, the staff was great. Serge (the manager) was terrific, seeking out how he could better serve the divers. Alvin, the assistant Dive Shop Manager was also terrific. The Master Dive staff was terrific, their help on the boats was great. While I don't have experience with all of them I will mention Laurel, Orlando, and Enrique - it was a pleasure working with them

I will return to the Divi Flamingo for no other reason than the Dive Shop, it's staff and accessibility.

Room Tip: The time share quarters are a good size and feature a kitchenette which I found to be a convenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farrenjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Farrenjw,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from your stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate your honesty regarding both your possitive and negative experiences while you were a guest at our property. I would like to inform you that a complete room renovation is planned for our hotel over the next year to bring our hotel a more updated and fresh look. We also appreciate your comments regarding your pillows, the broken ice machine and cleanliness; as these are issues we can immediatly address. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our Dive Shop and staff. We thank you for noting the staff that you had your experiences with.It always rewarding to both us and our staff members to be recognized for their hard work and guest service.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and are given the opportunity to make up for the poor experiences you had with our cleanliness, Front Desk, and maintenance issues. Please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to return to our hotel, we would welcome the chance to right our wrongs on a future stay.

Thank you again,

Melissa Treue-Hilgers
Assistant to Hetty van den Ouweelen, General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Bonaire is an island to dive every day! and this hotel offers just what you need for it. We were in a standard room (num 101), with a nice balcony to watch the sea and a lovely sunset everyday. The room had refrigerator, air conditioner (both very important things in the island), 2 big double beds, a big bathroom and an LCD TV.We also had 2 chairs and a table inside the room, and another ones in the balcony.

The hotel have 2 pools but you really never used them, because the sea is like a pool in Bonaire and you have it just there!
The hotel has a Hertz agency inside. We rented a car with them (everything ok). Consider this point because you don't have many options to move around the island (the rentals begins in 35usd per day for an economic car).

The hotel has a dive operator inside: Divi Dive Bonaire. Excellent option to dive with!. They are a 5 star Padi operator, they are very well organized, they are very nice people and it is very confortable to have all your diving stuff in a locker they give you. You can have unlimited air everyday! Prices are reasonable.
About breakfast, it is very complete if you like the american choice (eggs, bacon, cereals, donauts, fruits, etc) It costs 14 usd (october '13).
The hotel gives you towells for the beach. Very usufull !
The location was ok: near the airport and near some good restaurants and shops. You also have a supermarket, 3 minutes walk.
You can snorkel or dive in the hotel reef: "Calabas reef". Just a paradise in front of your room!
I will defenitely back to this hotel. Hope it can be soon to have more divings in Bonaire!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laly_Viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa T, Manager at Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Laly_Viajera,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Divi Flamingo. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel, rooms, and most of all Dive operation. It is great to read that you liked our breakfast, towels, and car rental service.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the future and hope that you contact us directly so we can make sure your stay is as great as your last. Please remember to mention any room areas that you liked when making your bookings so we can try to reserve you a room where you would most like to be.

Thank you again,

Melissa Treue-Hilgers
Assistant to Hetty van den Ouweelen, General Manager
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino Bonaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#9 of 22 in Kralendijk
80 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#8 of 22 in Kralendijk
1,094 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Address: J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: £116 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort & Casino allows you to experience the simple pleasure of tropical life. Whether you want to lounge around all day by one of our two freshwater pools, test your luck in our on-site casino at night, relax with a massage in the on-site spa, or scuba dive and snorkel through the beautiful Caribbean ocean, our Bonaire resort offers a truly memorable experience for all ages. Divi Flamingo is colorful, laidback, and fun; our resort and casino serves as the perfect home base for divers and vacationers drawn to explore the unpretentious island and stunning waters surrounding Bonaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Flamingo Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort And Casino Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing